We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mauna Kea Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   62-100 Mauna Kea Beach Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night FREE!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Puako
GreenLeadersGold level
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here in March of 2009 and I'm just now writing my review - this property IS AMAZING. Absoluely beautiful, breathtaking views. We stayed here for 4 nights while we were on the Big Island, and couldn't get enough of it. The property is beyond beautiful in every way imaginable. The staff is very nice, the service is amazing and the rooms are beautiful. If I could afford to come back frequently I definitely would! We know a couple who got married here and their wedding pictures are beyond beautiful, the best I have ever seen for a destination wedding--and all because the property is so pretty.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    130
    41
    19
    17
See reviews for
194
301
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I booked the trip only a couple of weeks ahead of time and could only reserve a garden view room, or an ocean view room on the ground floor of the Pulmeria wing. I elected to book a room on the ground floor of the Pulmeria wing. This part of the hotel is definitely a bit dated, however, our room was reasonably clean and comfortable.In addition, the view was excellent, as good as we have ever could have hoped for in a room of that price. I target golf as a big part of my vacation while my wife is looking for a great beach. The on-site golf provided great views, but was not easy. The beach was as good as gets, and we have stayed at numerous 5 star & luxury resorts in Maui, Mexico, Florida, and several islands in the Carribean. The majority of reviews I read before we chose the Mauna Kea were informative and basically accurate, except for those that were negative. There was really nothing negative about our stay at the Mauna Kea. Daily housekeeping could have been better, but is was adequate. We will definitely return to this beatiful location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

1st time in Hawaii...we stayed at the Mauna Kea on the big island. Absolutely perfect...I had some trepidation when I read one very negative review....but we had absolutely no problems. The hotel was beautiful, and the staff helpful and generous with their time and expertise. The beach was pristine and the chairs were clean and plentiful. The beach staff set us up with towels and chairs every morning...We were upgraded to an amazing beach front room...the breakfasts were full buffets' with made to order omelets and waffles. We signed up for the Saturday night clambake and we ate lobster and oysters..prime rib and do it yourself sundaes....watching an amazing sunset on he beach. The beds were so comfy and our room was kept spotless. Bottles of water were delivered nightly. All of Hawaii is expensive, but the Mauna Kea is worth it!

Room Tip: If you can live without a "beach view"....the mountain view rooms are bigger, and the bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

A wonderful architectural journey back into the mid 60s. Well-maintained, almost-spare-enough rooms (too many magazines and pamphlets) but generous room size, the walk-in closet is perfection, the deep soaking tub was luxurious. Serene romance for those who seek it, quiet room, enjoyed the spa services, breakfast (not the buffet) was solidly good, the grounds are expansive and lovely, the registration and concierge staff were very welcoming, courteous and helpful.

My only issue -- The bed and side tables needed to be moved and more thoroughly vacuumed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a great experience here. Service and staff were great, our room was lovely (loved the bathroom), and the brunch was *excellent* -- almost identical to that of the Four Seasons down the highway. The L'Occitaine soaps were lovely, too! Our view wasn't anything spectacular since we were facing the golf course, but that was fine. I would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern california
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our family has been coming to the Mauna Kea for many years and it's just magic every time. We have stayed all over Hawaii, Kauai, Maui and Oahu at many of the large resorts with huge pools, slides, etc. and prefer the Mauna Kea over them all even though it does not have the bells and whistles of those places. At the Mauna Kea there is just a small circle pool and a huge, lovely beach. The hotel provides basic chairs, towels, etc. on the beach and you can usually find a great seat unless you are there during a very crowded time. The water is generally very gentle with small or no waves, great for stand up paddling, snorkeling and just floating. During the winter months there can be more surf providing good boogie boarding and very rarely, larger waves. There is a stand that provides rentals of various ocean equipment. This is not our favorite part of the hotel as we are fairly certain our paddle was stolen by one of the staff. These workers are not actual hotel staff, the hotel staff is fabulous! Friendly, competent, helpful and a joy to see every visit. There is a bar and restaurant down by the beach that serves great (over poured) cocktails and staffed by lifetime bartenders with stories to tell about the many interesting patrons that have visited the Mauna Kea over the years. The restaurant serves good, basic fare and is not open for dinner every day. Make sure you check before you plan that as your dinner!
There are two other restaurants on property, one at the golf course that is not open for dinner but is a fun choice for lunch and the main restaurant that serves a fantastic breakfast buffet and is also open for dinner. In general there are not a ton of restaurant options in the area and it is about 20 minutes to most restaurant options though there are a few things you can do a little closer. The first time we went we were a little frustrated with this but everything else was so great we just figured out how to make it work. The rooms come in a wide range. The lowest priced rooms look out on the golf course side of the property. There are some that are right above the entrance to the hotel that are a little loud with arrivals coming in at all hours. Our favorite rooms are in the wing of the hotel facing the beach off the grassy lawn. All the rooms are newly decorated in a kind of modernist Hawaii theme. The beds are comfy but I do not think there are rooms with two doubles, they just have two twins or a king in the rooms I have seen.
The bottom line is that when we go to the Mauna Kea we experience a week of total relaxation. The kids love it, the adults love it, what more could we want?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have been visiting the Mauna Kea for so many years that i think i am eligible to vote in Hawai'i.
The views and setting are spectacular. The rooms dated but still pleasant. The beach is still dangerous in the winter but lifeguard services are better.
But the management still seems asleep. The staff wanders around with smiles and bland indifference. Nothing is ever delivered as ordered. The rooms are made up, sometimes.
The beach bar closes at sunset, just as the crowds gather.
The bar was packed for the NFC and AFC championships but no bartender showed.
The Mauna Kea will soon qualify as a Caribbean hotel, nice location, no service and no management.

Room Tip: Insist on ocean view, or you get a superb view of the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauna Kea Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauna Kea Beach Hotel

Address: 62-100 Mauna Kea Beach Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Puako
#2 Spa Hotel in Puako
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#3 Family Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mauna Kea Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located on Hawaii Island's Kohala Coast. Legendary, timeless hospitality. Exceptional value. No mandatory resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mauna Kea Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauna Kea Beach Kamuela
Hotel Mauna Kea Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.