We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Ban Sua” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ban Sua Samui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ban Sua Samui to your Saves list
Ban Sua Samui
5 / 7 Moo 4, Chaweng noi, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Maret
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Ban Sua”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Okay Ban Sua may not be one of the many plush 5* resorts found on Koh Samui, but in terms of value for money and the stunning views and spacious accommodation, it is second to none. We were in the Dara Roof Terrace, which comprises of large lounge, double bedroom, shower room and well equipped kitchen. The real attraction to this property is the large balcony area and personal roof top terrace with amazing views of Chaweng in the distance. A choice of 2 infinity pools also makes for perfect relaxation.
Staff are friendly and attentive and Klaus in particular runs a very efficient system from the moment of booking and arranging transfers to ensuring that guests have as comfortable a stay as possible.
Being in Chaweng Noi, this is a much quieter area than the lively Chaweng, however, if ‘night life’ is what you are looking for then you are only 10 mins away by taxi (200 - 300 Baht). There is a stunning small beach next to Ban Sua, and as long as you don’t intend wearing your 6” heels to and fro then you should be fine – warning, this 2-3 minute walk will give your calf muscles a good workout!!
Overall, I would return to this accommodation and would recommend to anyone (perhaps excluding ‘party animals’) travelling to Koh Samui. Definitely made my stay to this beautiful island more memorable.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    18
    3
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
90
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katoomba, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were picked up at the airport by two of the very friendly staff, Maem and Pie, and driven through parts of Chewang on our way to Ban Sua.
On arrival our luggage was taken up to our apartment for us.
The apartment had spectacular views which far surpassed our expectations - having 180o views of an ever changing vista from morning to night. The roof terrace with its 360o view
was just as spectacular.
The apartment was nicely presented, very clean and spacious.
All this was accompanied by the most pleasant helpful and sociable staff members including Nok Goy, Maem, Pie and all the others.
The location was peaceful being between Chewang and Lamai but close enough to travel to them both easily.
There are a few restaurants and an almost private beach within walking distance. If you did not want to go to the beach, Ban Sua also had two well kept swimming pools. If you did not want to go out to eat - Nok and Maem will provide you with breakfast and an evening meal at a modest cost.
All in all - between the Island of Koh Samui, the apartment, the lovely staff and the very reasonable rates, this has to be one of the best holidays we have had and we highly recommend a stay at Ban Sua
Thank you very much Klaus

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We booked the Dara Roofterrace for 6 nights in June, based solely on the information on the website and we were very happy to see that the villas were at least as nice as advertised: beautiful and cozy apartments that appear to be carved into a cliff, with great views of the ocean and no views of crowded hotels whatsoever. Although there was a bit of construction work going on, finishing up a new bungalow, we could not hear a thing - either they have very good soundproofing in the walls or the workers used very silent hammers :-). Nothing but peace and quiet, while still only minutes away from the more populated beaches of Chaweng and Lamai. If you'd rather sunbathe on a small quiet beach, there is a great little bay just 5-minute walk from Ban Sua; there is also a nice beach bar and a very nice beach-front restaurant, serving, among others, delicious sea food. There is also a possibility to have breakfast and lunch in your room, prepared by the very lovely staff at Ban Sua, and since the room includes a beautiful roof terrace with great views of the sea, this can be a very nice dining experience. We tested it and we liked it a lot.

All in all, we had a great time staying at Ban Sua, loved the detached location and the cozy atmosphere entertained by the friendly staff, so we are sure to choose the same place if ever back in Samui. Shame it is soooo far away from home...

Room Tip: Rooms are build so that they do not obstruct each other's views, so any room is a great choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ban Sua Samui, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Very warm greetings from your Ban Sua team,
we appreciate your comments. We will forward your compliments in our weekly staff meeting. Staff will be happy that you enjoyed our peaceful reatreat, the beutiful seaviews you mentioned and most of all the kindness of our lovely thai staff. We are happy having given you some time to sit back and relax while taking your meals on our favourable seaview terraces. With our two seaview pools and only a few rooms on site we want to create this private atmosphere you described. We loved that you chilled on at the nearby beach, which is still one of the last remnants of the true Samui, before Samui was explored as a tourist paradise. The beaches of Chaweng center and Lamai are much more lively nowadays, so only few tourists know how tranquil Samui`s beaches used to be. Thank you very much to share this secret tip, giving other guests an idea to spend fantastic holidays from the crowds. The real Samui is still there and we are so delighted that you found it. For now our best wishes and be assured we will keep our low prices. We are looking forward to see you next time. Khopkun maak khap, Klaus and the Ban Sua team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

LOCATION: Between Chaweng Noi and Lamai, on a steep hill path up to the Sandalwood resort. No taxi or moped driver will take you up the hill, so you have quite a climb if you don't hire your own moped. The location is quite isolated, but that is the attraction, while only being 10 minutes either way from the bustle of Chaweng and Lamai, and just a 5 minute walk to the beach and bar at the Coral Cove resort. Taxis are expensive on Samui anyway by Thai standards, but if you don't find out the 'right price' to bargain to quickly the drivers will try to fleece you.

FACILITIES: I stayed in the HiRoofterrace apartment. If you come from a 4 or 5* full service hotel you will take a little time to acclimatise to less luxurious fixtures (and you may well question whether the place is right for you), but after a couple of days you realise that the place is very relaxed and comfortable. The view over Chaweng bay and the jungle covered hills is incredible and undoubtedly the most attractive feature. The natural lighting in the bedroom is fantastic. The bathroom was fairly rudimentary, with quite basic fixtures; the shower water pressure was very poor and pulsed hot and cold water. If investment were to be applied to the property I think a more luxurious bathroom would hugely improve the overall experience. If any food based rubbish was left in the bin ants would quickly arrive, so to avoid an insect problem it's best to leave any used packages or bottles in a plastic bag in the fridge until the morning. The advertised room service facility requires giving staff 3 hours notice, so is not really that useful. The staff were friendly.
A major disappointment was the extensive building work on the neighbouring plot. I had been assured by Klaus several months in advance, as well as a few weeks prior, that the building work would almost certainly have been completed by the point of my arrival. However, there was VERY noisy construction work (drills, hammering into concrete, grinders etc) progressing every day during all daylight hours. There is no way the property was in the final stages of fitting out as I had been told.

I would recommend Ban Sua on the basis that you are visiting when there is no building work occurring. There are certainly aspects where a little more luxury would make a huge difference to the property, but for the price you will struggle to find anywhere that is so tranquil whilst providing some nice private facilities.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ban Sua Samui, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Sawadee khap,
thank you for comparing us with a 5 star resort. That is a very nice compliment, but with our prices from 29 Euro we are far from a 200+ Euro 5 star resort. Indeed one can rent our whole estate instead of one larger room in a luxury resort, but to be honest we do not want to be a 5 star resort as we would loose our authentic thai charme and comfort. We do only employ local thai staff and pay them adequate prices to improve local standard of live too. We think that is the best way for responsible tourism, while large hotel complexes employ cheap labour force from Burma or Cambodia too, in order to maximize profit. I am sorry for any inconvenience during your holidays due to the large villa which went into its final construction phase. We are in a villa area and the villa next to us is huge and we do not have influence on their work.
We are grateful that you could enjoy your holiday despite the inconvenience mentioned and shared your comments and beautiful stunning photos. We will keep our low prices, I guess even lowest prices for seaview property in the popular Chaweng-Lamai area and maintain our great value for you and all our guests who want to explore Samui and feel the beauty of a peaceful authenic thai environment. We will dicuss your comments in our weekly staff meeting and do look forward to see you again next time. A warm sabei di khap from the Ban Sua team, Klaus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We booked Bestview Apartment long before our vacation, but when we came on 09-Jun-2012 it turned out the construction next to this apartment was not completed and there was noise (as we were told they work every day from 8 am till 7 pm). We didn't want to bring our vacation on a construction site, so we had to leave. We estimate it will take about two more months.
We brought the first night in Palm Heights (A3). This is a one room apartment with no kitchen and no kitchen utencils but for the water boiler (the one that can keep up the temperature and that is quite large, which was good for us) and small cups (that I hate as I have to drink three of them to be happy). No tea spoons are provided. The fridge is large and quiet, but is full of bottles of beer and cola (0.3 beer for 80Bt) so you will have to take them away if you wish to put something like a watermelon inside. Two 0.5 bottles of water are rpovided free of charge every day.
The matrass is hard, even though mine at home is also hard, but this one was a bit too hard. The pillows were also not too comfortable - rather hard and stuffed with separate pieces of something, not one piece. The shower is in a shower cabin that is not very new. I think in Thailand it's much more pleasant to have shower on a tile floor.
The i-net speed was ok for Thailand. The sun rises from the side that has no windows in this room so the sun won't wake you up, which we liked. The aircon was rather noisy, so we could not sleep with it on. There are no mosquito nets.
I really liked the view from Palm Heights - you could lie on the bed and still see the trees and the sea.
The next day we moved to the promised Bestview apartment where we didn't stay due to the noise, but I still have some impressions. The first one was that the i-net was not working there. The staff said they shold call someone to fix it and it would take 1-2 days. All other apartments had the coverage from another source, but particularly Bestview had some problems.
The view was much higher and actually I didn't like it as when you sit on the sofa you only see the sky - no trees and the sea. And if you lie on the bed in the bedroom - you don't see anything at all as the window faces the construction site (in future the apartment next to it). Also this bedroom window faces the east, so you might be woken up by the sun, but of course there are curtains (I just don't like curtains and like to see trees out of my bedroom window). The bed was softer than in Palm Heights and the pillows were better. By the way safes in all apartments were closed (maybe they charge extra for them).
Both Palm Heights and Bestview are very hot (probably the locatin on a hill exposed to the sun all day long) so you will have to have the aircon on all the time.
The kitchen is a small boxroom with a tiny window underneath the ceiling. I wouldn't like to cook anything there or wash up. All the utencils are there including the washing up liquid and the sponge, but still no tea spoons and tiny cups. The same story with the fridge as in the Palm Heights. The water boiler here was tiny and didn't automatically stop when it finally finished boiling (it took it a while, which was strange for it's size).
There was a standing lamp in the room, but it had no bulb and the staff refused to bring one.
The terrace on the roof is an extremely hot place during the day and when we asked for a parasol, the staff refused to provide it as they get damaged by the wind.
And one last stroke. We rented a motorbike from Ban Sua first thing when we came as we like to be free, go exploring the island. It was a rather old Honda Click. The engine was working ok, could take us up a steep hill, so we thought it was ok. They wanted 200 Bt per day for it, but as we asked around it turned out other places were renting Honda Clicks for 150 Bt. So they finally agreed and we were happy until in the end of the first day we got a flat tyre. The repair shop guys told us that the tyre was very old and bold and every hole in the road can cause further damage. We paid 180 Bt for the replacement of the inner tube. The next day we decided to give the motorbike back and the Ban Sua people told us that they will charge us 200 per day as we rented it for such a short period. I was disappointed as we were endangered using such a old motorbike, but they didn't seem to care. There are many other places around where you can rent a new motorbike at a cheaper price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ban Sua Samui, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
Sawasdee khap Evgenia,
thank you for your rating and comments. We understand sometimes very good is not what one is looking for when searching for perfection. Having a look at your different reviews I saw that you had difficulties finding the perfect spot in Thailand. We have large fridges not just the small ones which hotels normally have. I saw you made a mistake coke for example is just 25 Baht and beers are only between 60-80 Baht depending on the kind of beer. Sorry any misundrstanding, of course you can use a parasol anytime. As it was windy that day, staff just reminded you to take care of a parasol as the easily break when windy and must be replaced when broken, which you did not want. We are happy that you liked Palm Heights with its view. Your other room was just 3 meters higher than Palm Heights with the same seaviews, we are happy that you liked it`s mattress, unfortunately you found Palm Heights a little too hard. Although our mattresses are generally the same, we will have a look. Maybe it has been just your very personal impression of that day. We are sorry that you drove through glass resulting in a flat tyre and that repair guy from a different shop made some good money with you knowing that you are a tourist and are unfamiliar with prices and details. That is why all bikes have our telephone no. on it to avoid paying money useless. The rentals contracts describe the necessary procedures to help. Regarding the 150 Baht you mentioned, those are old half automatic ones. We do not rent those old half automatic bikes. We are located in a villa area near the famous Sandalwood luxury resort. Around us is only high end property and villas. The construction near us is a multi million dollar villa. With its 600 sqm the gorgeus villa is nearing completion as you mentioned it. We have mentioned the construction on the front page of our website as we do not have any influence on the ongoing work. This information was available during your booking which was about 2 months before your arrival. The villa should be completed end July and we will keep the information on our website till the multi million dollar villa is finished. Hopefully you can revisit us next time and look if we have gone a little further from the very good with our very low rates to the very perfect you are looking for. Thank you very much for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed at Ban Sua for 5 nights in April. We had 3 lovely rooms each with a fantastic view. The location was perfect for us - nice and quiet but only minutes but transport to Chaweng and Lamai. The staff were very friendly and professional. We will definitely be back.

Gordon - April 29, 2012

Room Tip: Hire a moped or car as there is a lot to explore on Samui.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

A great rental, right from the beginning all went perfect. We found Ban Sua after intense research on the net. They had the best rates and views and responded quickly to our questions. From the beginning they were very helpful as we were new to Samui. The gave us good advice. On arrival when we saw the beautiful room an seaviews we new I would be a good holiday. But even more the Thai staff with their happiness won our hearts and minds. Ban Sua is such a lovely property with much more we needed. Great value, clean and well designed rooms along with the special place and seaviews. Just beautiful.

Room Tip: Dine at the Cliff Bar and Grill
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ban Sua Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Sua Samui

Address: 5 / 7 Moo 4, Chaweng noi, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 Specialty Lodging in Maret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the sole provider for roof terrace villas. Ban Sua offers unique rooms with Thai charm. All rooms feature a sea view terrace. Our villas are located in Chaweng noi above the supreme secluded beach of Coral Cove Bay right above Coral Cove chalet and beneath Sandalwood. The sea views cover a wide angle from Coral cove bay to Chaweng bay to the endless sea. The beach is 300m away from us. As well, we are located just about 800m from Samui's new golf course, the RSGCC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ban Sua Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ban Sua Samui Ko Samui/Maret

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ban Sua Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.