We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the quiet spot at the end of the road (almost)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mauna Kea Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   62-100 Mauna Kea Beach Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night FREE!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Puako
GreenLeadersGold level
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Still the quiet spot at the end of the road (almost)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We returned to the Mauna Kea for our 35th anniversary. It had been 20 years since our last visit. It was nice to see that it continues to be a great place to retreat. It is expensive, but worth it if you are looking for a special place to get away. If you are looking for night life, etc. don't bother. The rooms in the main tower were quite spacious and the main lanai was a great place to hang out. The best kept secret for us was the private lanai with chaise lounge that was an extension of the gorgeous bathroom. My wife kept calling this lanai her private spa. I agree. Our friends from Kona come to "the beach" at the Mauna Kea and say it is by far the best beach on the island. We don't know the rest of the island, but it is easy to see why this beach is regularly rated one of the best in the world. If a quiet retreat at the end of the road is something attractive to you, definitely consider this hotel!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    139
    44
    19
    17
See reviews for
202
311
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Ok, I get it, some families have been coming to this place, leaving great memories, but for everyone else, this resort is so overrated, and overpriced, it is laughable. Restaurant is open when they want to, last call when they want to, around 2pm, pool closes at 6, the manta restaurant takes 3 hours to be served. No other place to eat. The beach is good, but good luck getting any service. They wont put up an umbrella, blaming the wind, but they just dont want to do the work. They make you bring the towels to the lounge chairs on the hot sand, and they make you lug them back to the hut where they hang around and do nothing. Dont sign up for the luau, unless you want to drop a hundie a person on a mediocre spread and a terribly contrived show. Whats with the cowboy hats and the remix of Shadie? The rooms, and general decor might have been acceptable when elvis was alive, but not today. This place is riding the horse even after it is dead. Dont be a lemming, dont fall into the peer pressure of saying you went to the mauna kea. It is not old school hawaii, it is just old, and tired, and whoever owns it now is really pushing the limits on what is acceptable. I feel so sad for the regulars who still try to cheerlead for this sorry excuse for a resort.
This is a 2 star at best. Golf blows here too. An equivelent itinerary would be staying at the Erawan Gardens and playing at the Marrakech Executive course in Palm Desert.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

If you want a laid back and quiet vacation, this is the place. The staff are nice, the rooms are lovely (although not sure they extra money is worth the price for the main tower, vs. the Beach rooms), and the beach is incredible. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms in the main tower are incredible. The "deluxe" ocean rooms have larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Greeted at the door with leis for both men and women. Luggage whisked away to be placed in the room. Staff always smiling and accommodating. Etheral ocean views through palm trees. More than adequate seating at beach and pool. Yoga, water aerobics, boot camp for the athletes. Fresh food, upscale buffet breakfast. Just a perfect way to spend a week in Hawaii. Excellent restaurants nearby. Robert Trent Jones golf course. Went with family of four adults and 3 children. Fun and activities for all. Pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResorts, Mauna Kea Resort Sale's Office at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Aloha! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel. It sounds like you truly got to experience the feeling of Aloha. Mahalo for your positive words and we look forward to welcoming you back one day with the same warm Aloha you experienced the first time. A Hui Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Lake Tahoe
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Our privacy was violated and the hotel appears unaccountable for our complaint! This is one of the best Prince Hotels we have enjoyed, 3 total, 2 at this location. Our previous stays were fabulous, and again here. Until the I Pad disappeared. We reported that to security and the hotel manager who were most receptive. Then we discovered my husbands golf range finder missing several days later as well. Another security report and discussion. The hotel manager kindly followed up a week after we returned home with no results other than they are still investigating. Regardless, the incident occurred behind locked doors at a very trustworthy, reputable property that we loved. Very discouraging and all travelers need to reconsider their security of personal items when staying here, despite security gates, price, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed here 6-3 to 6-9. Great room on the 8th floor with the mountain view. Rooms and bathrooms have been totally redone and for the better! Much bigger and nicer now. Service from everyone was fantastic. You are called by name from the moment you arrive until your car rolls down the drive. The beach is nice and the ocean is calm. Outside bar great for drinks. Breakfast buffet was good as was the Manta Restaurant for dining. We will return soon!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 8th floor are great and packages include a $200 credit along with free breakfasts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We did not stay at Mauna Kea, but at privately owned condos on the property. We did have access to all of the beaches, pools and amenities that Mauna Kea offered. This is a beautiful part of Hawaii and every view is breathtaking. The restaurants here are expensive, but delicious, so if you can afford it, worth the cost.

Service at the beach side restaurant was not very good at all, and most of the time, we just walked up to the bar to order our food and drinks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauna Kea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Address: 62-100 Mauna Kea Beach Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puako
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#2 Spa Hotel in Puako
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#3 Family Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mauna Kea Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located on Hawaii Island's Kohala Coast. Legendary, timeless hospitality. Exceptional value. No mandatory resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Amex, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mauna Kea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauna Kea Beach Kamuela
Hotel Mauna Kea Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.