We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
4th Nite Free & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Puako
Show Low
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

If you want a great place that is Centrally located on the Big Island close to all excursions but out of town, this place is for you!!! It's quiet, friendly, very modestly priced, lots of aminities. Snorkeling on site, your own beach, spa, workout gym, lap pool, playpool, jacuzzi, ponds on site with fish and turtles, golf courses, awesome valets. and much more. They have no shuttle from the airport so rent a car from the airport if you dont the island may be booked up. it is cheaper to take a shuttle bus out to the Hotel. But you want to rent a car it's worth it!

Room Tip: Ocean front , ocean front it is great if you spend anytime at all in your room...it's a wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    720
    261
    53
    18
    12
See reviews for
271
495
16
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seabrook Island, SC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We booked our stay at Mauna Lani to meet with friends. They ran a special deal which was wonderful and you should check for specials on the Internet. Service is terrific and the rooms are very nice. We loved the golf course and enjoyed free tennis and free bike rental. So many perks are included in this lovely property. There are some renovations planned and you should ask about them so you are not disappointed.

Restaurants are not the hotel highlight but that is not a problem as there are several in the immediate area.such as Tommy Bahamas and Ruth's Chris.

Room Tip: Try booking a garden room and ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

From the moment we walked in to the moment we reluctantly said goodbye, every minute was wonderful. The staff is attentive, polite and accomodating. While I would always prefer my Hawaiian vacations sans children, it is an awesome place for kids as well. The private beach with access to snorkeling, paddle boarding and kayak equipment is a wonderful touch!
I am constantly shocked by the food and drink prices at any hotel in Hawaii, but they are not out of line. I would go back in a minute! This trip was for an annual business conference, but this place is perfect for a romantic retreat or families.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This hotel excels in personal relations. From top to bottom everyone exudes the Aloha spirit. The architecture and grounds are beautiful and this is the place for couples especially. Let the families and kids go to the Hilton. Larry at the desk is the best!

Room Tip: Ocean views rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 5 nights at the Mauna Lani. We were both comfortable here and overall had a nice stay. Although the hotel is a little dated and could use some updated decor and pool amenities, overall it did the job if you are looking for a laid-back, no frills holiday in the sun.
Here are some pros and cons:
Pros:
Location - only 20 miles away from the airport
They provide free snorkling gear and bicycles for riding around to the shops and to the gym.
Snorkling is on the property- no need to drive. Also available are sunset and while watching tours (we enjoyed this a lot)
Clean, spacious rooms (we had ocean front room) and it was beautifully located, close enough to hear the ocean waves every night

Pros
Not a lot of activities around the hotel or on site
Pool area a little dated
Parking is not free ($18 daily)
Restaurant menu pretty limited and expensive
Is located on the dry/arid part of the island with lots of lava rock so do not expect the typical lush tropical forests to surround the resort. All that is on the other side of the island, about 2 hours away by car.
Overall a good place to relax and enjoy the beach but not really a typical "luxury resort" as the website presents itself to be.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had a ritzy experience at four season's Wailea so that is hard to beat. Did my mix of each island it was a heavenly 11 days. This hotel brought something unique. Its lobby is unique, yes its old world, and older but its interesting. The beach is glorious, not huge like Wailea but intimate and interesting with sand and palm trees, think Giligan's Island. The Canoe House, OK, all food on Hawaii is pretty good, except Allen Wong's in Oahu which is excellent and Canoe House is only good food, BUT THAT VIEW. Level with the ocean you feel like the waves are going to come right up to your table, so incredible and gorgeous and earthy feeling. Love the shark ponds, and the rooms are older but comfortable. Big Island is about serenity, nothing much to do at night but take in the sounds, the smells, and the peace. This is a very good, classic hotel, doesn't pretend to be FS Wailea or Kona, but is still a gem of a place.

Room Tip: Ocean view is worth the coin and do go to Canoe House for dinner but right at 7 p.m. as the sun sets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I'm giving the Mauna Lani five stars because it's a wonderful resort with much to recommend: a great location, friendly and helpful staff, excellent breakfast buffet, attractive and comfortable rooms, plenty of oceanside beach cabanas -- but the resort is not without its imperfections. We were told these would be remedied with the upcoming remodel scheduled for Fall 2013:
1. The spa is hugely overpriced with few amenities. There's a tiny sauna (which was not functioning the day I was there) and an equally small steam room, and that's about it. The facilities need to be expanded, especially with the prices the hotel charges: $165 for a 50 minute reflexology session. After the session, I was pressured by the front desk greeter at the spa into leaving a tip for the woman who handed me a towel and locker key, in addition to tipping the practitioner.
2. The Canoe House, also overpriced, was overrun with baby strollers and high chairs during our dinner. Our suggestion is to welcome infants and small children into the Canoe House between the hours of 5 and 6pm only, so that they're not running amok while adults are dining.
3. With so many adult guests, there should be a designated children's pool. During our stay, adults were relegated to the outer rim of the pool while a robust game of Marco Polo was played by some very spirited children. The kids even claimed the pool steps as their own territory, making it difficult for the rest of us to get in and out of the water. Although parents should monitor their children - and often don't - the hotel can help by creating an area designed for little ones.
3. There's not ample bandwith; as a result, many guests cannot use the Internet in their room. Our room, on the 5th floor, did not receive an Internet connection. The head of IT spent several hours trying to fix the problem, and while we were grateful for the effort, it turned out that the problem wasn't fixable.
Despite these annoyances, the Mauna Lani is a beautiful property on a gorgeous island, and we can surely recommend it as a vacation destination.

Room Tip: If having the Internet in your room is important to you, check to make sure it's functioning bef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows

Address: 68-1400 Mauna Lani Drive, Puako, Island of Hawaii, HI 96743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kohala Coast > Puako
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puako
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puako
#1 Business Hotel in Puako
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puako
#1 Spa Hotel in Puako
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puako
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel And Bungalows
Mauna Lani Bay Resort
Mauna Lani Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.