We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury done well!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Save Saved
You added Round Hill Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
One Love at Round Hill
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hopewell
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Luxury done well!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Round Hill Hotel & Villas is worth every penny! Not only were the accommodations impeccable but the service, the food, the ambience, location and the staff placed this resort at the absolute top of the list of hotels I've stayed in in the Caribbean. Aside from just strongly encouraging anyone thinking of a relaxing and worry-free trip to a beautiful island to please chose this resort - there isn't much else I can say. You really have to experience this one of a kind and rare wonder!

Thank you Round Hill for and unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: The resort is breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for the nomination as one of the top hotels in the Caribbean. We are elated to be considered in this elite category. We are happy to know that we were able to exceed your expectations and create a memorable vacation for you. Please let us know when next you plan to return so that we can help make this return trip even more special.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    569
    68
    25
    16
    12
See reviews for
216
279
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed in villa 11 and my first impression was "Wow!" -- the cottage was very nice and cosy, we had a wonderful seaview, though the villa itself was hidden in vegetation which gave us all the privacy we needed.

The property is meticulously maintained. The stuff are very complaisant and always ready to help, we specificly adored our maids Jennifer, Euline and of course Blossom, who also cooked incredible omlettes. It was low season, so there were always plenty of sun beds available on the beach.

The thing that got us all ( we were a party of 5) a little upset was the menu. The catering was ok (though not great), but the menu was very short and we had to order the same dishes for ten days in a row. So by the end of the 1st week we all started to skip meals & lose weight (which, on the other side, is good).
The spa was a disappointment -- after all the great reviews I had read I expected something tremendous, but it turned out to be pretty average and btw in need of a little renovation in my opinion.
One more thing: my husband had his 30th anniversary during our stay and taking into consideration the fact that Round Hill is marketed as "long one of the most beautiful and elegant boutique resorts in the Caribbean" and all the staff seemed to know us by sight and we were one of the few guests they were having at the moment, the management somehow missed this "event". Of course it's a little thing but the impression you get from anything consists of those little thing and people tend to rate a service not only by meeting expectations but by exceeding them. So I think it would be great if the reception managers paid attention to dates of birth when guests check in and maybe sent greeting-cards or flowers on occasions like this.

Anyway our vacation was fabulous and I'm sure to recommend this resort to my friends.

Room Tip: villa 11 and 18 are incredible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your feedback on your recent vacation with us. We value your comments as it gives us an opportunity to serve our customers better. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed staying in cottage 11 with its spectacular view. I must apologize for the areas in which we fell short and did not live up to your expectations. I am sorry that we missed your husband's special event. Our Chef constantly reviews our menu offerings in an attempt to provide our guests with the freshest and tastiest meals, so we will review your comments and take corrective action to prevent any repetition. We hope that you will stay with us when your travel plans bring you back to Jamaica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Absolutely loved every minute of it. I went for a wedding but would definitely return again. Priceless views of the ocean, wonderful staff including bartenders. Even though it was not all inclusive it was worth the $$$.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for coming to Round Hill to participate in the wedding of family/friends. We are delighted that you had a great time and look forward to your return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I don't really want to write a review for Round Hill.

Despite the unquestionable democracy and helpfulness of Trip Advisor I really want to keep Round Hill a secret all to myself.

So all I'm going to say is that we had a fabulous time here and it is the best resort/hotel complex that I have ever stayed at in my life.

Faultless.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Values Guest,

It was such a pleasure meeting you and your lovely wife. I thoroughly enjoyed our chats and am happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with us. We hope that you will share the secret to some of your close friends as we look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Round hill is simply beautiful. Our villa was in a jungle setting with fabulous views of the ocean. Breakfast on our terrace was cooked to order by the lovely staff. Everyone at Round Hill is very nice and accommodating. We've had some "tropical" insects and mosquitos in our room, but the hotel provides for coils and mosquito netting, and you really are in the jungle! BBQ on the beach is not to be missed but the dinning room dinner is just okay. The overall experience at Round Hill is fabulous and really special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your comments on your recent vacation. We are happy to know that your enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff to be accommodating and friendly. As it is the rainy season, we fog the property more often to eliminate mosquitos and other bugs. Thanks once again for staying with us. All of us look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We recently returned from our 2nd stay at Hillside Villa @ Round Hill. We always choose a villa that has a membership at Round Hill because we love spending time there and staying on property is even better!! The staff at Hillside and Round Hill are fabulous, the views & food are unbeatable and the combination makes Jamaica our favorite travel spot!! We have been 15+ times and always stay in a villa and we always book through Linda Smith www.jamaicavillas.com, again impeccable service & they never disappoint!! I highly recommend the villa vacation & Round Hill for a Jamaican vacation you will LOVE!!!

Room Tip: we have not stayed in the hotel rooms at Round Hill but I feel confident that are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Valued Past Guest,

Thanks for your wonderful comments and for choosing Round Hill for a second visit. It is so good to receive such wonderful comments especially from our loyal past guests. .Thanks also for the wonderful recommendation. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

There are few places in the world where tradition merges seamlessly with modern style and luxury, but Round Hill is one such special place. The superb staff and management make this fusion seem effortless, but clearly the amount of dedication and hard work needed to make Round Hill such a unique experience must be enormous. Virtually nothing is overlooked, although no one hovers or intrudes upon your enjoyment of the truly breathtaking setting. This is a place to unwind -- and in an almost literal sense, as you can feel the tensions and cares of your "other" life lose their grip on your psyche, minute by minute and hour by hour, during your stay at Round Hill. The only dark cloud on the horizon, you may come to feel, is the date and time of your return flight. One understands why the likes of Noel Coward and the Kennedys found Round Hill to be the perfect respite.

Now for some specifics. We stayed in a villa, and it was decorated beautifully with most of the living space open-air; the small staff was incredibly gracious and attentive and served us a wonderful breakfast each morning by the pool. We used the spa one day, and the service was impeccable and the facilities excellent (including the numerous spots to lounge on the lan that rolls down to the sea from the Spa itself). The beach, ininity pool, and water sports were also fabulous. Afternoon tea and meals at the Grill were top-notch, as were drinks at the beach bar and in the Bar. When we asked to look at some of the other villas (since we WILL be going back, and wanted to know what options were available), Kingsley, the concierge, whisked us around to see a number of other villas, each more sumptuous than the last. So I can say with some confidence that our impression of Round Hill was not unduly influenced by the beauty of the one villa in which we stayed.

All in all, unless your tastes run to mega-resorts with 15 mediocre restaurants and lazy river pools and waterslides, it would be hard to even imegine a more perfect Caribbean resort -- one that is steeped in history but treats even its newest guests, like us, as if they were heads of state.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your wonderful feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations and was able to provide the perfect respite for you. The charm of the resort complimented by the personalized service and attention by the staff is what sets us apart. We look forward to your return visit to enjoy Round Hill one more time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Round Hill Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Hotel
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica
Round Hill Hotel & Villas Jamaica/Montego Bay
Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Hopewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Expedia, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Round Hill Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.