We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property but bathroom needs more light ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii to your Saves list
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5th Night Free
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Puako
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great property but bathroom needs more light ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had a quiet room on the south side of the south wing. Our room was large and comfortable. The only problem was trying to shave in the dimly lit bathroom. Even the small light in the shaving mirror didn't help.

I appreciate the fact that fairmont lets you plug your own device into their TV and even supply a kit of adaptor cables but that kit doesn't include an HDMI cable (something I know so I always bring my own).

We really liked the pool being open all night enjoying late evening swims.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay, and appreciate your honest feedback and suggestions for improvement. Thank you for choosing to stay with us; we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    581
    193
    89
    26
See reviews for
558
1,078
28
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

They do a really nice job here and the staff works very hard. Thought the service was outstanding in all areas, valet, housekeeping and in the resturants.

Property is very well maintained and my room with a partial ocean view was clean and rather large. Beds were comfortable and linens were clean as well as crisp.

Bathroom was big...shower area had glass door. Pretty small but it was separate from the tub.

Big property so you'll do a fair amount of walking. Pool area was terrific, grassy areas available to park your lounge chair and just stare at the ocean. Private beach area nice...and looked like many young children were enjoying the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed at the Fairmont Orchid with our adult Kids for 2 nights just before New Years and felt totally pampered. All the staff were fantastic, the quality of the beds, bathrooms, amenities, grounds, services ALL were first rate. Only two criticisms 1) charging for wifi is just wrong - at the hotel rates charged, in this decade, it really leaves a bad taste to be" nickel and dimed". 2) the breakfast buffet seating system needs some tweaking. all kinds of tables are available and yet guests have to line up to be seated - can't the servers take your room info once you seat down????
Other then that - fabulous hotel, great restaurants, beautifully maintained grounds, pools, waterfalls, service oriented staff- loved it and would return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

After several amazing stays at the Fairmont Kea Lani in Wailea, Maui, we decided to try the Fairmont Orchid on the Big Island. The Fairmont Orchid is an elegantly appointed and well-maintained property in the Kohala Coast area of the Big Island. This part of the Big Island is very different from most of Maui; each of the resort areas are separated from each other by vast fields of a'a lava (we're talking miles of it) and you cannot walk from one area (such as Mauna Lani, where the Orchid and others are located) to another (such as Waikoloa Beach, where the Marriott is located).

Keeping that in mind, there is plenty to do in the Mauna Lani village area. In addition to the Fairmont, there are other resorts in the area, and there is a shopping center, The Shops at Mauna Lani, nearby. The hotel provides free shuttle service to and from The Shops.

Back to the hotel. The property itself is carefully maintained and the lobby and hallways are elegant. There are many inviting areas along the hallways set with couches and chairs; I saw many a tween enjoying time away from parents playing games on their cell phones and even a few reading actual books.

The Luana Lounge in the lobby area is a perfect location to enjoy a few cocktails and appetizers (you'll get used to the locals calling them pupus. I'm sure you will.) as you watch the sun set. The beachfront restaurants are very charming.

Many people have mentioned the lack of free WiFi, but if you simply join the Fairmont President's Club (which is free), WiFi and other amenities are included. The resort has also recently added WiFi service to the all-inclusive resort fee, in case you do not become a member of the President's Club.

The rooms have recently been renovated, and they are decorated in a cool, minimalist palette of neutral greys, beiges and pale blues. The bed was very comfortable. Our bathroom had a tub with a shower and a separate shower stall, making it very convenient for the two of us to get ready at the same time. Although we didn't spend much time on it, our partial-ocean view room had a great lanai. If you don't spring for an ocean view, you can always enjoy the sunset from the Luana Lounge.

While there isn't an adult pool, we were able to escape some of the hustle and bustle of the kiddies by sitting on the lawn closer to the ocean. The waiters at the pool are great and make you feel very well-attended to without being overbearing. We lucked out by having Chelsea two days in a row and she was just terrific.

Aside from the (small) protected lagoon that serves as the hotel's private beach, there are many small, private, quiet coves to be explored just to the left of the lagoon, and there is beach service at the first of the quiet areas. Take some time to walk along the beach trail and explore the ancient Hawaiian fish ponds that can be found all the way down to the Mauna Lani.

Room Tip: Rooms in the south tower are closer to the beach are.
See more room tips
Green Features: The Fairmont brand is committed to sustainable environmental practices.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We sincerely appreciate your kind compliments and lavish feedback about your overall experience. Mahalo for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have been going to Hawaii for 30 years & have done plenty of traveling with and without family. The Orchid is by far the best hotel on the Big Island. It is great for kids of all ages. I highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: South Tower with the North View. Great view and it is shaded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for your review and your wonderful recommendation. We truly value your feedback, and thank you for taking the time to share with others. Aloha!

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent the part of the Christmas holidays lounging at the Fairmont Orchid. The staff on the Gold Floor were exceptional, more than happy to help ensure you had a great stay and made you feel at home. The sunsets were unbelievable, breathtaking, eye popping and the best you can imagine. Enjoy! We did.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Fairmont Orchid. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay on Fairmont Gold. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Let me start of by saying you can go to McDonalds and get free wifi yet you can't get free wifi at a place you are paying $600 a night for? The property is very large and quite nice. Which is a good thing seeing how there is nothing to do nearby. Don't expect to come to this place and just be able to walk around the 'town' because this hotel is not near anything. The pictures on the website are very deceiving. The 'beach' that is there is very very small and not very nice. Thank god the pool is decent enough to make up for it. However, if you plan on going to the pool you pretty much need to get down at 8 am if you want to score yourself a deck chair. We stayed there for New Years and asked the concierge what was avaliable to do for the night. The only thing the hotel had organised was this party / dinner which cost $250 per person. While there are some restaurants on the complex, they always seem to be booked out.... for the entire night! It was practically impossible trying to find a place to eat dinner. On the last night we decided to go to Brown's Beach House. Don't let the name deceive you, this place is the full on white tablecloth expensive place. There was no meal less than $40. I got the $52 steak thinking surely steak this expensive will be nice. It was average. It was tiny and average with barely enough sauce to cover it. The staff was not very friendly and every time they came to refill my glass they would carelessly do it, spilling water all over the table and floor.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Aloha, and thank you for taking the time to post your review. It was concerning to learn that your stay was a disappointment. Please accept our sincere apologies that we failed to meet your expectations. Guest feedback is very important to us and your comments will be used to support our continuous improvement efforts. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#2 Business Hotel in Puako
#3 Spa Hotel in Puako
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children’s program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.