We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Daily Credit
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Puako
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Staff and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We arrived early Monday morning and greeted by Beau at the desk. Our room was not ready and they offers to hold our luggage and a hospitality room to change. We checked in around 3 to a very nice ocean view room. Later we received a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries as a anniversary gift from the staff. Our entire week was perfect. Pool staff attentive and the breakfast on the balcony was perfect. The coffee stand off the lobby is a great option for Kona coffee and great pastries and fruit. From start to finish the staff was professional and helpful. The room was well maintained and pull down service at night. This is a great location on the Big Island and the shops and restaurants in the area are all a short walk away. It is conveniently located about 1/2 hour from airport and easy to go to any tourist area. We used the Waikoloa Diving Charter, right off the beach at the hotel and enjoyed the pool and beach. Great job Waikoloa staff and thanks for all the great memories.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    760
    249
    84
    39
See reviews for
437
906
51
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

In evaluated resort options, I chose Marriott based on what I thought was a good balance between budget and amenities/property. In hindsight, I think my choice was right about where I thought it would be. When reviewing comments I thought this property fit in between the lower end hotels in Kona and the higher end ones such as Mauna Lani and Mauna Kea. Having visited the aforementioned, as well as the Fairmont, I can conclude that the Marriott is clearly inferior, but again, so is the price. The Marriott is probably close to the Hilton overall with the Hilton being a large sprawling complex. If I had a large family I think the Hilton would have been a better choice. The Marriott is also better than Kona hotels in my opinion. But if you like the hustle/bustle of being downtown and night life (if there is any at all) then you should save your money and stay at a hotel downtown. Having written all that, the Marriott was ok. Public areas were ok. Rooms were a little dated...and carpet was pretty bad everywhere. But beds were comfortable and the pool area/beach access was pretty good. Access to local shopping was superior with this property over the other 4 star choices. You get what you pay for with the higher end resorts, you just have to decide if the extra money in your budget is worth it. For me, I spent most of my time off property exploring Hawaii and found the Marriott a fair priced, dependable home base for the week with the appropriate relaxing amenities/conveniences.

Room Tip: Personally, I would rather face away from the pool to gain more peace. But I had a unit facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie T, Executive Administrative Assistant at Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We apologize for not meeting all your expectations, but it sounds like you enjoyed your stay. We do take all feedback seriously and are always looking for ways to improve, so your review is helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights during a recent group business meeting. Overall the word acceptable comes to mind. Although full the common areas did not seem crowded at all. The servers were all very attentive and personable at the group events.

My reasons for a middle rating are: rooms, could have been any Marriott Stateside (and dated), buffet meals were so-so...certainly edible but not spectacular.

The wifi (and support) was completely unacceptable. Sporadic at best and even after spending over 1 hour on the phone with their tech support nothing came from it. Ironically, the next morning there was a planned wifi update that did not show any noticeable improvement. Oh well I guess you go to Hawaii NOT to work on your computer in your room. Bleah.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie T, Executive Administrative Assistant at Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We apologize for not meeting your expectations. If you would like to discuss any of this further, please contact our Director of Events at 808-886-6789. We take all feedback seriously and are always looking for ways to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Nice resort on the dry side of the island. Nearby attractions within walking distance are the King's and Queen's Shopping areas. Island Gourmet Market at Queen's is probably the best place to find hawaiian souveniers to bring back home. Everything on the property is relaxed and easy going. Definitely on island time. Look for friendly service and cheerful staff across the hotel, especially the coffee bar, whenever it's open. Party-wise, the bartenders provided for the corporate event were tolerant of and patient with the overly loud mainlanders who made up the majority of our group. Weak points included the age of the property and food food service which starts closing down 15 minutes before closing time and snatching your plate from under you even as you pick up the last bite. Room service ends at 10, so make sure to pick up something for your room at the little gift shop around the corner from check-in, closing at 11pm sharp).

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at the Waikoloa Marriott in January 2014 for five nights. We found the room, bathroom, and lanai large enough for the two of us and all of our belongings (plus a dive bag). We were upgraded to a partial ocean view which was very nice.

All staff that we met were attentive, prompt, friendly. Upon arrival we noticed that the mini refrigerator was not cooling. Within 10 minutes it was replaced. Having the mini fridge is nice to be able to store beverages and fruit that we bought at the farmer's market.

Every morning we enjoyed walking along Anaeho'omalu Beach either heading north towards the Hilton or south taking in part of the Alu Kahakai National Historic Trail and pockets of small beaches.

We enjoyed the pools and hot tubs, especially the infinity pool (beautiful view from the pool looking out towards the coconut palm lined beach).

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This hotel was just great. We had the best holiday!! The staff was fantastic and they had the best service. There were loads to do on the island. The welcome was really warm, and we will definitly recomend it to our friends and family. Hope to revisit this lovely place. The volcano was spectacular.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Had a wonderful time. Stayed for 11 nights. Got a great deal with Travelocity for airfare/hotel for 2 ppl. Hotel was very nice, easy and beautiful beach access, with Ocean Sports available on site.

We asked for a King bed, and they booked us a double. Had to wait about 4nights until King bed opened up. Otherwise rooms were great.

Drinks and food are WAY too expensive, but that's what you get at resorts. $12-14 a drink, and I'm a picky drinker so my drinks were pricier than my husband's.

Room Tip: Call a week or two before you arrive and make sure they hold the bed request for you beforehand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Puako
#4 Family Hotel in Puako
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#5 Spa Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation will find it all at the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, located on a sandy, swimmable beach along the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. This beachfront resort offers contemporary elegant guestrooms featuring private lanais, oceanview dining, heated infinity pool, two children’s pools, waterslide, ocean activities, Mandara Spa, world class golf and is within walking distance of shopping and dining at the Kings' Shops & Queens’ MarketPlace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Hotel Waikoloa
Marriott Waikoloa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.