We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aloha Hapuna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel to your Saves list
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62-100 Kauna'oa Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night FREE!
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Aloha Hapuna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Great hotel. Best part for us is the location right on Hapuna Beach- one of the prettiest beaches in Hawaii. Large comfortable room with lanai and ocean views- even with a "garden room". Big pool, excellent beach, lots of lounge chairs and beach towels. It is paradise.

We were in the rear building tower 4 on the 5th floor, one of the less expensive rooms, but no complaints. The price was right and the room had a lanai that extended to a grassy area that was great with ocean view. Hotel has restaurants for every meal, a shop with reasonable prices to buy snacks, several bars, some shopping shops. Live music at sunset. OPTIONAL resort fee which is better than a mandatory resort fee- for around $24 you get parking, internet, daily water and coffee, and a one time 2 mai tai's.
Rooms are well appointed and have been remodeled. The bathrooms have had a hybrid remodel but are quite large and comfortable. All amenities of a 4 star hotel- robes, shampoo, ice in room, small refrigerator, etc.
The only negative we experienced was our internet did not work so we called the front desk. They in turn patched me through to the internet company and made ME deal with the problem. I had to sit on hold, then talk to the guy, set up an appt, and be in the room- it was BIZARR-O- why would they make the guest do all of that?? Wake of management- I am the guest that paid $11.95 a day for a service- why am I calling an internet comapny on my vacation? Then, they did not apologize or credit me for the day we went without. The internet company was great and quite friendly and got me up in 2 minutes. Ironically the router just needed unplugging and I can't imagine why the front desk did not send someone down to try that as it was hidden behind the bureau...it was really strange.
Besides that odd internet episode, we LOVED our stay and thought this hotel was a perfect place to kick back for 3 nights and really feel like we were on a Hawaiian vacation. Recommend it to anyone. Aloha!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Aloha! We're happy you enjoyed your visit with us. We appreciate hearing about your internet situation and will look into that further so that other guests might be helped by your comments. Mahalo and we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    587
    129
    90
    43
See reviews for
336
839
45
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The rooms and beach are beautiful at this resort and if that's all you need for a moderate price, stay here. However, if you want to be able to eat on site or even grab a drink after dinner, stay at one of the other resorts nearby (Marriott, Mauna Lani etc.). The difference is, the other resorts have made a nice little "city" around them to get ice cream, shop and have plentiful dining options. The food is ridiculously expensive at Hapuna - $8 for a cup of coffee, $30 for breakfast and it's just not worth it. The walk to the parking garage is a hassle but that's what you'll have to do to get meals affordable or have any nightlife.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your comments. We always appreciate hearing from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Spent 5 nights at this hotel just chilling and relaxing
Food was excellent, though a bit pricey. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Room was very spacious , air conditioning worked well and everything was spotlessly clean and well maintained. Beech is immediately in front of hotel, with plenty of beach chairs and para soles provided by the hotel.
If you don't have a car you are a bit isolated but that was what we wanted.
Great relaxing venue for a quieter holiday

Be aware restaurants close early so don't leave it too late to eat - though this might be a shock just to Europeans as all Americans we spoke to viewed this as normal

Wifi provided in room but is expensive and you need to pay full price per device so you can run up a big bill quickly

Would certainly recommend this hotel for a quiet week

Room Tip: All appeared good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed a relaxing visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We included a picture of the view from an ocean front room and from a partial ocean view room. You can decide if it is worth it. We paid an extra $70 a night for the Ocean front room. One negative: the room is farther away from the beach and the front desk.
The room has strong AC and a strong shower. The bathroom is very spacious.
The beach is really the best part of this hotel. The staff was nice, especially the valet.

Room Tip: See pictures of the view of Ocean front room versus a partial ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Aloha and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're happy you enjoyed the beach and look forward to your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The hotel is outdated, open bathroom and toilet. Felt a little bit greasy and not really inviting. Additional pricing is annoying, e.g., for internet, parking. Breakfast was really bad, never had such a bad steak. The location is very good, though. The beach is clean and very easy to reach. The pool is ok. If this hotel would be updated, they would include internet and parking for free and change the cook, this could be a first class spot.
Next restaurants are a little bit far away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your comments. We are looking into your comment regarding the breakfast steak and appreciate this being brought to our attention. Since we do not charge a daily resort service charge as most other hotels do, only those guests who utilize parking and internet are assesed a fee, rather than all guests. We are, however, also reviewing this policy. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Our trip to Kona started off rocky, but when we reached our hotel everything changed. We were upgraded to a room with awesome views and the staff was friendly and so helpful. Great location and the beach was breath taking. This was such a great experience for our family.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We're delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your visit with us! Please return again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My only compliant would be the extra charges. $17.5/day for parking, $11.5/day internet/ per device (no hotspot possible), breakfast $30/person.... It quickly mounts up to a small fortune!!! On the plus side, location is great with a wonderful beach with snorkelling right outside. Great for children.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your comments. Unlike other major resorts throughout Hawaii, we are one of a small handful that does not charge a daily resort service fee. That said, we are reviewing our policy based on customer feedback and appreciate hearing from you. We're happy you did in fact enjoy your visit and we hope to see you on the beach at Hapuna again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
1.1 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel
6.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations Club
28.2 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
5.7 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
7.8 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Address: 62-100 Kauna'oa Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Puako
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#4 Family Hotel in Puako
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel offers luxury accommodations, an 18-hole golf course, spa services, and space for meetings and weddings. Gracious hospitality. Exceptional value. No mandatory resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Kamuela
Prince Hotel Hapuna Beach
Prince Hotel Island Of Hawaii
Hapuna Prince Hotel
Hapuna Beach Hotel
Island Of Hawaii Prince Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.