We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Resort: True Hawaii” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows to your Saves list
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Nite Free & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Puako
los angeles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Incredible Resort: True Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Wonderful setting, great grounds, spacious well designed rooms.
Had an Ocean front room for 9 Nights and loved every minute, snorkeling was some of the best on the Big Island, the 25 USD resort fee included valet parking, bikes, cabanas, shopping discounts and snorkeling gear. The only downside was the food: limited options, expensive and average quality.
Highly recommend and would definitely stay again.
Very relaxing.

Room Tip: Ocean front worth the money however ocean view pool side also excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    288
    64
    21
    12
See reviews for
310
573
17
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We only spent one night here while waiting for our timeshare to be ready. Booked on HotWire, so didn't expect a great room, and we didn't get one. Faced the parking lot. Had trouble with the air conditioning, and while the engineer they sent up insured us it was cooling properly, our room never cooled more than 2 degrees from its original temperature. I did inform the front desk when we checked out, and got a mandatory "I'm sorry".
The hotel is gorgeous, pool, and restaurants very good. Check In was very impressive. Greeted with a cold towel and juice and ushered to a private desk. Staff very helpful. But due to an uncomfortable night, I have to give it only 3 stars.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

When we checked in they told us that it was our 7th stay. We booked 2 rooms due to the size of our party. Quite simply this is the most Hawaiian of the big luxury hotels and also the best deal in terms of 5 star resorts in the islands. The resort has been refreshed since our previous stay but still preserves the many things we like about the hotel. We hope to return yet again. The room layout and bathrooms are very nice. This is the beach resort/gold standard for us. The staff treated us and the many repeat guests like family.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

It's obvious that this hotel has been around for quite sometime, for good and not so good reasons.

Firstly, the staff are wonderful and its nice to be greeted with "aloha" wherever you go. Befitting a first rate resort, this property is right next to its own private beach, and the design ensures you do not feel detached from the beach (eg. Some other hotels you feel as though the beach is a separate section of the hotel, whereas here, the beech is just an extension of the pool area.)
The atrium is extensive, allowing refreshing cool breezes, and the entrance is also comfortably spacious and welcoming. They've got nice touches with fruit infused water at the entrance to welcome you back after a day out, or for rehydrating while waiting for your car/bus. The other wonderful thing is that the hotel is apparently quite environmentally conscious, and also has several fish ponds with huge tropical fish my daughter loved.

Probably the only downside is the age of the building itself does show, though it hasn't aged too badly. My impression is that most of the Hawaiian hotels would be similar, and so in that context, this hotel would be considered exceptionally well maintained. In particular, the rooms, I believe have been tastefully renovated, and are comfortable, with a large bathroom and of course outstanding views.

Personally, I thought a car was quite useful. The closest shops are 3 minutes drive away, but only have a handful of restaurants. You'd probably want to go to nearby resorts (with great dining options)or towns for other meals, which are at least a 10 minute drive away.

On the last note, even though I came with family, I feel this place would be equally enjoyable as a couple.

Room Tip: Definately choose a room facing the ocean - no point coming here to have a view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klein, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

WOW! a great (Big Island-Hawaii) vacation spot if you want great sunshine, privacy, intimacy, and personal pampering. The resort staff work each hour of the day to ensure your every want and/or need is addressed. From tours to water activities readily available for the asking (moderately priced). Even with two(2) named hurricanes tracking toward us the last two days of our visit, the storm preparation mixed with hotel host amenities helped us "hunker down" and enjoy up to zero hour. Really enjoyed the "adult" atmosphere (mostly couples); found the few families w/kids tolerable. Snorkeling tour about mile out breathtaking (ask for George); Golfing was fantastic (renter sets much better that my own)..... ocean views on both north and south course (thought south was more picture-est). ADD one more star to this one!

Room Tip: make sure you get ocean view facing pool areas. Only six floors so get the top floors for better ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at this hotel between 7-10 times over the past 15+ years. Needless to say, there's many reasons my family & I continue to return to this hotel when we visit Hawaii. The hotel has a nice open air environment, is not too large or overly crowded (in September & October), recently remodeled all their rooms, has the best buffet breakfast with the same omelet chef year after year (I also recommend the banana bread & fresh fruit), some daily activities, and bikes (free of charge last time) to bike around the property and surrounding local area. There's a grocery store close by and Kona is not too far either if you're looking for the big box stores. I love the hammocks on the beach, the torch lighting ceremony, the happy hour music and dance, and the koi ponds at the entrance to the hotel. The gym is ok, I wish it had a nice view, but other than that it's a wonderful place to stay and relax. (Last visit was September 2013. Returning this September). Good for couples and families.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

My family has been staying at Mauna Lani Bay for many years. I had visited with my boyfriend in August 2011, and had a great stay. This past February, I returned with my family to flee the polar vortex in the Northeast, and see if the hotel was as great as we remembered. It was, and then some.

We stayed in an Ocean View room, with a lanai overlooking part of the Canoe House restaurant and beach. The rooms were spacious and clean, and looked well kept in the three years we had been there. The bathrooms are WONDERFUL: love the deep soaking tub, the dual sinks, the private toilet area. Having the lanai really extends the whole room, which was great for a family.

Breakfast on the property is wonderful, and a great way to start the day. There was a vast selection of hot items, omelet bar, french toast and pancakes, and delicious fresh fruit juices. Eating right on a terrace overlooking the beach and pool grounds puts you in a relaxing mood immediately. The dining staff was excellent.

We spent equal time exploring our favorite parts (and new parts) of the Big Island as we did on property. For the first time, my sister and I booked appointments at the Spa at Mauna Lani Bay and used their fitness facilities regularly. Our lomi lomi massages were soothing and the outdoor private massage area was great with a traditional Hawaiian/Polynesian feel. We also regularly used the free cruiser bikes to zip to the spa and fitness center, and ride about the property, which was fun and a great way to be green over short distances that didn't really need a car.

The hotel beach is great for lounging all day, reading, swinging in hammocks, and watching the turtles sun themselves on rocks. My sister and I also took a stand up paddle boarding lesson at the hotel - the activities staff were not that well organized so we waited around and had our lesson about an hour after we were supposed to. The lesson itself though was very enjoyable (and I'm newly converted to finding SUP opportunities on my next vacation), but we would have appreciated some gesture with regard to the extensive wait and lack of information.

Overall, we love Mauna Lani Bay and have continued to return every few years. It's very well located on the Kohala Coast, with a unique, laid back luxury feel, great amenities and offerings, and offers very good value for money.

Room Tip: All rooms have a lanai: we prefer higher floor rooms for better views/more privacy. Ocean View room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows

Address: 68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#1 Spa Hotel in Puako
#1 Business Hotel in Puako
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#1 Family Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows 4.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel And Bungalows
Mauna Lani Bay Resort
Mauna Lani Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.