We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairmont Orchid - July 2014” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii to your Saves list
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5th Night Free
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Puako
Tracy, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fairmont Orchid - July 2014”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Nice property. Excellent pillows! We were not allowed an early check-in even though the couple we were with was allowed. Cocktails are over-priced and frankly not very good.Grounds were pretty, beach was nice but small. Food prices were good at the small coffee shop, but all other options were too high. We had to request a room change because they tried to give us one next to the elevator. The "really nice room" they changed us to had a lousy view.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Aloha Dennis H, thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is concerning that we failed to meet your expectations; please accept our apology that your experience was not completely satisfactory. Should your travels bring you back to Hawaii Island in the future, we hope you will return so that we may have an opportunity to restore your confidence in The Fairmont Orchid and Fairmont Hotels and Resorts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    580
    193
    89
    26
See reviews for
557
1,078
28
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed there for three days and wish it were more. This Resort is beautiful. The Staff is beyond excellent. Turtles come onto the Beach every afternoon to Sun and sleep. Food was also excellent with exceptional staff there also. While there were kids, and very well mannered ones at that, this is really a resort of couples IMO. I understand that this used to be a Four Seasons or Ritz and I believe it.

Room Tip: I always prefer a high room with a view of the pool. Personal preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Aloha Stricks, thank you so much for your wonderful review. Please come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We just love it we don't want to leave. Set on the dryer side of the island, with a beautiful little cove for swimming and snorkelling in, turtles sunbathing nearby, manta rays showing off at night- the location is just spot on. About half an hour away from kona airport it is about a mile away from a few shops which there is a shuttle to if you don't have a car. Only downside is $25 a day resort charge but that does include the shuttle, parking for one car, snorkel hire for 1 hour per day plus other bits. The sun loungers are plentiful and cabanas are available for hire. Deli on site is reasonably priced and does for breakfast and lunch and dinner is available and although a little pricey is great food. If we could afford to we'd come back every year.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Aloha, thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted that didn't want to leave, and hope you will return soon. Be sure to sign up at Fairmont.com for the Fairmont President's Club to receive information about special promotions, and we welcome you to inquire with our reservation team anytime about future availability and rates. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The Fairmont Orchid for us (family with two kids 6 and 9) was perfect. We were never out of things to do. Our room on the 3rd floor was perfect no issues. The resort itsself is beautiful and well kept. Ping Pong at the pool is fun BUT hot. The food was OK but not great, for a good night away from the resort try to get to Tommy Bahamas restaurant at the mall near the resort we went twice as it was the best food we had all week. The Island was cloudy for most of our stay, however NOT over the Fairmont as it was always sunny and hot. We found the price to eat and drink on the resort a little high, however everywhere you go on the Island seems expensive. For us the Bay on the resort is where we played the most, snorkeling and paddle boarding. We did the UmaUma Zipline adventure and I would highly recommend this adventure its perfect for families with kids. Try to get to Hapuna state park, its about 7 minutes down hwy 19 and its a blast the waves are great bring a body board you will play all day.

We will be back that's for sure, our kids loved it. See you next year Fairmont Orchid.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Aloha Steve4020, thank you staying with us! We are very pleased to know that you and your family had a great vacation on Hawaii Island, and excited that you plan to return next year. We look forward to your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I spent a wonderful week at the Fairmont Orchid. The location is fabulous, but my applause does not stop there. I took advantage of the Walls Without Walls on my first full day there. I can't think of a better way to start a vacation but to have almost two hours of luxurious spa attention (I had a massage and a facial treatment) just mere feet from the ocean. Brown's Beach House serves terrific food (and large portions) with an unobscured view of the ocean and those magnificent sunsets. The staff is very kind and cordial. My ocean view room was out of this world and quiet. I visited in early July when the hotel wasn't too crowded. I understand from speaking to hotel staff that occupancy can increase over the course of the summer, but early July was, well, paradise at the Fairmont Orchid. I wish I had discovered the Luana Lounge sooner in my stay as I had a great "small meal" at the bar the night before I left. The Hale Kai restaurant has an outside bar area that presents a tremendous view and an ocean breeze. The Hale Kai also serves as the bar area for the pool, but I never felt crowded by folks at the pool that came to get beverages. In a nutshell, the Fairmont Orchid is just a lovely, lovely place. I plan on returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Oregon
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed at Orchid for five nights with older daughter and teenage son. Great location with just the right amount of activites. Having both a nice pool area as well as the ocean beach area offered nice variety. Service was great across the board. Rooms were nice, bathrooms terrific with tub and separate shower. As others have said nice view from every room. Grounds are immaculate and while its a big resort it has an intimate feel to it, unlike the Hilton up the road. Breakfast buffet in the morning as part of our package was a big plus. Lots of variety and food was great. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms have at least good views of beautifully landscaped grounds and many have at least partial...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

They got this one right, from the design of the site and grounds to the layout and design of rooms and public spaces, execution is successful throughout. It helps that they enjoy one of the best locations along this coast. If you have not been to the area yet, it's a bit disconcerting viewing the landscape you pass through from the airport, empty and hot lava fields (the road itself is part of the annual ironman challenge course). Once on-property, it's quite a different world with lush grounds and a generally breezy expansive ocean exposure.
Everything about the property seems solid and well done, including dining options. The breakfast buffet is among the best we have found, a slight annoyance being the number of birds waiting around to sneak a bit from your plate (kids loved hem at first but even they grew tired).
There is a good selection of lunch and evening dining options, all solid and somewhat on the costly side, I guess this being not such a surprise. One hint if you want something lighter and sort of a deal, the lounge offers quite a few items and some drinks one-half price between 8-10, really enough of a selection that we made this dinner twice (and it's a nice overlook patio location).
Snorkling, sunsets, sea turtles, etc all great, everyone will find things to like about the beach.

Room Tip: The main wings are perpendicular to the oceanfront so most room have an angled view. Rooms facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puako
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#3 Spa Hotel in Puako
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children’s program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.