We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour of The Awesome Tower Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mauna Kea Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   62-100 Mauna Kea Beach Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Fourth Night FREE!
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Palm Springs, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Tour of The Awesome Tower Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

While we were staying at the nearby Mauna Lani Bay Hotel, we stopped by the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel and asked to see the newer ocean front rooms in the tower. The staff was very friendly and took us up to view a deluxe ocean front tower room. The hotel turned three original smaller rooms into one large room including a huge luxurious bath (the size of one original room) with an amazing ocean view from the shower.

Telling the staff that we were at Mauna Lani for two weeks, we were encouraged to tour the rest of the property, and we ended our visit with cocktails at the beach bar. My wife and I agreed that we would give Mauna Kea a try in the future. The only negative was a lack of shade trees on the beach in front of the hotel and only one dining choice on property.

Later that night we went to the Seafood Bar & Grill at the harbor and wound up sitting next Wes who turned out to be a parking valet at Mauna Kea. When Wes heard we looked at the hotel, he insisted on buying us a round of drinks! Thanks Wes! I'm sure we'll be seeing you at Mauna Kea.

Room Tip: Deluxe ocean front tower rooms are one of the best room choices on the Kohala Coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    154
    48
    20
    18
See reviews for
220
338
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, New Mexico, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

The amenities, location, rooms, service are wonderful and 5 star. Rooms are a little small, but nicely appointed with new, very comfortable amenities. Beach is PERFECT. It was my family (3 kids, 12,10,7) and my parents. Perfect for all of us. The reason I gave it 4 stars is the only complaint we have is the food availability and cost. We wanted to eat several times off of normal "hawaii" eating schedules, and there really is no food available except at certain times. Also, food is VERY expensive. Just wish there were more reasonable options.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you're ever in the area and are considering stopping at the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, don't. If you are not a registered guest, or going to the beach you are basically considered a non-viable organism. If you're physically handicapped, it's even worse as there is ONE available handicapped accessible parking stall on the entire property. Of course there are twenty or more parking stalls 'reserved' for "Platinum Members" which during our little spin through were 99% empty and it wouldn't do to have some riff-raff parked in one of those privileged stalls should twenty or so "members" suddenly show up. Mind you, this condition reflects a recent policy shift as we have over the years spent considerable time (and money) on the resort before and after the renovation resulting from the earthquake. Never again, it is just not fun to visit such an unwelcoming place.

Room Tip: You're going to need to have a room if you expect to get any sort of recognition as a human bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

On our second stay at Mauna Kea Beach Resort, we enjoyed the hotel even more!

The location is spectacular - best beach on the island with sugar sand and good snorkeling at both sides of the bay. The room is a vacation experience in itself - incredible beds with super soft linens, nice pillows, plush towels (and plenty of them), flat screen tv, ice delivered to the room, nightly turn down on beds. The staff consistently projects warmth, friendliness, and helpfulness no matter how trivial the question or request.

If a swimming pool is important, consider other resort options. Mauna Kea's swimming pool is smaller and good for a quick dip but not for serious pool fun. But then, when you have Mauna Kea Beach, who needs a swimming pool? Showers, towels, lounge furniture are great.

Food at Mauna Kea is pricey, high quality, and worth the splurge. For a break from the resort prices, we go to Waimea/Queen's Market Place for the best sushi in Hawaii - Sansei!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Exceptional service, beautiful rooms, and high quality dining. Menus are a bit limited but food quality and service are both top notch. The beach and facilities are all fantastic. We couldn't have been happier to spend a week here.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holualoa, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We only had an overnight stay for our 20th wedding anniversary and wanted it to be very special. From our welcome arrival to our dreaded departure this hotel was the ultimate for us. The staff and guests were all extremely friendly, how can you not be in this wonderful and calming place. The hotel grounds, beach and restaurants are beautiful and the service was the Best. Our ocean front suite and anniversary dinner surpassed our greatest expectations. We can now understand why this hotel has and will always remain "The" Mauna Kea Beach Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at a privately owned villa & had the amenity package which allowed us to use the facilities @ Mauna Kea & have parking. What a beautiful beach. The beach restaurant & bar had great food & drinks. Being able to sit in lounge chairs under an umbrella was divine. I cannot think of a better place on the Big Island. We had family photos taken as well as engagement photos for our son & his finance by the photographer in the lobby. We were so pleased with the final product. We went to the Luau & were equally impressed. The spa was fantastic. The breakfast was excellent as well.
Loved the level of service at this hotel as well as the attention to detail.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauna Kea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Address: 62-100 Mauna Kea Beach Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puako
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#3 Family Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mauna Kea Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located on Hawaii Island's Kohala Coast. Legendary, timeless hospitality. Exceptional value. No mandatory resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Mauna Kea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauna Kea Beach Kamuela
Hotel Mauna Kea Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.