We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii to your Saves list
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5th Night Free
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Puako
boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Overall, we had a great stay at the Fairmont Orchid.

We had a few problems to start off our stay but the hotel was quick to offer us dinner at their delicious restaurant, Brown's, and apologized profusely. Chaman-Aiu, the manager, was very apologetic and great on the phone. I understand that mistakes happen, but what makes any establishment great is their ability to rectify the mistakes quickly and then go out of their way to make your feel special. Chaman-Aiu and the Faimont did so.

The ocean has a great little inlet with little to no waves which is really nice for swimming.

A few things I did not like. Parking is $17 a day. I understand other hotels in the area charge for parking, but the four seasons didn't when we went their for lunch. The rooms are fairly small (especially compared to the beautiful rooms of the Fairmont kea lani (although double the price). They charge for everything including snorkeling gear and paddle boards were upwards of $50 for an hour. Happy hour at the luna lounge is little more than 2 bucks off a beer, a little disappointing as there were no other happy hours/discounts, especially compared to the Kea Lani which had great happy hours at the swimup bar and nicks.

Other than that the hotel was beautiful and the staff was very accomodating

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and sharing your experience. It is gratifying to know that you had a great stay despite some challenges early on and that Ms. Cashman-Aiu’s efforts to correct the situation were meaningful to you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    580
    193
    89
    26
See reviews for
557
1,078
28
147
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (471)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our vacation at the Fairmont Orchid. Staying on the Gold floor was definitely worhtwhile. The staff treats you like royalty. From delicious breakfasts, to cocktails watching the sunset, the lounge provided a place to grab a cup of expresso or relax with the paper. The concierges helped with day trip planning and restaurant choices.
Having the valet parking included was wonderful, and the concierges would get our car pulled around for us in advance.
The staff at this hotel are the nicest, ,most friendly and most helpful that I have ever encountered. For our trip to the volcano through Hilo, we were offered umbrellas in case of rain. When we pulled up our car on return, the valet offered to take care of the towels we had brought - all the little touches that made our days easy and fun.
There is a magnificant walk on the beach with spectacular views. The hotel provides a free culture walk daily at 8:00 am that is informative and interesting. There are also activities such as canoe lessons, ocean aerobics, and zumba.
The property is beautiful. There are also shops at the entry of the complex including a grocery store and Cache, art galleries, and a large Tommy Bahama store and restaurant.
My husband really enjoyed the golf course.
I highly recommend this resort, and would recommend doing the Gold floor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Aloha,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us on our Fairmont Gold Floor, we look forward to your return, hopefully in the near future!

Mahalo,

The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was our first visit to Hawaii's Big Island, my first impression of the Fairmont Orchid was the entrance and the reception area and the view outside, it was open and airy. Loved the orchids with the lava surrounding it. When we were showed to our room I thought to myself that we would get lost, not at all it was easy. The room was nice an roomy and clean, the staff were so friendly and polite. Loved lazing around the pool, we walked nearly everywhere and we were able to get some bikes and check out the area as well, you definitely need to hire a car as it is a long way to Kona and taxi's are expensive. Our room was made up everyday with clean towels and crockery, glasses etc. I would definitely go back. Love the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I've stayed at the Fairmont Orchid for 6 nights during my stay at the Big Island. The outside of the hotel is pretty nice: nice garden, nice pool and a beautiful beach with plenty of chairs. You have to be prepared that this is a huge hotel: it means that you can be lost to find your room and of course the staff do not recognize you at all during your whole stay...
The room was not that bad but not great either: we were in the north tower so the room really needs to be renovated. The carpet looks old and the furniture too.However you have plenty of space in the room. The biggest issue we had with the room was the cleanliness: the bathroom did not look clean during our whole stay. There was a hair next to the sink, mold on the tiles, the restroom leaked...Everyday the housekeeper came but no change in the bathroom, it did not seem like he/she was cleaning a lot. They forgot to give us shower gel every day until the last day when I put a note in the bathroom to ask them to not forget it!
When the housekeeping starts you can hear at 8am someone screaming in the hallway "housekeeping!!!!"...do they have to scream like that when people sleep at 8am? During the vacation we usually can use some rest...!
The wifi was terrible...do not count on it!
Concerning the food, everything is very expensive at this hotel. I've tried one of the restaurant and the food did not really worth the price. Be careful!
Overall the hotel looks nice, the area is nice, the location is not bad but there is a real issue with the housekeeping and they really should do something because you don't have the quality you expect for the price you pay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to post your review. It is concerning that we failed to meet your expectations and apologize for the shortcomings you experienced. Your feedback and suggestions for improvement are appreciated, and provide valuable information to support our continuous improvement efforts. We are pleased to let you know that all of our guest rooms will be fully renovated by year end, along with enhanced wifi service. Thank you again for your feedback, and for choosing to stay with us, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was our first experience of the 'Big Island' and Resort culture. Excellent place to stay and 'chill out' but ideally you will need your own personal transport. The hotel was undergoing renovations during our stay but we did not hear any noise coming from it. The only minor complaint is the coffee shop/snack shop closes at 3.00pm and post that if you wanted a snak etc you have a 1 mile walk to the nearest shop.Not ideal!

Room Tip: We had a Garden view room on the 2nd floor and it was excellent...A little bit of journey to and fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I have been to the state of Hawaii six times, as it is the only place we truly relax. We have a time share on Kuaui and always visit a second island on our trip. We had a one-bedroom oceanview suite at the Fairmont Orchid on this, our second trip to the Big Island. The staff is wonderful. They remember your name (as they should at a 5- star property) and the property is quite beautiful. The concierge desk is very helpful as was all the staff we encountered.

Brown's restaurant was just terrific. Last time we were on the Big Island, we stayed at the well-known 5-star property on the island. We had a reservation at that hotel the night after Brown's, as we had a wonderful experience there the last time. There was a convention at this other hotel and it was simply chaos. Noisy, with kids running all around and in front of the performing hula dancer. We cancelled our reservation and rushed back to Brown's and had another wonderful dinner.

Plus, we had the added pleasure of meeting Fairmont the cat, who daily suns himself on a lounge chair at the private Fairmont beach. He is adorable and added to our experience. Almost all guests feed him, so we surely expect a fatter Fairmont when we visit next.

This property is a perfect size, not too large and overwhelming, but quite cozy and spacious. The rooms are being renovated which should only add to the guest experience.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had our wedding here and stayed for one full week. Our guests stayed for six days. We all fell in love with this hotel. The view is absolutely breath-taking and unlike Maui, it's not busy. And this was a week before Ironman (it was starting to get busy the day we left).

Check-in and rooms: The ladies there were all very helpful and speedy with everyone's check-in. We had 7 other guests and everyone was happy with their room. However, my brother did mention that the water pressure in his room was a bit weak but he didn't mind. Our suite (room 2157) was huge and we loved the oceanfront view. The only downside of this room was the mosquitoes, so if you attract mosquitoes, request a higher room. The partial ocean view room basically looks out into the garden area (we were in the North Tower). That's what you see from the room. Once you step outside onto the balcony, you'll see the ocean. For the ocean view room, you could see the ocean from the room along with the garden area. No one stayed in a garden view room so I cannot comment on that. The bathrooms were spacious with two sinks, a tub, a separate shower stall, and toilet. In our suite, the toilet and the shower stall shared one door, but in other rooms, the toilet was separate from the shower stall. The beds were comfortable, the furniture was actually really nice (usually hotels have cheap furniture but we didn't see that here), and the TV was big enough for us to view from the bed. The amenities were basic: hand soap, body soap, shampoo, conditioner, and lotion. Like any other hotel, the shampoo and conditioner dried my hair out. Or maybe it was the sun and the pool and the beach. The next time we visit, I'll be bringing my own shampoo and conditioner to avoid this!

Pool: There are no slides or kiddie pools, just one big fantastic pool. It's not too deep either. We saw a few people relaxing on their floaties, which we thought was a great idea. We'll have to keep that in mind for next time. The lounge chairs under the umbrellas did get taken quite quickly but because there are many palm trees around the pool area, we were always able to find some shade. The towel desk is nearby and unlike the Hyatt in Maui, towel cards are not necessary. The pool is 24 hours and after the towel desk closes, you can get towels by yourself from a cart near Brown's Beach House using your room key.

Restaurants: We loved the Brown's Beach House and Norio's, We had our wedding dinner at Brown's Beach House (the Knoll) and had multiple dinners at Norio's. The sushis were all very fresh and were a nice change from Western foods. The breakfast buffet area was pleasant but the service was all right. I think the hotel needs more people there to make sure everyone was taken care of in a timely manner. I would recommend ordering a la carte instead of the buffet. We loved the banana macadamia nut waffles and huevo rancheros. The Ironman breakfast was good, too! Just a FYI, if you are afraid of birds, do not dine here because there are birds basically waiting for you to drop your food. The servers do try to shoo them away, but if you're afraid, ask to be seated inside. Another breakfast option is the Deli located near pool. We had food from there a few times; loved the bran muffin and the pizzas! If you are a coffee drinker, they do you have the Fairmont thermos. I believe it's $20 and you can get free coffee if you bring that thermos during your stay. For fancier coffee drinks, like a latte, you add a few dollars. BTW, the drip is not 100% Kona coffee, but the fancy coffee drinks are. If you don't want to get the thermos, make sure you get the coffee card. After you collect four (or was it five?) stars, you get a free coffee!

I could go on and on about how wonderful the Fairmont Orchid. We will definitely be returning to the Fairmont and cannot wait for that day to come. If you're trying to decide between the Fairmont and another hotel, pick the Fairmont. You'll be in paradise.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor to avoid mosquitoes. Check the hotel map to see if you want to be in the Nort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheFairmontOrchid, Guest Relations Manager at The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Aloha, and Congratulations on your marriage! Thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful and informative review. We are delighted to know that you and your guests had a memorable experience with us, and thank you for choosing The Fairmont Orchid for your special day, we look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii

Address: 1 N Kaniku Dr, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#2 Business Hotel in Puako
#2 Family Hotel in Puako
#3 Spa Hotel in Puako
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii 4.5*
Number of rooms: 540
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii is a Kohala Coast Hawaii oceanfront luxury hotel and resort with white sand lagoon, Hawaiian Spa Without Walls, golf, tennis, five restaurants, extensive meeting and event facilities, and a year-round children’s program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii Hotel Waimea
Fairmont Hotel Kamuela
Fairmont Orchid Hawaii
Fairmont Kamuela
Kamuela Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.