We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, excellent breakfast and so friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wormald House

Wormald House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wylam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wormald House
Save
You added Wormald House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Main Street, Wylam NE41 8DN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Wylam B&B and Inns
Wetherby
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 163 cities Reviews in 163 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Lovely, excellent breakfast and so friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Thoroughly recommend Wormald House as a very good place to stay.
Positives: Lovely Landlady who cannot do enough for you- right down to presenting you with a jug of fresh milk as you arrive and flask of fresh milk before you retire to bed for your tea/coffee.
Great breakfast- quality dry cured bacon, fresh fruit salad the highlights. Spotlessly clean.
Why not outstanding? It is very close to that standard but for towels that were a little scratchy, and a bed with blankets rather than a duvet.
A good place to stay for Hadrians Way, but be aware it is about 1.2 miles off route.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leven, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Spent a night here on 12th March. Couldn't have picked a nicer place to stay. Beautiful house and lovely homely atmosphere. My friend and I had the twin room which was light, airy and warm with very comfy beds. Tea tray and biscuits in the room was a bonus and landlady, Angela, was always on hand to replenish milk when needed. Breakfast was wonderful. Delicious and filling with loads of toast and tea. Angela was very accomodating and helpful letting us stay in the room a little longer than usual to await a car picking us up to attend a function. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. You will definitely not be disappointed if you go to stay here.

Room Tip: We had twin room which was double aspected and warm and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuppertal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Walking on Hadrian's Wall Path this was one of the best accomodations we had: Nice spacious rooms, a bit old fashioned but great with very friendly and welcoming hosts. They had even booked a table at the pub next door for us (the only one with meals in the evening and therefor quite frequented).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a great B&B. We stayed for a few days when visiting family in the area. The owners John and Angela are wonderful and could not do more to make your stay enjoyable. There's plenty of places to eat near the B&B and a shop/teashop next door. The station is very close to get into the Newcastle, Metrocentre or Hexham. We had an excellent night's sleep and the the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here while walking Hadrian's Wall. To me, the Wormwald House epitomized England to me. I felt that I had stepped back into a simpler time, where manners and civility still reigned supreme. The owners were most gracious and were very concerned about the welfare of all of their guests. A wonderful tea tray was provided to us upon arrival with many different varieties of tea and fresh baked cookies. Our room was nice, cozy and comfortable.
We had dinner at a nearby pub that couldn't be beat and then based on a tip from a local, we went to a different pub for some evening musical entertainment and a nice walk. I truly hated to leave Wormwald House and the village of Wylam.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Ostfold, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Warm and caring hosts! Nice rooms, fantastic breakfast and packed lunch. The hostess drove us to Heddon when we where leaving. Superb!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

old but cute house. nothing missing. friendly owners. nice small shop next to the house for getting food for the hadrians wall walk. very delicious meals in the fox & hounds opposite of the b&b.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wormald House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wormald House

Address: Main Street, Wylam NE41 8DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Wylam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wylam
Hotel Class:4 star — Wormald House 4*
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wormald House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.