We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream Hawaiian resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Best prices from these 13 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel to your Saves list
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   62-100 Kauna'oa Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night FREE!
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Puako
GreenLeadersGold level
Volcano, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A dream Hawaiian resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Wife and I live on Windward Big Island. For our anniversary, we like to go over to the leeward side for a short holiday. The Hapuna Prince is located on the Kohala Coast, where it's almost always sunny. The Prince's beach is perfect mix of sun, sugary sand, gentle breezes, and everything a main lander dreams about. Accommodations are deluxe. Cuisine is scrumptious-ono. A fantastic resort and conveniently located to Kailua-Kona.

Room Tip: Rooms facing ocean are wonderful.
See more room tips
Green Features: They donate unused materials. Food is mostly organic and local.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We love welcoming kamaaina to our resort and we appreciate your business! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return to the sunny Kohala Coast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    789
    511
    113
    86
    43
See reviews for
271
719
39
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our stay at Hapuna Beach was fantastic. We stayed 6 nights, but we could have easily stayed longer. Despite the fact that we were there on a travelzoo voucher the staff upgraded us for our honeymoon, which was greatly appreciated. Our room was huge with a great lanai. Although it was a bit of a trek from the parking garage, our room had easy access to the grounds and pool. The staff were friendly and the service was quick. The location was amazing, the beach is gorgeous and the surf is fun for body boarding. It is definitely a relaxing getaway spot.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Congratulations on your marriage and mahalo for choosing to Honeymoon with us! We're delighted you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to your return to celebrate many anniversaries to come. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay area
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Being able to walk from our room down to the swimming pool and then out to one of the most beautiful beaches was really a treat! Being on Hapuna beach is the reason to stay at this hotel. We swam a few times every day.The water was easy to get into and it was never crowded. Lots of chairs and umbrellas. Our room was good size with a large bathroom, and we had a balcony with a partial ocean view. The rest of our view was of the landscaped grounds which were very pretty. Everything was clean and well taken care of. Views from the lobby and breakfast buffet were amazing. Really, a beautiful spot. I would recommend having a car so you can travel around, since the hotel is somewhat secluded. It is quiet at night. The Big Island was great, with so much to see and if you want to stay right on a beautiful beach stay here!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Mahalo for staying with us and for your wonderful comments. We are happy you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumont, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

If you are looking for a getaway, in a beautiful location, with amenities to suit any style, this is your place.
Off the beaten path, you can find peace and serenity, if that's what you're looking for.
If you are in need of easy access to beach make sure you request that when booking. The layout of the buildings can be a hike for those with small children or mobility issues. The breakfast buffet is first rate. The staff, from the moment you walk in, is extraordinary. The concierge helped to plan activities prior to arriving, which was very helpful.
Evening dinners are a bit pricey. They charge for parking, a new, odd trend that I think is unnecessary.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Mahalo for your remarks and choosing to stay with us! We appreciate all you had to say and look forward to your return soon. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The best and most relaxing of our Big Island stops. Short walk to well-kept pool and splendid beach good for playing in waves and snorkeling. Our best oceanfront dinner during this trip was at Coast Grille--flawlessly prepared, great view, quiet feel. Walked over to Manta at the Mauna Kea for a pricier, not quite as nice dinner, but seeing the manta rays was memorable. Plenty of space everywhere, uncrowded, not much happening, in a good way. Spacious room and bath with dated fixtures. Garage parking keeps car out of sun. Royal palm walk above lobby was the best spot on the island we found for stargazing--the whole area is dark and quiet, and the Mauna Kea visitor's center was packed with people. Though our room was high above the beach and the view of the ocean was partly blocked by other buildings, the sound of the waves lapping up on the beach made our room wonderfully relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed your visit and that you enjoyed the serenity of our resort. Thank you for staying with us and return soon! Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiba, Japan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed her for 3 nights for 30th marriage anniversary. The ocean view from 9th floor was just excellent specially at sunrise and sunset. We were so relaxed and everything was more than I expected. I am sure I will stay here next time I come to Kona.again. .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Owner at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Congratulations on your 30th anniversary and mahalo for celebrating your special occasion with us! We look forward to your return soon. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had a 2 night stay at the Hapuna Prince after hitting the VNP on the eastern side of the Big Island. The hope is that we would relax for the last 2 days of our vacation after wearing ourselves out in Hilo. We were not disappointed!
The lobby has a spectacular view. Room was big with very comfortable beds. Beach and pool were both fantastic. Restaurants had very good food, even the pool bar restaurant. Staff were great. Most importantly, the price was outstanding for the quality of this hotel.
We arrived on a Tuesday morning and learned that the Mauna Kea Hotel (the sister hotel) has a Luau every Tuesday night. We booked it and the hotel provided a shuttle to the sister hotel. The Luau was fantastic, the food was very good and the family thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.
We did not have a single complaint about the hotel, other than our stay was too short.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaunaKeaResort, Manager at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed everything from your room to the food to the beach...and the Mauna Kea luau. We look forward to your return for a longer stay in the near future. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel

Address: 62-100 Kauna'oa Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Puako
#4 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#4 Business Hotel in Puako
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#4 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#4 Spa Hotel in Puako
#5 Family Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel offers luxury accommodations, an 18-hole golf course, spa services, and space for meetings and weddings. Gracious hospitality. Exceptional value. No mandatory resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Kamuela
Prince Hotel Hapuna Beach
Prince Hotel Island Of Hawaii
Hapuna Prince Hotel
Hapuna Beach Hotel
Island Of Hawaii Prince Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.