We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62-100 Kauna'oa Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night FREE!
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Puako
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Happy honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This beautiful hotel was the icing on the cake for us. We arrived and we're greeted with a beautiful sunset. Lovely rooms, great pool a stones throw from the best beach in the world...

Need I say more. Mahalo

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Congratulations on your wedding! Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We're happy you enjoyed your visit and hope you'll return to celebrate again and again. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    507
    111
    86
    43
See reviews for
269
711
38
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

There is nothing negative to say about the Hapuna Prince. The location is gorgeous. The staff goes out of their way to assist from bringing you ice to your room to serving you at the wonderful breakfast buffet. If you are going to the Big Island Hapuna Prince is the place to stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
We appreciate your kind remarks and always enjoy sharing such uplifting comments with our hardworking team...so thank you! Please return soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 8 nights and 9 days here and we enjoyed every second of it! All the staff we came into contact with were extremely friendly and helpful! This resort is very well maintained. We spent the majority of our time at the beautiful beach. We loved being able to snorkel right off our beach....we recommend packing your own snorkel gear though instead of renting. We tried to get down to the beach early to get front row chairs. ;) One day we drove over to the Mauna Kea Resort to spend the day on that crescent-shaped beach. To our surprise, we were told since we were guests of Hapuna we could valet park for free! We also rented a paddle board here and were able to charge it to our room at Hapuna. We were very pleased with how clean and beautiful everything was. The rooms were also beautiful and the bed was SUPER comfortable! We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for visiting! We're happy you enjoyed some excellent beach time at two of the best beaches in Hawaii during your stay with us. We'll look forward to your return soon. Mahalo and Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Wife and I live on Windward Big Island. For our anniversary, we like to go over to the leeward side for a short holiday. The Hapuna Prince is located on the Kohala Coast, where it's almost always sunny. The Prince's beach is perfect mix of sun, sugary sand, gentle breezes, and everything a main lander dreams about. Accommodations are deluxe. Cuisine is scrumptious-ono. A fantastic resort and conveniently located to Kailua-Kona.

Room Tip: Rooms facing ocean are wonderful.
See more room tips
Green Features: They donate unused materials. Food is mostly organic and local.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We love welcoming kamaaina to our resort and we appreciate your business! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return to the sunny Kohala Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our stay at Hapuna Beach was fantastic. We stayed 6 nights, but we could have easily stayed longer. Despite the fact that we were there on a travelzoo voucher the staff upgraded us for our honeymoon, which was greatly appreciated. Our room was huge with a great lanai. Although it was a bit of a trek from the parking garage, our room had easy access to the grounds and pool. The staff were friendly and the service was quick. The location was amazing, the beach is gorgeous and the surf is fun for body boarding. It is definitely a relaxing getaway spot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Congratulations on your marriage and mahalo for choosing to Honeymoon with us! We're delighted you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to your return to celebrate many anniversaries to come. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay area
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Being able to walk from our room down to the swimming pool and then out to one of the most beautiful beaches was really a treat! Being on Hapuna beach is the reason to stay at this hotel. We swam a few times every day.The water was easy to get into and it was never crowded. Lots of chairs and umbrellas. Our room was good size with a large bathroom, and we had a balcony with a partial ocean view. The rest of our view was of the landscaped grounds which were very pretty. Everything was clean and well taken care of. Views from the lobby and breakfast buffet were amazing. Really, a beautiful spot. I would recommend having a car so you can travel around, since the hotel is somewhat secluded. It is quiet at night. The Big Island was great, with so much to see and if you want to stay right on a beautiful beach stay here!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Mahalo for staying with us and for your wonderful comments. We are happy you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumont, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

If you are looking for a getaway, in a beautiful location, with amenities to suit any style, this is your place.
Off the beaten path, you can find peace and serenity, if that's what you're looking for.
If you are in need of easy access to beach make sure you request that when booking. The layout of the buildings can be a hike for those with small children or mobility issues. The breakfast buffet is first rate. The staff, from the moment you walk in, is extraordinary. The concierge helped to plan activities prior to arriving, which was very helpful.
Evening dinners are a bit pricey. They charge for parking, a new, odd trend that I think is unnecessary.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Mahalo for your remarks and choosing to stay with us! We appreciate all you had to say and look forward to your return soon. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Address: 62-100 Kauna'oa Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Puako
#4 Business Hotel in Puako
#4 Spa Hotel in Puako
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#5 Family Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel offers luxury accommodations, an 18-hole golf course, spa services, and space for meetings and weddings. Gracious hospitality. Exceptional value. No mandatory resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Kamuela
Prince Hotel Hapuna Beach
Prince Hotel Island Of Hawaii
Hapuna Prince Hotel
Hapuna Beach Hotel
Island Of Hawaii Prince Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.