We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An extraordinary experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Round Hill Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free Winter
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Rastede, Germany
1 review
“An extraordinary experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

This hotel is a real experience. The location, the design and the service is unbelievable. Never felt that comfortable and pampered.

Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    76
    27
    15
    12
See reviews for
247
314
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

We just stayed in a villa before Christmas this year for a week and had a wonderful time- excellent service, delicious food and gracious and accomodating staff! We have been before and will go back again!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

THE GOOD- amazing food- the best we've ever had in the Caribbean. Beautiful, clean room. Lovely housekeeping staff. Good massage.
THE BAD- do not, i repeat DO NOT stay at this resort while there is a wedding taking place. Weddings here take priority through the entire weekend (not just during the actual event). The very large class-less group of wedding guests took over the entire resort, and were belligerent drunks. THE GROOMS MOTHER SPOUTED PROFANITY AT US FOR LOOKING TOO CLOSELY AT THE RESORT BUFFET- apparently she was under the impression we were trying to "cut her in line". Had a similar experience by the pool. When brought to the managements attention nothing was done. We weren't looking for them to throw us any freebies as people often do- we just wanted them to speak with the wedding to ensure that their behavior wouldn't ruin the remainder of our vacation. After all there is a rather strict dress code indicative of a classy resort. Staff would do nothing of the sort- as they were making far more $$ off of the wedding then us that weekend. NEVER EVEN RECEIVED AN APOLOGY FROM MANAGEMENT.
for the $2700 or so dollars we spend there over a 4 night stay this is unacceptable. We travel to Jamaica 3 times per year- you are better off to stay at the amazing Caves Resort, or the more affordable and 10 times more enjoyable Tensing Pen.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamaustrian, Managing Director at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, January 17, 2010
I would like to offer my sincere apologies on behalf of all us at here at Round Hill. I fully recognize that we as management must always be responsive and alert to any possible conflict that can arise between all our valued guests.

Small to medium destination weddings are an important source of business during the off season from May to October for mid size luxury resorts like us. Generally, our very extensive grounds, the many private villas and pools ensure that all our guests will be able to enjoy their cherished intimacy yet still receive the personal service and attention that we are so well known for. It pains me therefore to know that we failed in this instance. Again, my sincere apologies and please let me know if we will get another chance to make it up to you.

One Love,
Josef Forstmayr
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

I absolutely LOVE Round Hill! From the moment you check in and Kingsley escorts you to your villa, and in, by the way, the most gentlemanly fashion, you feel at home. Beautiful setting, delicious food, well-decorated, comfortable accomodations. I was also quite pleased with the new international acquaintances we met, and the extra effort the tennis staff made to make certain my son Ben\'s trip was SAFE and memorable. Worth every penny! Will be back next year when I convince my fiance that this is THE PLACE in Jamaica. See you then! Anne

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

We came to Round Hill following 5 days in Havana, Cuba. It was pure bliss after the headiness of Havana; Havana itself was a great trip but the exhaust filled streets, generally poor service and limited restaurants meant we were more than ready for some idyllic relaxation. And we found it at Round Hill!

This is classic old world charm and luxury, with a upgrade in that the hotel - Pineapple House - rooms were all recently redone by Ralph Lauren. The resort is in its own cove and comprises almost 30 private villas (owned by a distinguished list who rent out the villas when they are not using them) and the approximately 40 room Pineapple House. The emphasis here is on low key luxury, and it had all the feelings of a 1960-70s era hotel where Sean Connery as Bond would have felt eminently at home.

We stayed in a room on the ground floor of the Pineapple House. The downstair rooms have outdoor patios, whereas the upstairs rooms have loftier ceilings and better views of the sea. The predominantly white colour scheme is accentuated with blue cushions and a fuschia coloured throw over the very comfortable lounger chair where I fell asleep in more than once.

The food is excellent and there is very little reason to leave the property (in fact we left a total of one time during our 4 night stay, and that was to go to Tryall to play - a very expensive round of - golf). We looked forward to dinners especially when the Terrace would be set up elegantly and a themed buffet would usually be presented as well as an a la carte menu. I am usually very dubious of buffets, but Round Hill puts together a first class selection of food. Over the four nights there, we had a Prime Rib night, a French night and a Lobster beach night when the tables were moved to the beach itself and we sat two metres away from the lapping waves. The ingredients take advantage of the abundant produce freshly grown in Jamaica and I was particularly enthralled by their oversized and most flavourful arugula leaves. Their seared tuna salad was simply amazing, and those lobsters were as fresh as you could get.

There is a nice jogging/walking track along the perimeter of the property as well which gives a good way to stretch the muscles and work off the meals.

The average age at Round Hill looked to be 40-60 so we were certainly among the younger ones there, although there were some families with younger kids as well.

The service was smiles and graciousness all the way through. Given we went to Havana first, this was such a world apart and most welcome.

Overall, a blissful and timely visit to one of the great classic hotel resorts in the world in our view. Little wonder than JFK honeymooned here. And they are fully deserving of the entries/selections they are featured in within the many "top 100" resort destination books that they rightfully display in the coffee table of your room.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

Round Hill is simply an amazing spot. The chief attractions of Mo'Bay are the beach and the stunning views once you are tucked up away from the town; Round Hill is the only place you can experience these in a totally full-service environment where you never need to leave the grounds.
We shared two villas with friends and they were impeccably appointed in classic colonial-tropical style with huge lanais (can you call it a lanai in Jamaica?) and sweeping coastline views. Several villas have pools, giving you the choice of staying "home" or heading down to the small, gorgeous beach.
All the hotel facilities are great- the restaurant is spot-on and the bar makes you truly feel like a character in some luxurious colonial epic. Afternoon tea is served every day! The spa especially is consistently fantastic, which is unusual in the Caribbean. They use Elemis products- top quality. We had massages from John and Richard and both were great. You can also have the spa services AT your villa....wonderful for those lazy evenings. We had a few nights where we did not move from our deck, with massages, swims, and finally a chef in the villa making delicious dinner.
Jamaica is a gorgeous island with a serious dearth of five-star accommodations and virtually no real villa experiences. We've stayed at Goldeneye in Ocho Rios which is lovely but Round Hill has so much more to offer, better services, is much easier to get to, and is closer to fun "off campus" experiences. The staff will arrange any trip you might want to take to explore Jamaica...and every night you will be back at your warm, luxurious, welcoming villa, watching the waves!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny ny
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

From the moment I stepped onto the property I felt as if any and all of my stress had left me and at that moment on I was in a relaxed state of mind. I loved being right on the ocean hearing the sounds it makes as I drifted to sleep. My bathroom had a big tub and separate rain shower. I was in heaven. Loved it so much I extended my stay. Great property, staff, and food!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Round Hill Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica
Round Hill Hotel & Villas Jamaica/Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Round Hill Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.