We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Scenery, Great Food, Great Service. Great!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown's Beach House

Brown's Beach House
1 N. Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9731
8088852000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Brown's Beach House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Puako
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The AAA Four Diamond award-winning Brown's Beach House is the place for the quintessential island fine dining experience located just steps from shore. Innovative, Big Island inspired cuisine is drawn from simple, pure flavors from locally grown, sustainable agriculture and seafood. Products using the diverse variety of fresh seafood from our island waters redefining the continuing evolution of Pacific Rim, Hawaii Regional, and most recently Big Island Cuisine. Exceptional nightly Hawaiian entertainment by resident soloists and romantic shoreline sunsets at a hand's distance blend naturally with the outdoor open-air seating for a memorable evening under the stars.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Scenery, Great Food, Great Service. Great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were staying at the hotel, on our honeymoon. They sat us on the beach front, overlooking the cove, with the moonlight just glistening over the water, and that was just the start of the night.

Our server, on both evenings were great, the food was delicious. The sundried tomato dip that accompanies the bread is divine too!! Wine list is terrific, food comes out perfect, and dessert was hard to pass up, even if we were a little full.

Manager, Ken, was also really welcoming to us, and giving us some spots to check out on the way to places we were headed. Just really nice and helpful, and it seemed as genuine as it gets. Chef also came out on night one, cooked us some extra appetizers to welcome us and note our anniversary which was just so over the top nice.

All in all, I saw why this place is so well regarded.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    98
    48
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A little bit of a disappointment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We have been here many times in the past and have never been let down. This last time on August 30 was a bit of a let down. First the positive. Its still a beautiful location! That does not go away. Our wait staff was exceptional that took care of us. But we decided that we love this location so much, we wanted to have our wedding dinner here with our family on the knoll. Which is an extra expense, but it was worth it. The negative is that they had less items on the menu to choose from. Only a few fish dishes. One being pacific northwest salmon. Not even from the islands. So not sure if there wasn't much in season right at the time, but seemed like there should of been more. Secondly, our wedding cake that we ordered a few months prior through their coordinator, never happened. I guess they just lost the order. The flowers we ordered were there. But no cake. We were glad that we sent our photographer home, instead of waiting for a wedding cake to come out. They did compensate us with free desserts. Which was nice. Its funny. That the chef and manager came out to talk to us, but nothing was said!!! Which I thought was very odd. After returning home from the Island, I emailed the coordinator, asking what happened, and got no response. So my best advise for anyone celebrating a special occasion here. Do your follow up. Call up and make sure what you ordered was going to be present several times. It was definitely a disappointment. Being our wedding day and all.
It was still a special day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We arrived early and were seated promptly when they opened. The Wines, appetizers and main course of fish was excellent. The after dinner (real) Kona coffee was made in a press and was possibly the best cup of coffee we have ever had! Our waiter was Frank and his recommendations were spot on! Located on the sea level of the Fairmont Hotel (used to be the Ritz Carleton) the restaurant was worth the trouble to find. Excellent in all categories!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Memorable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Went to celebrate birthday with our immediate family. Amazing setting right on the water. Exceptional service. Food was incredibly prepared and beautifully presented. Poke appetizer was great. Don't miss truffle Mac n cheese side. All entrees were wonderful. Finish with Snickers pie for dessert - very unique and fantastic. Be ready to spend, but you're not going here to save money. It is a truly fine dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Oh my goodness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Amazing seafood, amazing view, best virgin strawberry daqari ever. And the snickers dessert was to die for! Literally sat at a table overlooking the ocean. Soo romantic! Will def go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown's Beach House also viewed

 
Puako, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Brown's Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown's Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.