We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moderate hotel in very good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel to your Saves list
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62-100 Kauna'oa Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night FREE!
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Moderate hotel in very good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

The hotel is outdated, open bathroom and toilet. Felt a little bit greasy and not really inviting. Additional pricing is annoying, e.g., for internet, parking. Breakfast was really bad, never had such a bad steak. The location is very good, though. The beach is clean and very easy to reach. The pool is ok. If this hotel would be updated, they would include internet and parking for free and change the cook, this could be a first class spot.
Next restaurants are a little bit far away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your comments. We are looking into your comment regarding the breakfast steak and appreciate this being brought to our attention. Since we do not charge a daily resort service charge as most other hotels do, only those guests who utilize parking and internet are assesed a fee, rather than all guests. We are, however, also reviewing this policy. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    563
    129
    89
    43
See reviews for
312
807
44
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Our trip to Kona started off rocky, but when we reached our hotel everything changed. We were upgraded to a room with awesome views and the staff was friendly and so helpful. Great location and the beach was breath taking. This was such a great experience for our family.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
We're delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed your visit with us! Please return again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My only compliant would be the extra charges. $17.5/day for parking, $11.5/day internet/ per device (no hotspot possible), breakfast $30/person.... It quickly mounts up to a small fortune!!! On the plus side, location is great with a wonderful beach with snorkelling right outside. Great for children.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your comments. Unlike other major resorts throughout Hawaii, we are one of a small handful that does not charge a daily resort service fee. That said, we are reviewing our policy based on customer feedback and appreciate hearing from you. We're happy you did in fact enjoy your visit and we hope to see you on the beach at Hapuna again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The positives: The view from the room was great. The room was clean. The staff were friendly.

The negatives: Some of the staff were inept: Had to call three times to get my reservation confirmation sent to me. Wakeup call never came. Bartender does not know how to make a Bloody Mary. SIgnage is missing (just for e.g., No sign posted from garage elevator to how to actually get to the checkin lobby). Food at the pool was mediocre.

Room Tip: Either high floor in building four and five, or any room in building three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your comments. Every comment provides us the opportunity to continuously improve so we appreciate hearing from our guests. We hope you'll return to enjoy our resort again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This beautiful hotel was the icing on the cake for us. We arrived and we're greeted with a beautiful sunset. Lovely rooms, great pool a stones throw from the best beach in the world...

Need I say more. Mahalo

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Congratulations on your wedding! Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're happy you enjoyed your visit and hope you'll return to celebrate again and again. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

There is nothing negative to say about the Hapuna Prince. The location is gorgeous. The staff goes out of their way to assist from bringing you ice to your room to serving you at the wonderful breakfast buffet. If you are going to the Big Island Hapuna Prince is the place to stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We appreciate your kind remarks and always enjoy sharing such uplifting comments with our hardworking team...so thank you! Please return soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 8 nights and 9 days here and we enjoyed every second of it! All the staff we came into contact with were extremely friendly and helpful! This resort is very well maintained. We spent the majority of our time at the beautiful beach. We loved being able to snorkel right off our beach....we recommend packing your own snorkel gear though instead of renting. We tried to get down to the beach early to get front row chairs. ;) One day we drove over to the Mauna Kea Resort to spend the day on that crescent-shaped beach. To our surprise, we were told since we were guests of Hapuna we could valet park for free! We also rented a paddle board here and were able to charge it to our room at Hapuna. We were very pleased with how clean and beautiful everything was. The rooms were also beautiful and the bed was SUPER comfortable! We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for visiting! We're happy you enjoyed some excellent beach time at two of the best beaches in Hawaii during your stay with us. We'll look forward to your return soon. Mahalo and Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Address: 62-100 Kauna'oa Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Puako
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#4 Family Hotel in Puako
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel offers luxury accommodations, an 18-hole golf course, spa services, and space for meetings and weddings. Gracious hospitality. Exceptional value. No mandatory resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Kamuela
Prince Hotel Hapuna Beach
Prince Hotel Island Of Hawaii
Hapuna Prince Hotel
Hapuna Beach Hotel
Island Of Hawaii Prince Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.