We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawaii - Tale of Two Fairmonts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii to your Saves list
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save 30%
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Western Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hawaii - Tale of Two Fairmonts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just returned from a great trip to Maui and Hawaii (Big Island). Stayed at the Fairmont Kea Lani in Maui 8/28- 9/3 and the Fairmont Orchid in Hawaii 9/3 - 9/8. Both hotels are top of the line. I would wholeheartedly recommend both. However, they are different, and the differences are greatly based on the differences of the islands. Looks like I have to review them separately.
The Fairmont Orchid is on the Kohala Coast area of the Big Island, about a 30 minute drive north from the Kona Airport. What amazed me was the landscape on the drive...barren, arid, with piles of lava as far as you can see. I could not imagine a hotel existing anywhere in the midst of that desolation. Pleasantly surprised to find the hotel in what appeared to be an oasis close to the ocean. There is a small shopping center close by. First impressions on the grounds...the most lush I've ever seen....plants, flowers, fountains, waterfalls...just a delight to the eyes. Also, the woodwork throughout the hotel was just beautiful, and the most amazing flower arrangements. If you are walking the grounds with a camera, it is impossible to not stop and take photographs. Nice pool, but only one. Our room was not a suite, as in the Fairmont Maui, but we were right on the beach. Room had a nice bathroom with higher flow faucets and oversized shower heads, refrigerator, and Keurig coffee maker (as did the Fairmont Maui). The bed was firmer...more to our liking. Speaking of the beach, I would rate it as an over-sized lilly pond...very small lagoon with no surf. The beach area was the only downer to me. If you want a real beach, drive north a few miles to Hapuna Beach State Park...one of the top beaches on the Big Island. By the way, all the beaches in Hawaii are public beaches. This hotel also has bicycles for guests, but if you bike, go early. It was very warm in September....high 80's to low 90's. If you want to cool off, take a drive to the Mauna Kea summit to watch the sun set and do some star gazing. Take warm clothing, however, as it was windy and about 50 degrees! I recommend the hotel's guided walking tour of the petroglyphs. You will learn much about the Hawaiian culture and history. It's at 8:00 AM and lasts about two hours. We had dinner at Brown's Beach House Restaurant....one of the highest rated on the island. Food and service was outstanding. Our returning flight to the mainland was at 9:00 PM, as are most returning flights. The hotel was gracious enough to let us have the room at a very reasonable day rate on our last day. This was truly a blessing. There are attractions close by, but others are a lengthy drive...as on Maui. We put about 500 miles on our car in six days. If we ever return to the Big Island, I would not hesitate to stay here again...a very enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank khsinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii. We are so pleased to know that you especially enjoyed our beautiful landscaping, guest room amenities, and Brown’s Beach House Restaurant. We very much look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
new jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My family stayed here in August 2013 (2 adults and 1 teen boy). Loved everything about this resort. Staff warm, friendly and helpful Entire resort area clean, beautifully decorated. I loved the overall design of resort. Pool and beach area clean and awesome!! Dining wonderful if not a bit expensive. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. One drawback located quite a bit away from other sites on island, but it is a beautiful island to drive around on.

Room Tip: Choose a room over looking ocean and garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jak526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you so much for your review. It is very gratifying to hear that you loved everything about our resort! We hope you will come back and stay with us again soon!

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here several times. The place is fantastic. Fairmont takes care of business. Great location, nice rooms, nice people. Two beach bars nice pool nice beach. No complaints. Free Internet with free presidents club membership.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kadie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for your kind review and for your confidence in Fairmont Hotels and Resorts. We look forward to your return.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We spent one night here in August. We were passing through on our way to somewhere else, so we did not get to experience everything this resort has to offer. With that in mind, here are our thoughts.

Pros:
Lovely grounds, especially the gardens
Interesting things nearby, like the Pukao Petroglyphs
Interesting public areas
A spacious and clean room (Garden View)
A generously sized and well-equipped bathroom
Professional and helpful staff
A quiet atmosphere.

Cons:
Dirty glasses and cutlery at breakfast (a pet hate of ours)
A number of food options running short at breakfast
Fresh towels stored in the toilet cubicle - why?
No slippers to go with the robe
Used towels and drink containers by the pool at midnight (even if the pool is open around the clock, it's still not a good look).

This hotel somehow felt more American than Hawaiian to us. Also, there was just a vague feeling that no-one was going to take too much trouble with us when we were only staying a single night. But while it's not quite up there with the best hotels we've stayed in, we would have been happy to stay a little longer.

Special recommendation: enjoy a late-night walk though the gardens, visit the petroglyphs early before it gets too hot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duckbattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our lovely grounds, helpful and professional staff and quiet atmosphere.

Please accept our apology for the shortcomings you experienced; your valuable feedback will be used to improve in those areas where we fell short. Should your travels bring you back to Hawaii Island in the future, I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The last time I stayed here the property was a Ritz-Carlton, and had a different feel to it, more ultra-luxe. But we had no real complaints about the room or the service. The bed was awesomely comfortable (although sheets with unraveling threads seemed bizarre for a hotel of this quality), the room was clean and well-appointed, and all staff that we encountered were very pleasant.

We're going to have to contact the management, however, about passing off "Kona Blend" coffee as Kona at the breakfast buffet. We asked what kind of coffee they were serving and our waiter answered, "Kona." I pressed a bit, asking if it was real, 100% Kona and he said no, it was a Kona blend. I told him he really shouldn't be claiming it's Kona then, since Kona blend is only 10% Kona and 90% low-quality coffee from somewhere else . . . and his reply was that, well, it says "Kona" on the package. No excuse for that, at all, especially on the island where our great Kona coffee is grown!

We very much enjoyed walking the shoreline trail to have dinner at the Canoe House at the Mauna Lani. This twilight saunter, with the new moon rising, was memorable - especially when we almost stumbled over a huge honu resting in the middle of the narrow trail!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wahineokawaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is our 3rd stay at this amazing hotel in this year. Service always excellent, got upgraded to a suite on the south wing with a garden view. Room was always cleaned well everyday, also in the evening when we went out to dinner. Came back to the room with ice and bottled water waiting for us. We loved the heated pool, and the cabanas at poolside was a great finishing touch. We dined at Norio's there at the property, kind of pricey but overall we enjoyed the experience. The valet's were always great, we had an ADA suite and had handicap parking which we didn't have to pay for daily parking rates. Although this trip we weren't greeted by anyone at the entrance with kukui nut leis as we have always had on our previous visits there. They probably were too busy for that but not a big deal. We really enjoyed the property as always, awesome views, quiet atmosphere, good service, and friendly staff. I would recommend the Fairmont Orchid to anyone that needs a quiet getaway whether for couples or families. I would say they lived up to their 4 star rating...AAAA++++

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for choosing The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii for your stay-cation! We appreciate your loyalty and support and thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have to admit I was a bit biased before our stay here, as we had stayed at the Mauna Kea on our last visit to the Big Island and loved it. But, we found a really great deal through Delta Vacations so decided to stay here instead. We stayed for 3 nights over Labor Day weekend, which turned out to be a great time to visit as the hotel seemed seemed about half full as (I'm guessing) most kids were already back in school.

Pros:
-Room was clean, recently renovated, and very quiet
-Our "Garden View" room was a view of the golf course and partial ocean view (see photos)
-Great service all around, helpful and friendly staff
-We requested and got a late checkout of 2pm
-Good location, lots of restaurant options nearby
-Beautiful grounds with lots of walking paths

Cons:
-We had meals at Hale Kai, Norio's and through room service... food was not that great.
-Hallways and some buildings could use updating
-The beach cove is pretty small

Although the Mauna Kea is still my favorite, the Fairmont is a solid choice at the right price.

Room Tip: Our "Garden View" room had a great view of the golf course and a partial ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puako
4.5 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
1.8 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.6 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
12.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#3 Green Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children's program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Jetsetter and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing