We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tigmi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Tigmi to your Saves list
Tigmi
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Douar Tagadert el Kaldi | Km 24 Route d'Amizmiz, Oumnass, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oumnass
Peterborough
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Always a delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Just returned from our 4th trip to Tigmi and once again, it was wonderful. We relaxed as soon as the taxi drove up outside and the staff greated us as friends. The perfect place to unwind from a noisy, busy life. Good food, attentive and professional service and glorious sunshine, combined with a cooling breeze so it never feels too hot, even in mid-August when the rest of Marrakech is heaving and hot. Sipping a glass (or three) on the terrace watching the sun go down is the perfect end to each perfect day. What's not to love.........?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    16
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
37
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
East Northants
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We have never failed to enjoy the great service, lovely people and expertise of the General Manager - Jean Paul Lance.

Food is authentic, atmosphere rustic chic. Cooling breeze and hours of sunshine.

there must be a downside -haven't found it yet. Marrakech is 15 miles away -but there is a mini bus ......

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

We were toying with the idea of staying out of Marrkech, and are very glad we did! Tigmi offers a half-way house for those who would like to see the city but who'd stay somewhere more restful!
We stayed here for 5 nights in January, and were the only visitors for some of the stay! It would have been nice to have been here with a bit more action, but on the flip side, we had the pick of the lounging spots and tables in the lovely restaurant!
In many ways this is an amazing place: too many outside terraces to count (i loved doing yoga on one of them, which had an incredible view of the mountains); helpful staff; yummy food, though breakfast wasn't anything special; panoramic views all around; and luxurious in a rustic-chic, thoroughly Moroccan way.
My only real criticism is that the bathroom of room 5 (otherwise a fabulous, big rroom) seemed as though it could do with some plumbing upgrades!
The free shuttle into Marrakech is an impressive touch - I have stayed at places where taxis/shuttles have been horribly expensive.
A very special place; I would love to come back when it's hot! (though it was warm enough to sit out and sunbath in early Jan).

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

We booked Tigmi at the last minute through "The Best Of Morocco" and took advantage of their stay 3 nights get 1 free offer.

As you approach through the Berber village in which Tigmi is located, you do begin to wonder what you've got yourself into: dirt tracks, mud houses, nothing for miles. However as you walk through the front door and up the steps, you realise straightaway that this place is somethign special and not like anywhere else. Beautifully constructed using local materials and techniques. We stayed in Tigmi 2 which is the newer annex, but it's just as good if not better than the original bit of the hotel.

Our room was large and comfortable, kitted out in a Morrocan style. The breakfast / dining area was by the pool and provided a wonderful setting.

The owner James has got a good managment team in Jean-Paul and Hayaat who take care of all your needs. My wife became ill on the last day of our stay and it was no problem for us to check out late and for them to rearrange out transfer.

The rest of the staff were terrific. Helpul and friendly at all times.

Given the distance from anywhere, stay is on a HB basis. Dinner was generally very good.

As for the negatives, not many but worth a mention.

The location may not be for everybody. If you want to stay somewhere where you might be able to walk out to go and do some activity, then it may not be for you, There is a regular minibus to town, but most activites requires some kind of transfer and it's a more expensive from Tigmi than from the centre of Marrakech.

The hotel seemed to be exclusively filled with Brits (including myself and my wife). Not a major thing, but when I go to somewhere like this, I would expect to see guests from different parts of the world, but it seems they cater primarily to the British market. Some of the guests were particularly loud, expecially at dinner which sometimes spoilt the ambience a little!

I was surprised that there were charges at breakfast if you chose to have eggs.

Overall the pros definitely outweigh the cons, and I would definitely recommend Tigmi to anyone who wants to "get away from it all" but still have the option of Marrakech only 30 minutes away.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We escaped to Morocco in September, it was amazing and welcoming but Tigmi was the most perfect hotel for a week away to recharge the batteries away from city life. Every where we turned there was a new nook with a sofa in it to relax, swim, eat and read. I still think about the Moroccan lamb now and cant wait to get back to Tigmi to have it again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 days in early October and, to use the cliche, can't wait to return. Our slight concern before we arrived was that for young and energetic people (late twenties) we would struggle to keep ourselves occupied. Quite the opposite. Although it is the most peaceful and relaxing place, its location in a charming Berber Village between Marrakesh and the Atlas Mountains means there are plenty of options for excursions if you can bear to tear yourself away. We particularly enjoyed the local horse riding which can be organised through the hotel. Our 3 hour 'hack' took us over some stunning rolling semi desert country and being a novice, was looked after very well.
Otherwise the friendliness of the staff and the understated elegence of the place were particularly apparent., while the set menu means the food is really very good.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

The thing I look for most in a hotel is to feel like it's our own special paradise. Even with other guests, even a huge hotel... this is what I look for in a venue and I don't think there's an excuse not to make guests feel like this. Tigmi is the most perfect epitome of this feeling that I've ever experienced in my life. It is a glorious, magical secret paradise and you are made to feel like Morroccan royalty. With secret hideaways in shaded stone areas to sun-drenched terrace area and open pools, this hotel is completely top class all over. The standards of the facilities are amazing, totally trustworthy in a country where one might be concerned about this, and the food is delicious. I cannot recommend it enough

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tigmi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigmi

Address: Douar Tagadert el Kaldi | Km 24 Route d'Amizmiz, Oumnass, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Oumnass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oumnass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tigmi 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tigmi is a place of quietude to listen to silence, slow down and rediscover that precarious sense of wellbeing. The house sits on the brow of a Berber hamlet (Tagadert) in the Haouz plain, positioned between Marrakech and the High Atlas mountains. It is just 24 kms (15 miles) from the Medieval city, yet a world apart in the peace you will discover. A true retreat from the hectic lifestyles we have all become used to. Tigmi offers guests the opportunity to unwind and relax but is close enough to the Red City that guests can pop in and shop the Souk, see the Majorelle Gardens during the day and the Djemaa el Fna square at sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tigmi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigmi Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tigmi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.