We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Puako
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic Resort!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We love Fairmont resorts and hotels and we (two adults, two kids) stayed there for four nights in August 2013. It's a great place. The pool is the best on the Big Island, open 24/7. It's really spread out nicely and even though the resort was busy we never had a problem getting a chair. The tennis facility is one of the best I've ever seen, complete with a "grand stand" court and a half dozen other courts. The most amazing thing about the resort, however, was its private beach cove. It was great to rent surf boards and paddle boards, and have the kids go out on calm protected waters. The best part was the snorkeling. There's a protected turtle sanctuary right there, and some of the turtles swim in the cove. They're massive and very social. It really made the experience. The rooms themselves were outstanding. I highly recommend this resort for a family vacation. We absolutely loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii. We are pleased to have been part of what sounds like a wonderful family vacation. Thank you for choosing to stay with us; we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,914 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,106
    526
    176
    81
    25
See reviews for
466
952
27
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern NJ
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in early September 2013. We booked directly through Fairmont and being a Fairmont Premier member, I had a "stay 3, get 1 night free" award and also a suite upgrade award, both which I was able to use for this trip. So the value of both together saved me quite a lot of money. I ended up paying less than $300 a night for an Suite, and then the hotel upgraded me further to a ocean view suite. Great deal!

Rooms: A-
Out suite was spacious with a great view. Bed was super comfy and there were nice lounge chairs out on the balcony. Bathroom was large (shower/tub and also separate stand up shower), however my only complaint was that I felt the bathroom could have been cleaned better. The shower door had some soap residue, and sections of the tile were not that clean.

Grounds: A+
Beautiful location on the island, and they keep the property looking fantastic. Beautiful flowers everywhere you turn, and great waterfalls. It's directly on the beach, so easy access to calm waters.

Pools: B-
The pool is very large and was heated. More than enough chairs when we were there however, there are only 3 umbrella's for the whole area! If you want shade, you have to cough up $55 ($45 for fairmont members) for a special sun lounger. This felt wrong to me. You shouldn't have to pay for shade at a luxury resort. They should make umbrella's available for those who want them at any time. My other complaint here is that they don't set up your chair for you (for a luxury resort, they should), and they hardly came around asking for drink orders. So felt service here was sort of lacking. If you want a cabana they are ocean side and cost more.

Spa: A+
Massive spa with a nice private outdoor/indoor waiting and relaxation area. And for only $10 more on each treatment, you can have your service done outside in the "waterfall" area. These were private cabana's surrounded my lush flowers and plants where you listened to waterfalls around you. Heaven! And my treatment (reflexology) was excellent.

Food: A
Only had breakfast and lunch at the resort, but found the food really good. Breakfast buffet or ordering off the menu gives you lots of options. And staff was super friendly.

Check-in: A
Quick and efficient. We had our keys in no time. And bags were brought to our room right away.

If I were to travel to the Big Island I would certainly choose the Fairmont. We did eat dinner at the Four Seasons and it looked lovely, but we saved so much at the Fairmont and still felt it was luxury.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the golf course are very quiet, on the right side of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and felt you received an excellent value for your suite. We appreciate hearing what you enjoyed about our resort, and also your suggestions for improvement. Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, we look forward to your next visit.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
a
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

pros
1. beautiful grounds and location. only the four seasons was better. the kohala coast was our favourite area of the big island. you will need a car to explore the island
2. lovely lagoon beach with tropical fish, turtles
3. old-style plantation building but still feels very elegant. bathroom fittings needed updating but rooms were pretty decent.
4. generally very friendly and professional staff

cons
1. nickel and diming at odds with their luxury brand. for instance, there is pretty much no shade at all around the beach and pool areas. they want guests to shell out for a cabana but really, no umbrellas at all? not even at the deli, am I going to buy a cabana just to eat my sandwich? or do I have to 'upgrade' to the restaurant?
2. dirty cutlery and glassware at breakfast. just bunging it in a dishwasher won't do it guys...
3. slightly kitsch waterfall that gushs unrelaxing noise 24/7 on the south wing
4. slightly threadbare linen (but very comfortable beds)
5. high food and spa costs didn't strike us as good value. the buffet breakfast was great though.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience at The Fairmont Orchid. It is gratify to hear that we met or exceeded your expectations in many areas. Your suggestions for improvements are also appreciated and will definitely be used to support our continuous improvement efforts. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
380 helpful votes 380 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Unexpected because we were booked at the Four Seasons and while talking to the concierge, she let us know their was a corporate group for 4 days of our trip...we cancelled and called the Fairmont.
We stayed at the Fairmont for 12 nights (2nd stay, first time was 13 years ago) in the South tower 3rd floor ocean view room (2nd room from oceanfront so great view). We liked the 3rd floor b/c the only time we had to take an elevator was to the pool, everything else was on the 3rd floor. The room was very quiet (never heard a neighbor) average on design (recently remodeled, except the mattress, they need to change it since it had 2 major dips on each side of the king) large balcony, large TV, great 2x a day maid service...the room was spotless, lots of closet/hangers space and drawers for clothes, refrigerator held 10 bottles of water (we bought). Even though the room was average, it was half the cost of the room we booked at the 4S so...it was absolutely fine.
Valet- was great when returning back to the hotel, but we suggest when you want to leave the hotel to call the valet desk and they will have your car waiting, we saw couples that didn't and waited awhile.
Capacity and clientele- during our stay employees told us the hotel was between 50-60% full, a great time to vacation. It was very quiet, not many kids at all, mainly couples over 30 yrs old, hetero and gay friendly, everyone seemed laid back ( loved it!).
Beach- perfect for learning to swim, snorkeling ( we saw turtles, 9-10 varieties of fish), SUP, and relaxing, they had cabanas near the beach for only $35 or tons of free shade under palm trees. For advanced snorkelers or divers...sure the snorkeling isn't fabulous as other beaches but for a resort type beach, it sufficed. There also is a bar at the beach.
Pool- huge warm pool, always chairs available for those late risers...some complained about not enough umbrellas, yes there are only 6-7... But again, free shade under palm trees surround the pool. We rented a Holipuna for $150/ day, 2 padded chairs, 2 regular chairs set up outside the Holipuna, huge covered area, say 10x10?, a basket of water and snacks came with it. They also have cabanas around the pool and ocean for $45-$55/ day. If you want a Holipuna, call in advance since there are only 3 of them. Number 1-2 get sun and shade and 3 gets all shade and is best for a family since it was a grassy area in front for kids to play. Well worth the money! Always tons of towels available and the "pool boys/girls" are very helpful.
Pool service and bartenders- the biggest difference we noticed in this area comparing to other hotels we stay at in the category...they need retrained or fired. Not just painfully slow ( again, not busy time of year, end of August- beginning of September), they are NOT interested in any communication with guests. Every day we ate lunch at the pool bar, the bartenders made good drinks but so unfriendly and so slow. The waitresses around the pool, the same. We usually spend $2000 between drinks, food, tips during a 12 day at the pool and on this trip we only spent $900. They are not motivated by tips nor care about giving good service, we don't think they like their jobs. It was ALMOST funny.
Service elsewhere- fabulous! Everyone we encountered from the manager to the janitor was polite, how are you..., anything I can do for you...very accommodating, friendly and professional.
Other tips- SPA was awesome, during our stay they had a couples oceanfront massage for $399. The in-room dining options were extensive. You can have a romantic dinner in the gazebo oceanfront for $400 incl. champagne and wine. They have picnic baskets to take on road trips. They have lifestyle menus for Diabetics, GF, low sodium, etc...all the restaurants including the pool bar. For a special night you can have them "make room for romance" for $163, they put candles, a flower path to the bed and a flowered lei on the bed, robes, slippers, chocolate covered strawberries and champagne( sparkling wine), book they the concierge. You can have flowers and a cake delivered to the room upon arrival for $180. They have a torch lighting ceremony every night at sunset. The boutique is open 9-5 and has great swimsuits. The gym was extensive for a resort gym, total workouts can be done, towels, water, headsets, even gym clothes if you forget yours. Beautiful grounds. Free daily activities and some paid like yoga. Convenient to Foodland. Free shuttle to/from 24 hrs a day. No resort fee! Free wifi with President Club.
We will absolutely stay at the Fairmont again. I think if you pay under $400/ night you will love it. Anything more and I'd expect a nicer room...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you so much for your amazing review. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just returned from a great trip to Maui and Hawaii (Big Island). Stayed at the Fairmont Kea Lani in Maui 8/28- 9/3 and the Fairmont Orchid in Hawaii 9/3 - 9/8. Both hotels are top of the line. I would wholeheartedly recommend both. However, they are different, and the differences are greatly based on the differences of the islands. Looks like I have to review them separately.
The Fairmont Orchid is on the Kohala Coast area of the Big Island, about a 30 minute drive north from the Kona Airport. What amazed me was the landscape on the drive...barren, arid, with piles of lava as far as you can see. I could not imagine a hotel existing anywhere in the midst of that desolation. Pleasantly surprised to find the hotel in what appeared to be an oasis close to the ocean. There is a small shopping center close by. First impressions on the grounds...the most lush I've ever seen....plants, flowers, fountains, waterfalls...just a delight to the eyes. Also, the woodwork throughout the hotel was just beautiful, and the most amazing flower arrangements. If you are walking the grounds with a camera, it is impossible to not stop and take photographs. Nice pool, but only one. Our room was not a suite, as in the Fairmont Maui, but we were right on the beach. Room had a nice bathroom with higher flow faucets and oversized shower heads, refrigerator, and Keurig coffee maker (as did the Fairmont Maui). The bed was firmer...more to our liking. Speaking of the beach, I would rate it as an over-sized lilly pond...very small lagoon with no surf. The beach area was the only downer to me. If you want a real beach, drive north a few miles to Hapuna Beach State Park...one of the top beaches on the Big Island. By the way, all the beaches in Hawaii are public beaches. This hotel also has bicycles for guests, but if you bike, go early. It was very warm in September....high 80's to low 90's. If you want to cool off, take a drive to the Mauna Kea summit to watch the sun set and do some star gazing. Take warm clothing, however, as it was windy and about 50 degrees! I recommend the hotel's guided walking tour of the petroglyphs. You will learn much about the Hawaiian culture and history. It's at 8:00 AM and lasts about two hours. We had dinner at Brown's Beach House Restaurant....one of the highest rated on the island. Food and service was outstanding. Our returning flight to the mainland was at 9:00 PM, as are most returning flights. The hotel was gracious enough to let us have the room at a very reasonable day rate on our last day. This was truly a blessing. There are attractions close by, but others are a lengthy drive...as on Maui. We put about 500 miles on our car in six days. If we ever return to the Big Island, I would not hesitate to stay here again...a very enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii. We are so pleased to know that you especially enjoyed our beautiful landscaping, guest room amenities, and Brown’s Beach House Restaurant. We very much look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My family stayed here in August 2013 (2 adults and 1 teen boy). Loved everything about this resort. Staff warm, friendly and helpful Entire resort area clean, beautifully decorated. I loved the overall design of resort. Pool and beach area clean and awesome!! Dining wonderful if not a bit expensive. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. One drawback located quite a bit away from other sites on island, but it is a beautiful island to drive around on.

Room Tip: Choose a room over looking ocean and garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you so much for your review. It is very gratifying to hear that you loved everything about our resort! We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon!

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here several times. The place is fantastic. Fairmont takes care of business. Great location, nice rooms, nice people. Two beach bars nice pool nice beach. No complaints. Free Internet with free presidents club membership.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for your kind review and for your confidence in Fairmont Hotels and Resorts. We look forward to your return.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
#2 Business Hotel in Puako
#3 Green Hotel in Puako
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#3 Spa Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children’s program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.