We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swan Valley Oasis Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Swan Valley Oasis Resort to your Saves list
Swan Valley Oasis Resort
10250 West Swan Road, Henley Brook, Swan, Western Australia 6055, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Henley Brook
1 review
“What great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

So friendly & obliging. The bed was superb. I usaully struggle with my back on a strange bed when I'm away, but not this time. Thank you. A sound night's sleep makes a world of difference to the day. As I was leaving early, the lady on reception suggested a breakfast tray which she packed herself & brought up to me. There was a toaster in the room so I could enjoy hot toast with all the goodies she brought up to me. This is now my. Voice of hotel when I am in Perth. Not far to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thor H, Owner at Swan Valley Oasis Resort, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the trouble to give us such delightful feedback. When we receive a "bouquet" it is our reward for striving to give our guests our best possible service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    10
    11
    18
See reviews for
8
23
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bunbury
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My wife and I found this place as a last resort (bad pun) because all other places in the area were booked up for our last minute trip to perth.

Initial impressions were high but appearances are just that. Our encounter with the lady at reception was borderline rude, any further dealings with reception left us unamused.

The rooms we had seemed big enough, little extras here and there, the spa was big enough for two (1 tall, one not so tall) although I wonder when do service staff get around to cleaning the filters in the spa bath. The beds were touted as "King Size" which were actually two king singles velcroed together and made up as a one piece mattress, the spine down the middle of the bed gave it away. Both beds were the same.

Small TV's and no movie channel/s, details.

Whilst attempting to setup wifi we were hung up on twice and finally were told that the wifi "area" extends to just outside the reception office, Useful

Our first meals were excellent so we thought to order again on the 2 night and was no comparison to the first. At the restaurant for breakfast 2 days in a row our meals were given to us after others who had ordered after us, quality was good, timing was less so.

During our stay an odour would enter our room from time to time, toilet smell is the best way to describe it.

As for the room service, didn't happen til about 2-3 in the afternoon on the first day, we were in the room on the second day so all we got was some new towels and on the third there was no room service at all.

The most hilarious part of our stay was the set of "shot" glasses in the cabinet they were the plastic shot glasses you get with mixed shot drinks from the bottle shop, they were second hand.

Overall impressions were that of bali....but without the service or the prices.

A new receptionist would do wonders as the one we came across had language issues and an attitude problem.

My score very average, never again. Had better service at the Flag Motor Lodge for half the $$$

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thor H, Owner at Swan Valley Oasis Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. Even though we prefer bouquets, the brickbats tell us when things have not gone well for a particular customer.

It is true that our regular receptionist was away and for the young lady filling in, English was her second language. However, she did her best and was upset to hear that she came across as rude. I think a little more patience and understanding on the part of the customer would have been appropriate. After all everyone has to be given the opportunity to adapt to their new country and language. The progression of different nationalities into different layers of modern Australia happens as successive waves of immigrants move up the socio-economic ladder, but it shouldn't be to look down on those who follow.

Our wi fi service is limited and we will be changing this in the future as soon as we can identify an upgrade that will work better. Wherever you go in the SWan Valley there are signal difficulties. However, this guest was offered the use of a computer with internet access at the front desk, but declined.

The King size beds in the resort are 5 star. In all the best hotels and resorts around the world this type of bed is used. Even on the Queen Mary 2. Aside from giving flexibility within a room, the separation of sleeping zones, ensures each guest has a good night's sleep. Generally the comments we get about the beds are extremely positive and our guests tell us constantly what a good night's sleep they had.

The timing of servicing rooms is always tricky. Go too early and you disturb a guest, go later and they want you to have been earlier. We do not service rooms on the day of departure.

It is our policy to put the clean glasses into the fridge. We can only think that these "shot glasses" were left by a guest and were perhaps washed up and put away by one of the housekeepers.

We are sorry this guest found quality and service from the kitchen inconsistent. If it had been mentioned it at the time, we could have talked about it. But after the fact makes it very difficult.

We thank you for the positives and the negatives. We are sorry we didn't please. We are always striving to improve our service to guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

I treated my fiance to a surprise weekend away which was romantic stay at the Oasis. When we arrived the bed was decorated with towels twisted & shaped into 2 kissing swans which formed a heart. They even have eyes. On the centre was another arrangement in a heart shape filled with rose petals. There was sparkling wine in an ice bucket & a big heart shaped chocolate. We had the best time. We got to watch an intimate wedding ceremony from the restaurant verandah. The gazebo was decked out in tulle & big organza ribbons. So romantic! (thank heavens it didnt rain) We got really carried away & spent a really laid-back afternoon drinking cocktails. Thank you for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thor H, Owner at Swan Valley Oasis Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We so enjoy receiving positive feedback from our customers. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The lady working there was lovely and the food in the restaurant was great - we really appreciated the fact that they catered for us even though we were their only guests. However, I was really looking forward to the "solar heated pool and spa", but the spa was closed and the pool was cold and dirty. No swimming. The room itself was a spa suite - we have stayed in hotel rooms bigger!! For $320 per night I expected a little luxury but was sadly disappointed. The in-room spa was small and we had trouble fitting in it (we're not skinny but we're not huge either). The tv was very small and you got a sore neck looking up at it. The best thing about this place is the location, but
I wouldn't recommend it - you can get much better value for money elsewhere. I think they have a nerve charging what they do.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thor H, Owner at Swan Valley Oasis Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We thank the guest for the positive feedback and constructive criticism. We value highly the input of our customers.

We are currently installing solar panels which will generate the electricity for the resort in the future adding to our "green" credentials. We chose to do this in the winter to minimise disruption to guests. We had to remove the solar heating for the pool while this was happening. Therefore the pool was not heated and we elected to close the amenity. We apologise to the guest for the inconvenience.

We take on board that the customer felt they did not receive value for money in the room and will conduct a management review of the price and amenitites. We have already determined to change the layout of the room so we can install a larger TV and change its position in the room, and to make some other minor changes, but we will look at what else needs to be done.
We will continue to strive to meet our customers expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This resort has the most beautiful grounds & the friendliest staff. We booked for one night & then stayed for another because we were having a great time. The lady on reception was very helpful in directing us to different places to eat & visit. We had lunch in their restaurant on Sunday. It was very busy, but we still got the same friendly service. The receptionist was helping out in the restaurant too & she came over especially to make sure we were looked after. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meanpeople, Owner at Swan Valley Oasis Resort, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
It is so lovely to get a review that reflects what we try to achieve every day for every customer. As a small family owned operation we can be flexible and offer great hospitality. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at the Swan Valley Oasis Resort for our 4 year anniversary, and it was a complete waste of time. The service was beyond disgusting! Upon arrival, we were shown to our "room" - it was more like a closet. The pictures on their website of their "spacious, luxurious rooms" were very misleading. If you were claustrophobic, you wouldn't be able to spend more than 5 minutes in there.

The facilities in the room were outdated and faulty, with the reverse cycle air conditioning only blowing out cool air (not to mention the instructions provided were ridiculous); the heater provided was bulky and because of the lack of power points was always in the way (we had to position it next to the bed - fire hazard!); the spa which was claimed to be accommodating to 2 people was small and if you were any larger than an average weight or height would not be able to fit in there with anybody; the fan in the bathroom was loud and did nothing to remove steam and condensation when having a shower/bath; the shower was not separate from the bath and if you were elderly or had any injuries you would not be able to get into the spa to have a shower.

After arrival, we wandered down to the restaurant, which is advertised as being open 7 days a week for all services. When we asked if we could make a booking we were outright refused and sent away, only to be chased a few minutes later with a menu and told our only option was room service. Because nothing else was open in the Swan Valley on a Monday, this was our only option. The chicken parmigiana was disgusting and overpriced, and it was obvious that the food was not prepared by a chef. If it was, they need to reconsider their choice of staff in their kitchens. It was also obvious that the "waitress" knew nothing else was open in the area when she came rushing out.

We went down to the restaurant again the next morning to book a table for breakfast, only to find that the restaurant was not open. This was at 9am. We had no choice but to travel to Midland (which is 20-25 minutes away) just to eat breakfast. When we returned to the hotel at approx 2pm, we went back to our room to discover that the cleaners had not been to our room. We went down to the restaurant again to make a booking for dinner. Again, we were refused and when we asked why we could not book, their excuse was "because we have no other bookings." This was the last straw. The only decent service we had been given at the hotel during the past 2 days was at the Supa Golf. When we came back from playing golf, our room had been cleaned and we had been left a note saying that we could make a booking at their restaurant. This struck me as odd that they knew who complained and what room we were staying in. Then we realised that we were the only people staying here! You would think that they would try to please their only patrons but obviously this was not the case and we had been totally forgotten about. We ignored the note and ordered Dominoes (which was again far better service than the hotel was providing us.)

The next morning we went down to the restaurant AGAIN only to discover it was closed AGAIN This was at 8:30am. We decided we weren't going to put up with this disgusting hospitality and packed our bags. Upon entering reception and demanding a refund for our last night's stay, we were met with complaints about how the receptionist was "waiting for us to call to book a table until 11:30pm and because she was waiting she got no sleep", that "we had no idea how much it costs to have people in the kitchen ($35/hr) and that we can't expect them to pay people to wait around for us to book a table", that "we can't just wander down to the restaurant and expect to get service (this was after we told her that we were trying to make a booking when we went in there and that we weren't just walking in)", and that "we should be grateful that we were given room service because we don't do that for everybody (it is advertised in their room guide that they offer room service)". We were also accused of being from a different country (we are locals) and that we were never at the hotel so they assumed we wouldn't want to eat there. We were there, holed up in our hotel room, and if we weren't there it was because there was nothing to do at the hotel, the room was tiny that we were suffocating in there and we couldn't eat there because none of their services allowed us to! We eventually got our refund after her continual complaints about doing her job and left fuming.

We DO NOT recommend this hotel to anybody. Unless you are prepared to starve for the entirety of your stay, be subject to rude customer service and complaints of doing their jobs, be mislead by false advertising and are willing to sleep in a closet, go right ahead. Absolutely disgusting service. My partner and I will never travel to the Swan Valley again if this is the kind of service that is to be expected.

Room Tip: All the rooms are outdated, not much to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Swan Valley Oasis Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Like many hospitality and tourism businesses, we experience periods when we are not busy.
It is fair to say that, in these times, we have to cut our cloth to suit our budget. However, these comments have highlighted shortfalls in our service and we apologise for not providing the level of service we would normally. We have a commitment to continual improvement and will immediately address the issues of service raised.

Where maintenance has been highlighted, we will address that.

As for the decor and amenities, these have been upgraded in the last two years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

hi had a one night stay over and was not expecting much because of some of the bad rewiews, so when we arrived at reception the lady was very nice and offered us a spa room and when asked could we have upstairs it was no probelem. The room was very nice and clean and had good amenities, if staying longer would have taken a few nibbles with us, but can go to the kioski. We had a drink in the brewery next door and had lunch at the Mad Hatters and then went on to a wedding, had a lovely time and had a really good sleep at the Oasis Resort

Room Tip: ask for facing the pool, could be noisy on other side by the brewry
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meanpeople, Owner at Swan Valley Oasis Resort, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you. The staff strive to make each person's stay a pleasant one and really appreciate this feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Swan Valley Oasis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Valley Oasis Resort

Address: 10250 West Swan Road, Henley Brook, Swan, Western Australia 6055, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Swan > Henley Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Henley Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As an owner operated business we can offer our guests warm, flexible hospitality. We are located just 35 minutes from the CBD and 20 minutes from the airports. We're in the Swan Valley, Western Australia's oldest wine growing region, which means you can enjoy the feel of the countryside with the convenience of access to the city. The resort is set in 63 acres of landscaped gardens with an Aboriginal gallery and gift shop, a micro brewery, supa golf and laser tag all on site. There are 43 wineries within easy reach as well as restaurants, breweries and attractions. Some within walking distance. Enjoy a visit to the wildlike park, the ice creamery and English lolly shop, the cuddly animal farm and the reptile park. Or just chill out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Swan Valley Oasis Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Valley Oasis Resort Henley Brook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swan Valley Oasis Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.