We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring two credit cards...you'll max one out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brown's Beach House

Brown's Beach House
1 N. Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743-9731
8088852000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Brown's Beach House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Puako
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The AAA Four Diamond award-winning Brown's Beach House is the place for the quintessential island fine dining experience located just steps from shore. Innovative, Big Island inspired cuisine is drawn from simple, pure flavors from locally grown, sustainable agriculture and seafood. Products using the diverse variety of fresh seafood from our island waters redefining the continuing evolution of Pacific Rim, Hawaii Regional, and most recently Big Island Cuisine. Exceptional nightly Hawaiian entertainment by resident soloists and romantic shoreline sunsets at a hand's distance blend naturally with the outdoor open-air seating for a memorable evening under the stars.
Victoria, TX
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Bring two credit cards...you'll max one out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just got back from Big Island and had a wonderful meal at Brown's Beach House at the Fairmont at Mauna Lani. The only problem was they have jacked up the prices to where it's painfully obvious you are being hosed on the price. Examples: On the appetizer menu they list Deep Sea Scallops (plural) for $23--you get one medium-small scallop for $23!!! Also same for the Kona Coffee braised short ribS for $18 where you only get one small riblet. Entrees are $38-43 and portions are small. The food, however, is excellent and the service and ambience perfect. Everything in the islands is priced high, but this was the first time I really felt like I was being ripped off badly. Again, the food was fabulous, but be prepared to pay way, way too much.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    99
    48
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Washington
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent beachfront dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a fabulous restaurant steps from the beach at the Fairmont Orchid. The service is superb and the food was fantastic. I had the crab stuffed kampachi and it was delicious, my husband had the Lobster and it was even better. They also had a nice local guitarist providing ambient music. The view of the sunset can't be beat. Be prepared for a hefty price tag however. But it's worth it for a special occasion. It can be a little breezy, so ladies, bring a wrap. They also provide a nice kid's menu for the little ones.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Ca.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“PERFECT END OF OUR TRIP1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

For our last night of vacation, we chose Brown's, not only for the superior food, but also for the cool breezes outside, lovely sunset, soft guitar music all evening, torch bearer sprinting around lighting all the lights, then softly blowing his horn twice. Then time to go home and bid good-bye. And by the way, our fish dinner was perfect and waiter, very helpful and kind.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
354 reviews 354 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Open air night time delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We enjoyed dinner here and found it through the recommendation of the concierge at the Mona Kea. The night we ate here was breezy and the path from the lobby to the restaurant could use a few more lights. The chef special of lobster tails grilled atop locally grown asparagus and carrots and a macadamia nut risotto was our choice and delicious including a rich dark cream sauce highlighted by local berries. Prior to the meal we polished off a well made Gibson and a Lilikoi margarita . The food is pricey but again this is a resort setting. Live music provides a nice backdrop and the hotel grounds of the Fairmont Orchid are beautiful even in the dark. Service was quick and efficient.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Very good food in an amazing setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

The beach house is the perfect place to rekindle romance under the stars with live music in the background with the sound and views of the ocean to top it off the food is delicious and the service top notch could have not expect less from the Fairmont

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown's Beach House also viewed

 
Puako, Kohala Coast
 

Been to Brown's Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown's Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.