We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the Best!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii to your Saves list
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5th Night Free
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Puako
Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“the Best!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2007

What a GREAT experience! This place has it all! We stayed for four nights mid-January, and everything was perfect. Many food choices, including a walk (or short drive), to a Tommy Bahama's Tropical Cafe and a Ruth's Chris Steakhouse in a nearby, and developing, upscale shopping center.
The beach was just enough with plenty of chairs and towels, and drinks or food available there also. If you prefer, you can lay by the huge pool, or walk along the water and sit or lay on the grass or in a hammock. You can snorkel in the bay with sea turtles that crawl out onto a rocky beach in the afternoon to rest, surf or take off in the resort's boat for whale watching, or fishing.
Palm trees and tiki lights abound on the property, creating a very romantic environment, even for us, travelling with our two adult children, which incidentally was one of the few places to stay on the Kona coast with four people in a room (which was extremely large).
When we return to Kona, we'll definetely stay here again. (One note...a couple of houses are being constructed on adjacent property to the south of the Orchid...they are about 3/4 complete...so for the next few months, I'd ask for a room that does NOT face in that direction since some light construction sounds can be heard in the mornings).

  • Liked — Location, food, service.
  • Disliked — Construction nearby.
  • Stayed January 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,280
    578
    191
    89
    26
See reviews for
554
1,074
28
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2007

My boyfriend and I are in our 20's and the first thing I noticed is how quiet this resort is! Initially jolting, it quickly became extraordinarily relaxing and very romantic... which was our goal. Although it was at 100% capacity, it not once appeared that way.

As sushi lovers, we ate twice at Norio's - the service was fantastic, and the food was very good. Breakfast was always great at the Orchid Court. Word to the wise, if you're late dinner eaters like us, you'll run into problems... we were ALWAYS the last ones at the restaurants... at 9:30-10.

Skip on the whale tour unless you hit a cloudy day like we did and then I suppose you're limited on the other tours. The Mauna Kea tour is a little too long for my liking (about 4 hours of driving!) but once you're up there, it's absolutely worth it - even just to watch the sunset. If nothing else, DO the Blue Hawaiian helicopter tour of the island!! Do the 7am one as it's the absolute clearest. Nothing else compares.. the price is steep but if you can, it's more than worth every penny.

Another don't miss is the spa without walls... near the waterfalls is the most perfect setup for a couples massage.

Wish I could do it all over again... enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2007

We spent 7 nights at the Orchid at the beginning of January. The facilities are clean and nice, even if the decor is a little scattered- perhaps a result of the rebranding a previous reviewer mentioned. The food was very good at some spots (Brown's and the beach and poolside bars that pull their menus from Brown's) and not so hot at others (the Grill). Service was consistently wonderful at breakfast, then spotty at lunch and terrible at the beach. Housekeeping was downright rude (knocking at 9am to ask if we were leaving yet; neglecting to clean rooms altogether some days), and room service could have managed expectations better (promising cookies in 15 minutes, but delivering them in 60). Valet service was great, as were the concierge and reception staff. The beach is essentially a lagoon frequented by families and fish- pretty and full of activity. I appreciated that there were always plenty of beach and pools chairs available, and there weren't towel limits or silly check-out systems. My biggest complaint- the gym was always packed between 5am and 11am, so it was impossible to get a treadmill.

I would say that the Orchid roughly met my expectations for the price (about $360 per night).

  • Liked — beautiful location
  • Disliked — crowded gym; rude housekeeping; dinner at the Grill gave my husband stomach flu that was circulating among staff
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2006

I didn't know what to expect when I booked a room at the Fairmont Orchid, but it was all I could hope for and then some. It was originally a Ritz-Carlton, and it shows in the construction and design of the property. Everything is well-appointed, and there are good views every where you turn.

This is a great experience for someone hoping for four-star treatment. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the grounds are very well kept. If you're looking for five-star, you're not going to get it here (try the Four Seasons instead), but the experience is still great for the price.

The beach is not that impressive, but the water views are. I wish I would have had one of the ocean side massages I had read so much about... the property even has signs near these areas that tell people to keep their cell phones shut off. Brown's Restaurant is incredible and is the best food I've had in Hawaii. The breakfast buffet is a good value, and the outdoor seating is lovely on one of Hawaii's many beautiful days.

My one major problem with the Orchid was with the room service, which we ordered after coming in from our long flight. The food was supposed to be delivered in 45 minutes but ended up coming more than an hour and a half after we ordered it.

If I return to the Big Island, I will know who to call!

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2006

Well, we were booked at the Hapuna and based on Tripadvisor reviewers, at the last minute we moved to the Orchid...great move!!! Tawna in reservations booked our stay for us, but at the same time I saw that Classic Vacations had a 5th night free, so the Orchid said to book with Classic and all of my requests would be carried over. Worked flawlessly! Great food at Browns (ate there twice), good room in the North Tower (upgraded to a better view of the ocean, but the Wedding waterfall is incredibly loud...right across from our room, runs 24/7 full steam, unbelievably loud...had to sleep with earplugs every night), very, very nice employees, extremely clean rooms and upkeep. We had no complaints, and will definitely be back. We'd been looking for a "cheaper" replacement for the Four Seasons Hualalai because it's gotten so incredibly expensive, and this is definitely the place. Literally half the $$$, it has a beach, good food and drinks...this is the place! By the way, I don't know why they call the green sea turtles "endangered"; there were always 11-16 of those suckers up on the rocks sunning themselves! We cannot wait to come back.

  • Liked — Great beach access, with nice room and pool and restaurants.
  • Disliked — Too many kids!
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a coffee-maker in your room (free) and use Brown's Deli, or shop at Waikoloa shops for provisions and snacks.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2006

We spent 3 nights at the Orchid. The site is great. The beach is small but very nice (you can snorkel from the beach and look for sea turtles and other amazing fish). The food is outstanding: try the Kobe steak at The Grill: fantastic!
Rooms are great and very clean: cannot ask for better!
Don't miss this place!

  • Liked — The site, the location, the food
  • Disliked — None
  • Tips/Secrets — Kobe steak at the Grill!!! Don't miss it.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, VA
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2006

I was at the Orchid Nov 7-11 for a medical conference that was 5 miles north. The thing that impressed me most was the casual elegance and beauty of the place. I've stayed at a lot of Hawaii hotels on other islands and many are either glitzy (like the Hilton properties on the Big Island or on Oahu) or drab.

When I got there they only had double beds but moved me the next day to a ground level room that looked out over a garden near the tennis courts. The staff was great including room service. The pool and oceanside were fantastic with a choice of lounging poolside, looking out over the ocean, laying on the small beach with a swimming lagoon, or hanging out at the bar/ restaurant. They have a deli near the pool if you don't want to spend a lot of money on meals. There were a number of families there as well as couples and corporate types.

The weather was sunny and nice every day. I think this location doesn't get much rain. It did get very windy (30 mph gusts) one night.

The self-parking lot is the worst part of the place. It's stuck on the side near a loading dock and some dumpsters. Valet parking at $15 is the way to go.

For good rates try booking via Costco Travel. Also, if you don't like spending a lot on breakfast at a resort there is a Starbucks just a few minutes drive near the main highway.

A few things I didn't realize about the Big Island:
--everything is a half hour drive or more from the resorts on this part of the island. We went into downtown Kona one night to experience some night life and it took about 40 min. Cabs are very expensive from the resort to town ($70). It was good that my colleague Greg wasn't drinking that night.
--if you drive yourself to the Orchid at night from the airport get detailed instructions as there is no signs off the main highway and it's very dark (like driving in Montana).
--it's very volcanic and doesn't have as much tropical ambience as the other major islands. If you like lava rocks you will love this place--it looks like Mars at some spots.
--when you leave get to the airport at Kona early if you are flying to the mainland as they can't handle more than one flight at a time without hour long lines for tickets and security.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puako
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#3 Spa Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children’s program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.