We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value-Loved the staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thongtakian Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Thongtakian Resort to your Saves list
Thongtakian Resort
146/11 Moo 4,, Maret, Ko Samui, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 64 Hotels in Maret
Brentwood, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value-Loved the staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

This place was a find! It is right on a lovely beach, and the hotel staff is very attentive and personal. Nat, at the front desk, really made us feel welcome! It was great value, and we would choose it all over again!

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    45
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
59
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

After 10 days in the unspoiled North of Thailand, my partner and I were very disappointed with the touristy and overdeveloped Koh Samui. No doubt it's beautiful, but the beaches are busy and full of peddlars who grab your toes and invade your space, trying to sell you pedicures, massages, fruit, sarongs - an endless succession that gets very wearisome.

A friend recommended Thongtakian and thank goodness! As I was injured I was unable to leave the island so we were really happy to find such a peaceful beautiful resort on this busy island. The resort is set on a beautiful beach (probably the most beautiful on the island), which it shares with only a handful of other hotels. The beach is blessedly free of pedlars, umbrellas and sunloungers - although palm trees provide shade when it get's too hot. The sea is quite rocky, but provided you enter the sea to the left you can swim out really deep and the view from the sea looking back at the beach, the jungle-covered hills, so secluded, is truly beautiful.

The rooms are pretty basic, but we had an air-conditioned room with a mini-bar fridge and really, when you have a beautiful beach right on your doorstep you don't need much in the way of luxury. The hotel restaurant is a beach bar in all the best senses of the term - relaxed atmosphere with bamboo tables right on the sand and reasonably priced food (obviously a lot more expensive that street food, but still really well priced) and delicious (try the deep fried fish with chilli sauce and they'll make you a som tam if you ask, although it's not on the menu).

There's a little shop on the resort where you can stock up on Chang and Singha or water, chips, fizzy drinks etc.

One of the highlights of our stay there was the staff. Thanks to Nat and her team for their helpfulness. Nat, in particular, is one of the most friendly Thai people I've ever met (and that's saying something) who was endlessly patient and jokey, teaching us the rudiments of Thai and helping us with anything we needed.

We tried two other hotels on the island, but Thontakian was by far the best. A truly relaxing holiday in a beautiful place.

Pros
- beautiful resort with stunningly clear water
- delicious food at the restaurant on the beach
- far from the madding crowds of Lamai and Chaweng
- great massage on the beach
- friendly staff who are keen to help
- very reasonable price (we paid 1400 baht per night for a bungalow right near the beach during the busy season)

Cons
- (this is also a pro) because it's not near to the busy area there aren't a lot of restaurants and things nearby so you'll want to hire a scooter or a jeep (the hotel can arrange this for you) to see more of the island
- swimming pool doesn't overlook the beach (but the beach is so incredible you won't want to use the pool)
- internet isn't free (you can get vouchers from reception - about 200 baht for 24 hours)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

we stayed here for 9 nights, resort is nice with its own beach and a nice but small swimming pool, breakfast was ok the usual eggs bacon, sausage, toast fresh fruit, tea coffee, they have a bar/restaurant on the beach, food is nice lunch or dinner,if you dont want to eat at the resort there are lots of restaurants in lamai, there is a lovely restaurant called the cliff bar/restaurant just up the hill from the resort its great but a bit more expensive than most others, rooms are fine with air/con or fan its your choice, bed was nice and firm, we hired a motor bike from the hotel 200bht per day so we got to see most of the island, we had a lovely stay in samui and would stay here again,

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Stayed here for over a week. Staff very friendly and rooms very clean and changed everyday. Set in an ideallic location, you wouldn't even know it was there from the road side which makes it that bit more untouched I think. Easy access to Chewang and Lamai and also provide scooter rental which was bascially for next to nothing! Great food and service and seemed to be a great place for kids as the staff took to them like their own children to I suppose give the parents some time in the sun and relax. Would definately recommend this place and next time I'm in the location it''l be here I'll be booking into.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We stayed there for 2 nights in a standard room for 25 euros/night.
Our room was basic but clean. Nothing special.
Breakfast was good.
If you rent a bike or a car is easy to go to other beaches, thongtakian beach is between Lamai and Chaweng, If not, you have to take taxis.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south australia naracoorte
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

This resort grew on us
We were dissapionted by the lack of sea view for bungalows and pool as well as only 3 sunbeds.
But the service was great ,beach wonderful,quiet location,good food and good breakfast

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

This is a family run resort, with friendly staff. It is very low key and relaxing. It has a small pool, but the emphasis is on the beach which is safe and good for swimming, although there are some rocks around (makes it more interesting). Our children used their beach shoes to walk in the water.

Our room was a good size with a Queen and Single bed, plus we used the small sofa for our 4 year old. The rooms have TV's and fridges in them, but unfortunately no kettle, which would have been good. There are large bathrooms and a small deck, handy for drying off clothes. The only complaint I have is the beds are sooo hard, hope they get some new mattresses soon.

The breakfast is good, just the usual choices of cereal, toast, bacon eggs, rice, juice etc. Their food generally was ok, but not the best Thai food we've had. We did eat at the local market (very authentic food), but hired a car and found some good places to eat the other side of Lamai along the water front and also in Chaweng Noi one night.

We would stay there again as we liked the beach so much and there are no beach sellers.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thongtakian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thongtakian Resort

Address: 146/11 Moo 4,, Maret, Ko Samui, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Maret
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Maret
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thongtakian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thongtakian Hotel Koh Samui
Thongtakian Hotel Surat Thani
Thongtakian Resort Ko Samui/Maret

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thongtakian Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.