We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property but service needs improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii to your Saves list
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5th Night Free
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Puako
Coral Gables, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful property but service needs improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the Fairmont after a 4 night stay at the St. Regis in Kauai, which I considered to be an amazing hotel. I was expecting the same of the Fairmont after reading all of the reviews. The Fairmont Orchid is a beautiful property. The view of the ocean and surrounding mountains takes your breath away. The room was nice but nothing like the St. Regis room. I think the Fairmont used to be a Ritz and the rooms are your standard cookie cutter room. Our first night, we dined at the Japanese restaurant at the hotel. The sushi was delicious and the drinks were very yummy. I highly recommend this restaurant. We had the breakfast buffet every morning. The food selection was okay but the service was lacking. I think the restaurant was understaffed. I also found the service at the pool to be a problem. There was only one waiter at lunchtime! This is unacceptable, I felt sorry for the waiter. A hotel of this kind should have at least 2-3 pool waiters. Another issue, they stop handing out towels at 6 p.m. If you need one, you are told to look for the storage cabinet somewhere around the pool. Really? Dinner at Brown's was very good. The view of the sunset at dinner is worth the hefty price tag. But, the truth is that all food prices at the resorts we stayed at were high. I want to give a shout out to Rachel, who helped us arrange our dining and day trips. Overall, the hotel was nice but don't expect top tier service, which is why I give it 4 stars.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and for choosing The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii during your recent trip to Hawaii. We are truly sorry that overall your stay failed to meet your expectations. Your feedback is important to us, and provides valuable information to support our continuous improvement efforts. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your dining experiences at Norio’s and Brown’s Beach House. Thank you again for your feedback. I hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back and restore your confidence.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,265
    575
    191
    89
    26
See reviews for
550
1,062
28
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We've been visiting the Orchid each fall for the past several years. We've always been treated extremely well by the staff. The property is beautiful and dinner at Brown's outstanding. There is great snorkeling around the reef, just outside the little sheltered cove. We'll be back this fall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you so much for your kind review and for choosing to stay with us again. We are excited to know you will be returning again this Fall and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puako, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is amazing, we have had the absolute best stay. The staff never say no and are able to cater to your every whim.

We have enjoyed the amenities on site and also all of the dining options. We had one incident with the restaurant Brown's and the problem was corrected immediately and beyond our satisfaction.

We highly recommend Norio's Japanese Steakhouse, they have the best sushi ever. The staff were very knowledgable and the sushi rolls were mind blowing. If you stay at the hotel or are even nearby you should definitely come to this restaurant, it is truly an amazing experience.

Room Tip: The ocean view or partial ocean view rooms seem to be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

After staying at the fairmont kei lani on maui and having a negative experience, I was scared to arrive at another fairmont. The orchid is truly exceptional. I am so picky on where I will stay, and this was truly a winner. Can not think of anything negative. Beautiful property, rooms so newly decorated, the carpet smelled new. Beautiful beach for snorkeling, saw huge selection of fish and turtles not even 2 minutes into it. Friendliness of staff was unsurpassed. After staying at aulani in Oahu, which was fabulous, but very expensive, if I return to hawaii, I would spend my entire week at the orchid. It was quiet, and gave us the experience we were really in hawaii! Would highly recommend for people with very high standards for their stay, not just on the hotel and amenities, but for a clean and up to date room,

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My family and I visited from Sydney in July staying 2 nights in the Fairmont Gold section. What a shame we didn't stay for longer. From the moment we arrive we treated like royalty. From the valet parking, to the check in, everything added to the experience. Then we got to our room. What a lovely room and even a little gift for our infant to make her feel welcome. BTW, she still has the little toy. The pool was refreshing, the food great, the gardens were beautiful. The two highlights were the amazing sunset and swimming in the lagoon with the Hawaiian Green Sea Turtles. An amazing experience that we will never forget. Thank you to the staff who made us feel so welcomed. We will see you again, hopefully sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: Gold Section is a little bit more, but certainly worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I were looking for an upscale beach wedding in Hawaii, and we found the perfect spot at the Fairmont Orchid on the Kohala Coast. We had never been to the hotel or island before our actual wedding. Ashley our wedding planner made everything possible. From the moment we picked this hotel as our official site, Ashley walked us through everything we needed to know with ease. We were greeted with leis, upgraded to an ocean view suite, tropical fruit delivered to our room, all of our packages arrived safely in our room, our wedding attire was steamed, and everything was completely set up for us. The staff was extremely nice and willing to do what ever we needed, including sending all of our items back to the mainland after our wedding since we were taking off on our honeymoon.
We were married on the beach at sunset with a cocktail reception following the ceremony. Our guests loved having cocktails and food as the sun was setting (Ashely's idea) We were also able to enjoy our guests right after the ceremony instead of being rushed off to take pictures somewhere. The backdrop couldn't have been more breathtaking. We have the most amazing pictures from the pure beauty of the island. We chose to have an indoor sit down dinner reception in case it rained. The food was exquisite and fresh. Everything the island has to offer, white sand, black lava rock, palm trees and crystal blue water.
The best part of the trip was being able to be with all of our family and friends at the same hotel. We especially loved the lagoon beach that had so many sea turtles. We can't wait to go back and celebrate our anniversary.

Room Tip: It's always nice to have an ocean view when you are on a beach. The garden rooms looked out ont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Aloha,

Congratulations on your marriage, and thank you for choosing The Fairmont Orchid for this very special occasion! We are delighted that your wedding and reception will always be a wonderful memory for you and your family. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were on a two week tour of the islands. Though the accommodations were all top shelf, the Fairmont Orchid was by far our favorite. It was so relaxing and comfortable, we didn't want to leave. The room, staff, restaurants,lagoon were all great. The views while snorkleing were magnificent. Can't wait to go back there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
#2 Business Hotel in Puako
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#3 Spa Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children’s program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.