We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A calming place...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Puako
Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A calming place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is truly a peaceful oasis. Beautiful ocean views, wonderful restaurants, great pool, and a super-friendly staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at this hotel and teh many sights to see in the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    739
    243
    83
    38
See reviews for
429
880
48
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valdez, Alaska
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I Used Priceline and got this hotel for under $100 a night end of Feb into March. Super easy drive from airport and has a couple good snorkel beaches real close. Restaurant is expensive, but its a resort. My wife and I are hostel and tenting people, so this resort is def in the high end for us, but it was awesome for my birthday and for extreme relaxation. Our room was very nice, dinners are great and views are unbeatable. Also like the fitness center. Good deal if you get the right price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel has great common areas, including a very nice pool area and public beach. Many other tourists access the public beach right by the Marriott's beach. The rooms are average and the overall look and feel of the hotel is average. The amenities created by God---beach, weather, nearby mountains, are sensational! Their Luau is excellent as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the Waikoloa Beach Marriott Hotel. Nothing special, I actually expected much more from a Marriott hotel. Our small room was clean enough, only had three cockroaches in 2 weeks! The hallway carpets were visibly dirty and bunching up and some walls and doors were all marked up with black marks. All it would have taken was some elbow grease to clean the white walls and doors to remove the marks. It would have looked so much better. My big concern was the cleanliness of the glasses used in the restaurant and at the bar. We watched the bartender cleaning the glasses as he talked to customers. All he did was rinse them out in one sink (it may have had some disinfectant in it I do not know) and then in clear water and then place them on a rack to dry. The drinks actually tasted funny to us.Then when we went for breakfast one morning, one water glass that our waitress brought had a red lipstick mark on it..., and my husbands juice glass had red marks on the edge as well. He totally would not even accept a new juice while my water was replaced. This from a Marriott hotel. The pool was nice, no complaints.Bed was very comfy. Coffee shop upstairs had great Kona coffee.The rest of the hotel looked nice on the surface, and the staff were also very nice. They definately need some work. Because of these cleanliness issues,we will not stay again.

Room Tip: Ask to see where they chose to put you on their map, if you do not like it ask to be moved. The firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Vacationed at the Waikoloa Beach Marriott with my wife and 4 year old son for 10 days. Overall, our experience was satisfactory, but for the money, you are better off staying at other nearby properties.The pool area at the hotel was nice. We also enjoyed the common area lanai. We also found the customer service to be above average. On the other hand, our room was tiny. There was barely enough space for the 3 of us to move around. Our room wasn't as modern as we had expected and we were surprised with the 27" box style television - no LCD or flat screen. We'll definitely go back to the Big Island, but we won't stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel is average Marriott. Rooms were not too small, though as others have noted the balcony is not large. Bathroom is tiny. My ocean view had a sort of view as long as you lean over the banister, much to my disappointment. There is no wifi in room, only plug-in Internet, which is not useful on an IPad, iPhone or similar wireless device. As a Marriott Elite I was told that my Internet was free.... But since I only can do wireless, the only internet I could get was to sit in the lobby. This was a work-cation, so I won't stay here again as it made work unnecessarily difficult. I appreciated having a refrigerator in the room. Location of this hotel is very good. Across the street from the Kings and Queens shops (2 separate shopping areas). Staff was very helpful, but like everywhere in Hawaii, staff work on "island time". I also wish they would post notes about being quiet in the hallway outside rooms, as with many families, the evenings were pretty noisy. Valets were very helpful. Concierge is through Expedia, and truthfully the Internet was more helpful than the three different people I asked questions. None were answered but sitting in the lobby reading TripAdvisor posts answered questions.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I went to the Big Island on a babymoon trip. We first went to the Hilo side of the island for a couple days. Most, if not all of the hotels on that side were a little older and didn't have the resort-feel of the Kona-side hotels. That said, when we got to the Marriot after being in Hilo, we were overjoyed with the step-up in accommodations.

A couple things that we really liked about the hotel and timing of the trip. We went in September, right after the summer peak season. Fares were very reasonable, and the hotel seemed less than half full. There were nightly dinner and drink specials to keep the guests on the property. This is probably needed since it's the one hotel in the area that is right next to a shopping center with a Roy's and other restaurants.

The pool area was kept up nicely, and there was a smaller pool with slide for children. Although when we went in September, there weren't too many young kids around. A plus for couples. The beach area in front of the hotel was ok. We typically went to the Mauna Kea resort area in the morning to go snorkeling. That beach was supposed to be the best spot in the general area for snorkeling, and I did see a see turtle and a good variety of fish in the morning.

If you can go, go off-season and enjoy the perks and pricing that they'll have.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: 69-275 Waikoloa Beach Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96738
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Puako
#4 Family Hotel in Puako
#5 Spa Hotel in Puako
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests seeking relaxation and rejuvenation will find it all at the luxurious Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, located on a sandy, swimmable beach along the sunny Kohala Coast of Hawaii’s Big Island. This beachfront resort offers contemporary elegant guestrooms featuring private lanais, oceanview dining, heated infinity pool, two children’s pools, waterslide, ocean activities, Mandara Spa, world class golf and is within walking distance of shopping and dining at the Kings' Shops & Queens’ MarketPlace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Hotel Waikoloa
Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Waikoloa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikoloa Beach Marriott Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.