We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but not well located” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Palm Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Palm Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Tropical Palm Resort and Spa
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   23/2 Moo 6, Maret, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 60 Maret B&B and Inns
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Nice place but not well located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Once you're inside the gates, Tropical Palm has a lot going for it, especially considering the low rates. The room was clean and modern and came with a balcony, the shower worked perfectly and the bed was comfortable. Pool area is nice, though the pool is smallish. Restaurant area is also inviting, and food was ok.

Location though is not very good and in our opinion you need your own transport to stay here; taxis overcharge terribly on Samui, and even though the owners are nice and drive you, you can't always bother the owners for a free ride to and from Lamai village or the beach. Theoretically it's walking distances but that would be roadside for 15-20 minutes which didn't appeal (even though we normally walk everywhere in new places).

Also, a few small things bothered us, like the abscence of non-thai TV channels and a hefty 5% surcharge if you want to pay with credit card (more than the bank fee).

It's also possible we're a bit biased since we found Samui overdeveloped and not so friendly; Koh Tao was much more in our taste.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    17
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
17
60
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in August 2012. I was driven into town as its a bit far to walk as i was on my own.

The room was clean & comfortable. The location of the hotel is quiet.
I had one meal in the restaurant and the food was tasty and reasonably priced.

I appreciated the ride back to the airport.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Lovely hotel in a good location. Really friendly helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble. Made to feel welcome from the moment we were collected from the airport by Dave all through our 20 day stay until the moment Paul dropped us at the airport for our flight home. Lovely clean spacious rooms, cleaned each day with fresh towels and bedding. All the food cooked by Nou was delicious. Good idea to hire scooter or car to explore the island. Paul and Dave will arrange this for you, so no trouble at all, well worth doing so as to visit all the beautiful places on the island. Lovely pool and bar area to relax in after a day exploring.
Thank you all so much for helping to make this such a great holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for 10 nights in August and we were delighted with the service provided by all the staff and Dave and Paul who could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable. They were always available to give us a lift to the beach or into Lamai in the evening, although we did walk it several times - it took about 20 minutes. Paul recommended an excellent place for a special meal (Ocean's 11) and was good enough to drop us off

The rooms were spacious and spotless. The pool was never busy. The food cooked by Nou was delicious.

Thanks to all at the Tropical Palms for such a great stay

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge , Co.Kildare
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed at Tropical palm resort while in Koh Samui for my sisters wedding for 14nights with my wife,kids,family & friends.Nice quiet location about 20mins walk / 5mins drive to Lamai.Place well maintained,very clean,pool and bar area great , rooms very spaceous and cleaned every day.Paul , Dave & staff very friendly & helpful,picked us all up from airport,brought us all back to airport when leaving and always insisted on giving us a lift anytime we wanted to go anywhere.Paul & Dave the owners always made us feel welcome. Food was good, always freshly cooked ,good selection on menu. Nou who cooks & looks after things when Paul & Dave aren't around is a good cook,very friendly ,helpful and very hard working.What more can i say this place has all you could want in a quiet location.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on second floor when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This is in a quiet spot and it takes about 25 minutes to walk down into the local town where there is a very good Tesco/Lotus store. We had a very comfortable room and had a relaxing one week stay there. The owners were quite happy to give people lifts to the town (Lamai), beach etc. and also picked us up from the airport on arrival and took us to the ferry pier when we left.
Breakfasts were good (but note that they are not included in the price) and we also ate there every night as it was a very pleasant setting and definitely preferable to some of the restaurants we had seen in the town. Nou is a very good cook and we enjoyed all of the meals that we had. One observation is that she only cooks one meal at a time so you could have to wait a while for yours if there are a few other people wanting to eat.
All in all, this is very good value for money; good service and food, very clean accommodation and so we can certainly recommend it if you want a quiet spot away from the busy tourist areas.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

i stayed here for two nights with my friend, it is very nice ,clean and comfortable,swimming pool also very clean and useful. The boss is very kind , you can ask them pick you up from the pier ,it is cheaper than you by taxi. They can also hep you to rent a motorbike, it is better than you rent a bike by yourself. when i checked out ,i forgot to leave the key to my friend, at the last minutes i remembed and call the boss, leave the key to the pier office. i am so sorry for it and thanks the boss and the staffs in tropical palm resort, i will back again.
今年2月份和朋友在这里住了两晚上,非常好的酒店,安静、安全,还很干净,游泳池人很少,每天都打扫的很干净,泳池还能按摩。到了码头或者机场可以提前约他们来接,价格很实惠。并且找他们租摩托,跟外面价格差不多,但是至少有保障。也方便借和还,这样的价格住在这么好的酒店,非常值得,性价比很高!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Palm Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Palm Resort and Spa

Address: 23/2 Moo 6, Maret, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Maret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Palm Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tropical Palm Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Palm Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Maret

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Palm Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.