We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise off the beaten track” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tigmi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Tigmi to your Saves list
Tigmi
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Douar Tagadert el Kaldi | Km 24 Route d'Amizmiz, Oumnass, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oumnass
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Paradise off the beaten track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Do you ever feel that, sometimes, you just need to get away from it all?

The boss and I were completely fed up with wind, rain, sleet and the threat of snow in the post-Christmas gloom of the UK, so we decided to look for some sun. With current weather cycles that meant going rather far south than normal and the Canaries did not really appeal, so we decided upon a return to Morocco.

The decision was made to look for somewhere quiet and outside of Marrakech so the internet hunt began and we selected Tigmi.

Good choice.

After arriving mid-morning on EasyJet we took the no. 19 bus from the airport terminal to Jemaa al Fna (MAD50 per person "allez-retour") soaked up some sunshine and the cosmopolitan tourist-people-watching madness and enjoyed a very inexpensive lunch before the 4pm rendezvous with the free hotel shuttle.

We easily found pick-up point at Place de la Liberté and were delighted when the mini-bus arrived bang on time. The 24km journey to Tigmi transports you through time to another world. Gone are telephone land lines, until very recently electricity, tarmacadam and shops. The last few kms, after turning off the main road, were dusty, bumpy and fascinating in equal measure as we passed through the Berber village of Tagadert to the Tigmi complex, to be greeted by Rajia and Jean-Paul, the management team.

It feels wrong to describe Tigmi as an hotel. It is a wondrous collection of arches, terraces, corridors, steep steps, shady nooks and crannies and rooms with 2ft thick walls that all combine to deliver accommodation spread over two large sites with one restaurant, one bar and two swimming pools. Our room (no 25) was very comfortable and very spacious. As we travel a lot we immediately inspect two things on arrival - towels and beds (both mattresses and linen). All here came up trumps big time. The bed was large and the mattress supportive - the linen was crisp and the duvet was soft and warm. Towels were large, thick and fluffy. Bliss. The addition of an open log fire in the room, built and lit every night by the local Berber log fire specialist, was a huge treat that brought a welcoming glow to the chilly night air.

Breakfast was excellent. Ingredients including fresh juice squeezed from oranges picked in the garden, yoghurt made on site, a selection of breads, cake, fruit and preserves and an option of eggs were all superb.

At Tigmi you have the choice of doing absolutely nothing; so we did. If you want to do much off site you must be prepared to hire a taxi from Marrakech that will charge you the fare to come out and return (MAD 500) just to pick you up to take you where you want to go. There are no local cab companies as the Berbers in the village don't use taxis. When mention is made of going back in time this is no exaggeration. So a word of warning to help you manage expectations. If you want to have the option of going to restaurants in the local area, or to walk around the town in the evening window shopping, or to go camel riding or partaking of any one of a number of other recreational attractions, you will have to stay somewhere else. There is nothing like this of any description in the vicinity of Tigmi. Tigmi is a place to relax, enjoy the scenery and to recharge.

Another point to bear in mind given that this hotel is in the middle of nowhere - if you have high expectations of things being just right all the time you should also give some thought before booking. As Jean-Paul said when we were discussing life at Tigmi (and I paraphrase for effect) "to make the most out of staying in Morocco you must become Moroccan. If something in the hotel breaks, it may take four or five days to find the replacement part to fix it; and while we always do our best to make sure that a guest is not inconvenienced, sometimes stuff happens."

One criticism - we found the food in the restaurant to be a very limited selection - one starter, five main courses and one dessert - but everything we ordered was fresh and well prepared. It may be that as we were travelling in the lowest of low seasons (first week in January - there were never more than three other guests staying there throughout our four day stay) they had reduced the menu choices to reduce wastage, which seemed fair to us and we had no complaints.

As is often the case, the memories of a stay are frequently defined by the quality of the staff as well as the site and the amenities; and here Jean-Paul, a Moroccan hotel management veteran of almost 30 years service, clearly knows what he is doing. The team that waited on our every need around the pool, the bar, the restaurant and cleaning our room were, in every respect, pleasant, eager to please and professional. Some found it difficult to communicate and even a limited conversation was only possible in English with one staff member apart from Rajia and Jean-Paul, a tall waiter who was eager to practice his language skills and to leave French behind for a few minutes.

All in all, we loved this place. A perfect location, a beautiful property, stunning views, fabulous accommodation and a really good team running the place. it won't be for everybody (teenagers especially would get bored to death) but for us it was pretty much the perfect break and we have no hesitation is giving Tigmi and Jean-Paul our highest recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    14
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
36
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We're just back from our third stay at Tigmi and will keep going back for as long as we can! We run yoga holidays throughout Europe and beyond and this is one of our favourite places to take our yoga groups. The rooms are gorgeous, the suites are stunning and there are lots of little rooftop terraces and hidden balconies dotted around to discover and hang out in. The good is delicious Moroccan fare with the chef very good at taking care of food allergies/intolerances. Staff are very attentive and mostly local people from the Berber village. Highly recommended for any kind of stay! Thanks Jean-Paul and all your wonderful staff for making this last week another great Living Yoga Holiday!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
259 reviews 259 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is about 20 mins away from central Marrakesh, and a wonderful break from the city. The rooms are big, beds comfortable, and the food pretty decent. The hotel also arranges several interesting tours and activities in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I went to Tigmi for a yoga holiday. It was fantastic. The place is really beautiful. The staff are very helpful and always doing their best. The food was also great.
The only down-side (which wasn't a problem for me) was that it is a bit far from Marrakech. They did arrange a free daily shuttle if you would like to Marrakech, but I didn't go everyday.
I would definately go again, if I have a chance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We love this place. We went for our anniversary three years ago and went back again with friends this year. Hard to believe that something so beautiful could be build from mud. Interlocking courtyards and walk-ways filled with oleander, bougainvillea and birdsong. Tastefully designed sitting areas by the pools and in lovely shaded areas. Set in a village 40 minutes outside Marrakech, that doesn't look as if it has changed for many hundreds of years. Stunning sunsets and sweeping views up to the Atlas mountains.
Good food in atmospheric surroundings.
There is also a free shuttle in/out of Marrakech everyday if you can tear yourself away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Two miles up a wadi from the main road, arriving after dark in the cold wind laced with olive wood smoke, this felt like it must have arriving in Bethlehem on 24th December BC zero.

Simple wattle and daub mud walls, thatched roofs and simple simple decor, but decorated with minaret in bright colours.

We dimly loved this place, one of the most romantic and rustic places in the world.

Avoid going before April, it can be cold!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Tigmi is 30 minutes drive from Marrakech, half of it in a converted 19th century magistrate's house, and half a new build. The 19th century part has courtyards, gardens, balconies, and an observation tower where you can see the sun rise over the Atlas mountains. The new build is more formal and like a hotel. Tigmi is a place for relaxation, with a solar heated pool and snacks available all day. Dinner is at 8 pm from a set menu and a la carte choices. The dishes are local with a French influence. A mini bus has set runs to Marrakech during the day. If you are touring, then Tigmi is ideal for unwinding for three or four nights at the end of your stay. If you are self drive, be aware that Tigmi is right at the end of the village: don't turn back thinking your map reading is faulty.

Room Tip: If you intend to lounge by the pool, go for the new side. I you prefer shade, it is easier to find i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tigmi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigmi

Address: Douar Tagadert el Kaldi | Km 24 Route d'Amizmiz, Oumnass, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Oumnass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oumnass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tigmi 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigmi is a place of quietude to listen to silence, slow down and rediscover that precarious sense of wellbeing. The house sits on the brow of a Berber hamlet (Tagadert) in the Haouz plain, positioned between Marrakech and the High Atlas mountains. It is just 24 kms (15 miles) from the Medieval city, yet a world apart in the peace you will discover. A true retreat from the hectic lifestyles we have all become used to. Tigmi offers guests the opportunity to unwind and relax but is close enough to the Red City that guests can pop in and shop the Souk, see the Majorelle Gardens during the day and the Djemaa el Fna square at sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tigmi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigmi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tigmi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.