We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property, breakfast amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows to your Saves list
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Nite Free & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Puako
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great property, breakfast amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this property and had an absolutely wonderful time. The views are spectacular, the pool is wonderful, and the cooked order breakfast is absolutely amazing. Level of service is absolutely exceptional I would never hesitate to return here. It truly is a wonderful experience and management does a wonderful job!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    319
    75
    24
    15
See reviews for
336
637
18
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Just make your next trip to the big island a good one and stay at this resort. Everyone is so nice and the staff provides excellent customer service. The room was great! Got upgraded to an ocean view for all 4 nights. Loved that we got water bottles everyday. Some nice perks are the cabanas, free laundry, and shuttle that takes you around the complex. The location is really nice as well. Would highly recommend!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My daughter and I just got back after spending 4 nights at the Mauna Lani Hotel. The hotel exceeded all my expectations. They have beautiful facilities, including pools, hot tubs, private beach access, lawns and huge, breezy atriums with koi ponds. Their staff was excellent. They do charge a $25 resort fee per day, but that includes some services- like valet parking, bikes, etc. I used their valet parking, again very friendly and professional service. I borrowed their bike to go to the shopping center close by, which was a very enjoyable experience. We ate at their Terrace restaurant a few times, and again were treated to beautiful ambience and great service. They had live music and hula dancers in the evenings, which was a very nice touch.
Our room was very comfortable, with all the modern amenities. We had booked a standard room but were upgraded to an ocean view room, with a lovely balcony. Housekeeping was very prompt with requests I had. The room had a small fridge, which was very useful to store snacks, milk, etc. I would definitely go back and stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Next time I would ask for a room without a connecting door to another room, as that really made voic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Mauna Lani isn't for people looking for Vegas-y style or honky-tonk Hawaii. We found it to be the peaceful and beautiful place we had hoped for. Great pool area includes salt and fresh hot spa pools. Lively poolside bar run by some friendly characters attracted some interesting locals too. The close-in beach is pretty but has lost a bit of sand, so fortunately another choice is a short walk away at the Beach Club. It is so enjoyable to stroll in the extensive tropical gardens and view the various inhabitants of the numerous fishponds, and to be treated to daily live (un-amplified-thankyou!) performances of Hawaiian music and dance in the hotel atrium. Great outdoor massage area at the spa, and for us the best of all was the golf…gorgeous, well-run courses were positively stellar! Good experiences in all restaurants and all staff we encountered were genuinely welcoming and helpful. Can't wait to return here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We've just spent four nights at the Mauna Lani and has been our best hotel experience in Hawaii so far. Lovely laid back feel, and gorgeous indoor/outdoor setting. Great views, great beach and fabulous service. We even saw turtles on the beach! A quiet area so if you're after action and lots to do then try closer to the Kona resorts. Otherwise highly recommend especially for couples on romantic breaks.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
540 reviews 540 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

A great location is spoilt by a tired hotel in need of a facelift. Serve friendly and helpful, rooms nice size, but the decor is tired and outdated. Very expensive for what you get really. And its very quiet, no one around after 8.30pm!

Room Tip: an Ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We recently spent a full week at the Mauna Lani and my wife and I were thoroughly impressed with almost everything. I tried to do some extensive research when debating which resort to stay with (as we knew we wanted to be on the Big Island) so here's more info than you could ever need on this place. Ultimately I felt that if I was going to be paying the price tag that these resorts were charging I wanted what I thought was the best - and after staying here I'd go back in a second.

They are offering a 4th night free plus breakfast promotion currently however booking a non-refundable rate is a cheaper deal still, especially considering you should be going out onto the island for breakfast and not using their restaurant every day. We booked this and decided to upgrade to the ocean front view. It was worth every cent extra. There are a fair number of rooms that directly face the ocean on floors 1 - 4 (whereas 5 and 6 are reserved for Ocean Suite or something like that). We were on floor three and our room was steps away from the ocean. The other rooms would have a very small partial view or face the parking lot. Normally I have no preference and would never pay extra for a view but here it's worth it - as you can close the shutters on your balcony but keep the glass doors open allowing you to hear the ocean all night. Also there are two mini sides to their beach that these rooms faced (the resort front is like the tip of an arrow) - we were put on the more wavy ocean side which was great since no one uses that side of the beach which made for no noise from people - so perhaps request to be placed on the right hand side of the ocean front rooms as there are less people on the beach near your room then.

The room is great - dark wood everywhere. Shutters and screens for the balcony. A big ceiling fan or ac. A huge bathroom with double vanity, a separate toilet room, and a good clean shower with bath. The beds are all King sized I believe, and there's a good sized sitting area and then a large ish balcony that faces the ocean and seals you off from your neighbors. The room never felt cramped while being there for 7 nights. Also they give you rain umbrellas, a mini fridge, and a current iPhone docking station. A tip - coffee in their coffee bar is 5 dollars a cup since it's Kona coffee - we brought filters and sugar packets from home, bought some milk for the fridge, and then just bought Kona ground coffee in town and made our own everyday in the room. A big cost saver. The mini fridge is also great as you can stock up on snacks for the week.

The main lobby of the hotel, and it's multiple areas are expansive. There are minimal walls and the walking areas within the main building are very open and filled with tons of fish ponds - we even saw a hammerhead shark and turtles in the one. They actually greet you with necklaces and a cold towel and juice at check in which was awesome. The grounds are fun to walk and on property they have 3 hot tubs, a beautiful pool area that's lit up at night and always open (plus minimal kids), free cruiser style bicycles to take out, a coffee bar that serves sandwiches and drinks at night with pool tables, free wifi and free laundry - all great perks. Also - free valet which is great but we never used it for some reason. There are also some small shops, a full golf course, and a petroglyph park which was interesting and a good hike. When looking at the property my one trepidation was how dated it looks from the outside architecturally, however this doesn't affect anything else on property. I also found their staff extremely attentive and just flat out nice to talk to.

The beach area is also good - as I said before the one area is very wavy and rocky, whereas the other part is like a mini lagoon with rocks forming a natural break wall to allow for good swimming. Extremely clear water, beautiful sand, huge hammocks hanging, great large free beach chairs with fold over awnings and large towels, and free snorkel gear. They also have for rent tons of kayaks and boards although you can't leave their area too far into the ocean. I'm pretty sure there's a bar by the pool but we didn't visit this. So overall excellent beach that would allow you to simply stay there all day if you're not interested in seeing other beaches.

The property has a few other cottages and such on site so you can take a beautiful walk along mini paths on the ocean to their second mini beach (not as nice) which is more geared to the cottages. They also have a great little walk if you head towards the Fairmont Orchid along the beach which takes you past some cuts in the rock and a great little trail. And of course - the big island is known for sea turtles and they will beach themselves along their beach and sleep for the day which makes for great pics. They are good about keeping guests away from bothering the turtles too much also. Also the resort has a weekly schedule of events taking place - some free some not - of things like basket weaving class, yoga on the beach, hula lessons - things like that which was great to have available.

This didn't bother me - but their resort is very far from a lot of the towns. That's great in terms of isolation however it's a good 30min drive down towards Kona which might bother some. Also the resort size is great in that it never felt crowded once. Maybe that's because it was early June, but this was a nice perk.

My one complaint about the resort is the lack of food options, and what I considered their slight unwillingness to tell me about restaurants in the area. There is the Canoe House which looks incredibly expensive, their coffee bar which had $15.00 sandwiches, and a third restaurant which also seemed expensive. Yet when I'd ask the concierge their main recommendations were the restaurants in their own shops, and failed to tell me about the numerous non chair restaurants in the nearby cities. So my main advice would be to do some research before you go and avoid their Ruth Chris steakhouse, Tommy Bahamma's and such - and go to local restaurants vs any chains if possible. Another issue, but I knew this was coming, was a $25.00 tacked on resort fee per day. I was aware of this but I could see this sneaking up on someone on checkout.

Besides this one issue - the resort is flawless and you'll have a great time staying on their property.

Room Tip: Splurge for the ocean front instead of just ocean view as it's a significantly better view and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows

Address: 68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puako
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows 4.5*
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel And Bungalows
Mauna Lani Bay Resort
Mauna Lani Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.