We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best getaway ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tigmi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tigmi to your Saves list
Tigmi
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Douar Tagadert el Kaldi | Km 24 Route d'Amizmiz, Oumnass, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oumnass
East Northants
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The best getaway ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

Thank you again Jean Paul. It is always the same: great food, wonderful accommadation,wonderful scenery. If you cant relax here -you probably never will!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    16
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
37
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

Stayed at Tigmi after 3 days in Marrakech. It is one of the most beautiful hotels I've ever stayed in. Everywhere you look could be a postcard with dozens of peaceful places to sit and read or soak up the sun. The only problem was that apart from a film crew who were out filming all day we were the only customers and they didn't have any bookings for Christmas either.

The food is basic but acceptable (except for breakfast which is a miserable spread of stale flatbread and jam) and the service is friendly although from our room we had to walk to the opposite end of the hotel to find staff if we wanted anything. For the prices you would expect the staff to be more proactive.

If all you want to do is lie around, read books and drink mint tea then this is as good a place as I have ever found.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

unique, beautiful, rural, personalised and creative delicious meals, 5 star luxuries, authentic Berber setting.

We stayed for 11 days in July and august 2008. It was amazing. I've travelled in over 20 countries, and this was the best hotel I've ever stayed in.

If you prefer boutique over corporate, rural over urban, handcrafted Berber styles over straight lines, then you may find it to be the best that you've stayed in too.

The stunning setting is near to a small Berber village, 25 miles south of Marrakech. Though owned by an english family, the locals have helped build the hotel using traditional skills and some now work at the hotel. The hotel has obviously provided alot of income for the village. You could almost call it a 'fair trade' hotel.

It's style, luxury and uniqueness has earned it feature appearances in conde nest traveller magazine, and GQ recently labelled it as the best small hotel in the world. The hotel's stunning setting and design is occasionally used for fashion and advertising photographic shoots.

The rooms are varied and spacious and have every european convenience you'll need. There are two good sized pools to choose from, one heated from November to early may. Some of the suites have private plunge pools too.

The hotel is on top of a small hill, which means when it's too hot down on the Marrakech plain, it's noticeably cooler on the hill. It also means there are great views over the surrounding countryside, and the atlas mountains too.

The hotel is spacious and warren-like in layout, with endless books and crannies to gradually discover where you can sit and read.

The hotel's management are very good, very helpful. There's a free hotel shuttle into Marrakech 3 times a day, but like us, you may find yourself wanting to stay put!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowlands Castle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2008

We were walking in the Atlas mountains and this little hotel is a great find. We visited in April 2008 and the main electricity supply should be up and running by this summer. The hotel has a fanastic terrace with great views of the Atlas mountains. Very rustic feel - all fresh local food - no choice but great. Staff really friendly and it's primariy a place for walkers as the best tracks in are the mule tracks over the pass. If you like walking visit here and get a local guide

  • Liked — remote rural atmosphere
  • Disliked — nothing - but townies would hate it
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2008

A wonderful escape from the hurly burly of Marrakech, Tigmi is set in incredible scenery with snow-covered Atlas mountains in the distance. My bedroom had french windows that opened onto a lovely terrace all to myself. The food was mouthwatering and my stay was far too short!

  • Liked — Peaceful
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

Tigmi was a complete nightmare. We arrived there afte a sublime stay at the Kasbah de Toubkal and what a comedown it was. Service was appalling in every respect. The so-called spa offered only a handful of the treatments on the menu. The room was freezing and three heaters had to be hauled in before they could get one to work. They used cold water for the pedicure. But worse was yet to come......the heater in my niece's room burst into flames in the middle of the night and no-one came to help despite us all screaming and yelling. The owner's response? The heater was made in China. In my room, there was a leakage of water overnight flooding the whole room and staining my leather luggage. The owner's response? I must have left a tap on. No discount was offered nor any apology. The French manager is so arrogant it beggars belief. The only saving grace? The food was good and the beds were comfortable. A ghastly place stuck in the middle of an extremely poor village. Don't waste your time going there......and don't believe the brochure.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

We were two lady friends who contacted Tigmi directly, and from the very first communication we were treated with the utmost courtesy and consideration, the manager provided us with all our requests, and we were not disappointed when we arrived. We only stayed 2 days and it really could have been more. Our nights were cold so we were provided with roaring log fires in our rooms and in the dining room in the evening as well as in the morning at breakfast, and the food was simply fantastic.
It was quiet in January, and we really did bathe in luxury and attention. The pool was cold...yes we tried it at the end of January, but great fun. The whole layout is simply beautiful with many little delights as you wander up and down and through its enclosures. Wonderful views of the Atlas mountains and we walked for a few miles out along the dirt track towards them, peaceful and simply beautiful wide open space, the contrast from the intensity of the city. We were very pleased we chose to rest here a few days, and I would highly reccomend Tigmi . It takes half an hour by arranged taxi, the manager was more than helpful, and the driver was so informative. Overall everyone was so friendly and we had a really wonderful stay at Tigmi.
Bear in mind that there is a second phase of Tigmi being built next door on the other side of path, obscuring a little the view from the pool.
A special and beautiful place to rest and find a liitle time for oneself or to be with friends.

  • Liked — Its location, the beautiful architecture, the attention to detail from the staff, and fabulous food
  • Disliked — the cold pool, but it was January!!!!!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tigmi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigmi

Address: Douar Tagadert el Kaldi | Km 24 Route d'Amizmiz, Oumnass, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Oumnass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oumnass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tigmi 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigmi is a place of quietude to listen to silence, slow down and rediscover that precarious sense of wellbeing. The house sits on the brow of a Berber hamlet (Tagadert) in the Haouz plain, positioned between Marrakech and the High Atlas mountains. It is just 24 kms (15 miles) from the Medieval city, yet a world apart in the peace you will discover. A true retreat from the hectic lifestyles we have all become used to. Tigmi offers guests the opportunity to unwind and relax but is close enough to the Red City that guests can pop in and shop the Souk, see the Majorelle Gardens during the day and the Djemaa el Fna square at sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tigmi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigmi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tigmi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.