We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience, would do it again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii to your Saves list
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5th Nite Free + Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience, would do it again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I just came back from our vacation and we were so happy we stayed at The Fairmont Orchid during the first part of our trip in Hawaii. We strongly recommend staying on the Gold Floor at The Fairmont, it is worth the extra money. The check-in process was flawless, the complimentary valet and internet service was convenient and the breakfast was delicious (we didn't get to try the afternoon tea or evening appetizers). Above all, the service was spot on from all staff members, especially Stacey, who helped us every morning with planning our daily excursions. We really felt pampered during our trip.

Plan a dinner at Brown's Beach House, although it is pricey (hey, it's Hawaii!), it's worth it because the food is delicious and the view is stunning!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view or golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,429
    628
    204
    91
    28
See reviews for
631
1,163
31
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I did a lot of research before making a reservation at The Farimont Orchid, Hawaii for my 6 night stay on the Big Island, and I am so glad I choose to stay here! You will not be disappointed. The room was very clean! Housekeeping was on point every day. The pool is huge and the lagoon is also nice. The restaurants and food were great. The staff was always very nice, used my name in the restaurants and said hello when I walked by them! As someone who has worked in hotel operations for the last six years I know how hard it is to hire and train hotel staff to be personable and a simple hello goes a long way! Of course the food and hotel can be expensive but you are at a Fairmont resort, not a Holiday Inn. If you don't want to pay for a wonderful experience and great hotel then stay somewhere else, but I can promise you, you will have wished you stayed here. I have recommended this hotel to all my friends and family. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you very much for your complimentary review. It is gratifying to know you enjoyed your experience and we appreciate your recommendation to friends and family. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is my first review ever of a hotel, but I felt compelled to write one due to how amazing our stay was. We stayed for 6 nights on the gold floor in September, everything was perfect. The gold floor is 100% worth the extra money- you get a private concierge, incredible breakfast every morning on a porch that overlooks the resort, afternoon "pupu's" (appetizers), and complementary soft drinks and water 24/7. The pupu's were so good that we actually skipped dinner one night after filling up on the shrimp and sushi.
We also visited the 4 Seasons for dinner one night, and while I will say that the dinner we had was the best thing we ate on the island, the grounds, feeling, and scenery of the Fairmont Orchid made us very happy we were staying there. The entire resort is filled with tropical plants. This resort is also great because there are families and children there, but it also has the feel of a couples resort. I'd say it's somewhere in the middle of being a couples resort and a family resort.
The only downside to this resort is the price of food and drink. You can't really have a casual lunch there for under $20 or so per person, which definitely adds up.
If I could recommend 2 things while staying there they would be:
1) Stay on the gold floor, most "worth it" money we spent
2) Rent a car and explore the island

I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Stay on the Gold Floor. "Ocean View" rooms are a view of the ocean, far from ocean front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for your review and for staying with us. Congratulations on your marriage! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay on Fairmont Gold – we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
750 reviews 750 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
870 helpful votes 870 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

From first sight the grounds and atmosphere is a 5 plus. Unfortunately the that's the best part of the visit. We had a regular room that had some kind of water leakage problem that required a room change. The manager on duty looked very young and appeared to just want us to disappear and not have to deal with any maintenace issues. He moved us to a similar room a few doors down with a whisper of an apology. The inconvenience of repacking and moving all our stuff down the hall merited a compimentary drink at the very least. Nothing! Left a very sour taste in our mouths. A hotel charging the extremely high rates should offer amazing service and I truly did not find this the case at all from the management. This is NOT a 5 star property. The room itself was maybe slightly larger then a chain hotel room Decor is nicely appointed, but they are not maintaining the rooms properly. Aircondtioner thermostat was not functioning properly and room would get icy cold and you couldn't turn it down with out turning it off. Wood shutters in both of the rooms were broken. Toilet intermittently would run. Housekeeping missed sand on the carpet for over a week! Lamps were coated with dust. Housekeepers were old and friendly, but didn't really get the room clean. Door would stick and make a lot of noise when entering and exiting. These little things are being overlooked by this upscale hotel. Room itself is nicely decorated. Like the big screen tv, safe in the room, Keurig coffee maker and fridge to store sodas. Towels and bathrobes were not very plush and they were skimpy with the number of towels left each day. Beds were very comfortable and linens as well. Liked the charging station on the side of each night stand to recharge electronics. Remember to sign up for President's Club while making reservations to get free wifi and other discounts. Pool is beautiful, sprawling with warm water. Never a problem getting towels or chairs. Nice hidden waterfall with hot tub around corner from the pool. Fitness center was well equiped with various machines and weights. I tried the complimentary morning hikes with the guides which was fun and informative. Beach shack for $75/week per person to checkout many beach items like paddle boards, snorkel equipment, floats, kyacks was a nice feature. Some of the beach personnel were outstanding, others not so much. A nice lagoon FILLED with small kids. If you're looking for quiet adult time plan on moving away from the main beach area. Parents of kids screaming blood curdling screams for hours on end have some consideration for the other paying guests that don't think you're child is adorable screaming. Just sayin.... I'm a parent too, and would never allow my child to disturb others. Food on property in general was way over priced. The Brown's Deli being the one exception. Went to grocery store and Walmart to buy breakfast food and a styrofoam cooler for sodas. Picked up sandwichs at the Waikola Supermarket up the hill which is a lovely market or at the marketplace at the Queen's Shops for lunch most beach days. Parking is tight if you self park, but one day the valet's let me park in their area when no spots were available. Valet parking is $22/day which I think is ridiculous. All there is is vacant land all over the place, it's not a big city where parking space is at a premium. Charging people that much is just price gouging in my cheapskate opinion. I prefer to self park and not wait for someone to get my car. During a busy conference or convention parking can be difficult. One more tip, the snorkeling is good, but walk down, drive or take free shuttle to the Mauna Lani beach club and the snorkeling is wonderful. Get reef and gentle conditions make this an ideal snorkeling spot. Beach at Fairmont is ok, but it gets super crowded in the water. Mauna Lani is a nice break from the maddness. Overall I enjoyed my visit, but the place needs some management changes and someone with a critical eye to make sure things run smoothly and keep everyone happy. The rates charged demand good service.

Room Tip: South tower is closest to beach. Higher floors are better.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your compliments about many features of our resort including our beautiful grounds, our nicely appointed rooms, our fitness center, swimming pool, and the atmosphere of our resort.

Please accept our apology for the various shortcomings you experienced. Your feedback is important to us as and your suggestions will be used to support our continuous improvement efforts. Thank you again for your review, and for choosing to stay with us, we hope to welcome you back again.

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont Orchid for a medical meeting in January. It was very nice & the rooms were very clean. We loved that the hotel offered a complimentary shuttle back & forth to the shops & grocery at Mauna Lani. Brown's Beach House Deli was on-site & great for light breakfast & reasonably priced snacks on-the-go. We highly recommend Norio's for sushi if you don't have the energy to venture off the property. The spa without walls is a definite must. Nice gym. Our only disappointment was that there was no rental cars available on-site when we arrived. Not even for a day. Fairmont Orchid suggested we contact Dollar at the airport. No cars there either. Before contacting the airport, we asked Fairmont if they provided shuttle service to Dollar at the airport. We were told we could take a taxi. Around $40 one-way. Somewhat disappointing. We finally contacted the Hilton down the road & they had "plenty of rental cars." We paid for a taxi over to the Hilton & rented from them. No problem. Aside for the rental car fiasco, we were pleased with our Big Island Fairmont experience.

Room Tip: We recommend on ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great rooms. We loved the gold floor. The breakfasts were amazing. The concierge were very helpful. The valet was great. Rooms are great and loved the view. The beds are amazing. Fridge in room with unlimited water and sodas only on the gold floor. I loved the historic walks in the mornings. I didk all 3 diffrent walks. We enjoyed the snorkeling off shore. I liked the quick restaurant for food, a little pricey. Close to outdoor malls.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo for taking the time to write your review, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us on the Fairmont Gold Floor in addition to your historic walks, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Beautiful spot on the beach! Brown's Beach House is a great restaurant with a wine list that seems to mark up less than most... Skip the Pan-Asian restaurant; I can't remember its name (probably due to bad experience there). Rooms spacious; we were fortunate to get a room upgrade by paying with AmEx.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to 1532, which was a beautiful room that could only have been better if it were a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children’s program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.