We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My hotel of choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Save Saved
You added The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5th Night Free & More!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Puako
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“My hotel of choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Ah! The Fairmont Orchid… Could there be anything better? And, if you really want to be pampered go with the Gold floor. My wife and I were there the second week of November. When you get out of your car they call you by name and never seem to forget it. The ocean view room was great and the service was outstanding. The gold floor does, of course, cost more but for starters it includes valet parking which would cost you $22 a night. You use your room key to activate the elevator to take you to the floor. When you step off the elevator you have your own concierge from 6am to 10pm. There is a large private lounge/dining area on the floor just for gold members. Continental breakfast is served every morning and appetizers every evening and there is a very nice bar. The rooms are beautiful, Marble bath, king bed, flat screen TV, and balcony with a mountain view if you look one way and the ocean when you look the other. The grounds are just as beautiful. Of course there’s a beautiful pool and hot tub but we chose to spend a day on the beach at the lagoon, a closed in beach area perfect for kids. We rented a double lounge with a canopy. You can use canoes or paddle boards but we snorkeled off the beach and saw beautiful fish and swam with the large green turtles. We were served drinks and lunch under our canopy. You really need to stay at the Fairmont Gold to experience it. To go on would be redundant. To quote a line from a movie I like, “It’s the best”.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,192
    554
    186
    85
    25
See reviews for
532
991
28
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from the Fairmont remembering the Ritz as the original hotel. The present hotel is still elegant, sparkling clean, and just this side of elegant. The staff was refreshingly friendly and attentive. Rooms are spectacular with great views and beds you want to bounce on! All staff from front line to back of the house all smiled said Aloha and really seemed to mean it. Mid pricey for the gold coast and a great place to stay! You can't go wrong visiting here

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Aloha!

Thank you so much for your review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotel was great. The rooms were awesome: they were clean, there were 2 showers, and there was a separate room for the toilet; the beds were super comfy; they had great coffee selection from tassimo; the balcony overlooked the garden which was beautiful (although there was a big tree in the way). At night, there were lights in the pool/garden area which was great for evening walks and the pool was open all night which is neat. We only stayed for about 3 nights which was good as there isn't a whole lot to do on this side of the island (although the weather is the driest on this side). We were able to drive to the rainforest and see the erupting volcano on the other side of the island--you need to rent a car to do this but it can all be done in one day. Another good thing about the resort was that there were activities to do all the time--like snorkling which is sooo neat since there are so many great tropical reefs/sealife; there were hiking trails that talked about the history of the island/hawaii; yoga (I didn't try this). The food was amazing. Also, if you are on a budget, the shuttle takes you to the market which is nearby and you can buy sandwiches, liquor, wine, etc. The shuttle also takes you to the other resorts nearby (for free) to dine which is awesome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Congratulations on your marriage! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay, our resort, and the beautiful island of Hawaii. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Near perfection. Clean beautiful property. Friendly staff. Make sure to spend early evening at the Luana lounge for lamp lighting & free music. Rooms clean & comfy. Internet service reliable. Restaraunts were great. Absolutely nocomplaints.

Room Tip: joun president's club for free wi fi & newspaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo for taking the time to write your review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed our Luana Lounge and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Mahalo,


The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I just came back from our vacation and we were so happy we stayed at The Fairmont Orchid during the first part of our trip in Hawaii. We strongly recommend staying on the Gold Floor at The Fairmont, it is worth the extra money. The check-in process was flawless, the complimentary valet and internet service was convenient and the breakfast was delicious (we didn't get to try the afternoon tea or evening appetizers). Above all, the service was spot on from all staff members, especially Stacey, who helped us every morning with planning our daily excursions. We really felt pampered during our trip.

Plan a dinner at Brown's Beach House, although it is pricey (hey, it's Hawaii!), it's worth it because the food is delicious and the view is stunning!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view or golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I did a lot of research before making a reservation at The Farimont Orchid, Hawaii for my 6 night stay on the Big Island, and I am so glad I choose to stay here! You will not be disappointed. The room was very clean! Housekeeping was on point every day. The pool is huge and the lagoon is also nice. The restaurants and food were great. The staff was always very nice, used my name in the restaurants and said hello when I walked by them! As someone who has worked in hotel operations for the last six years I know how hard it is to hire and train hotel staff to be personable and a simple hello goes a long way! Of course the food and hotel can be expensive but you are at a Fairmont resort, not a Holiday Inn. If you don't want to pay for a wonderful experience and great hotel then stay somewhere else, but I can promise you, you will have wished you stayed here. I have recommended this hotel to all my friends and family. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you very much for your complimentary review. It is gratifying to know you enjoyed your experience and we appreciate your recommendation to friends and family. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is my first review ever of a hotel, but I felt compelled to write one due to how amazing our stay was. We stayed for 6 nights on the gold floor in September, everything was perfect. The gold floor is 100% worth the extra money- you get a private concierge, incredible breakfast every morning on a porch that overlooks the resort, afternoon "pupu's" (appetizers), and complementary soft drinks and water 24/7. The pupu's were so good that we actually skipped dinner one night after filling up on the shrimp and sushi.
We also visited the 4 Seasons for dinner one night, and while I will say that the dinner we had was the best thing we ate on the island, the grounds, feeling, and scenery of the Fairmont Orchid made us very happy we were staying there. The entire resort is filled with tropical plants. This resort is also great because there are families and children there, but it also has the feel of a couples resort. I'd say it's somewhere in the middle of being a couples resort and a family resort.
The only downside to this resort is the price of food and drink. You can't really have a casual lunch there for under $20 or so per person, which definitely adds up.
If I could recommend 2 things while staying there they would be:
1) Stay on the gold floor, most "worth it" money we spent
2) Rent a car and explore the island

I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Stay on the Gold Floor. "Ocean View" rooms are a view of the ocean, far from ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. Congratulations on your marriage! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay on Fairmont Gold – we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#2 Business Hotel in Puako
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#3 Spa Hotel in Puako
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children’s program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.