We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great As Always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Round Hill Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free Winter
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great As Always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just returned from a long weekend at Round Hill. This was my first return to Round Hill since my stays with my parents in the 80's-90's. I feel Round Hill has aged well and his gotten better. The things that I remembered are still found from the friendliness of the staff to the beautiful kept grounds. There is always someone near if you need something. It was great hearing the staff telling guests how many years they have been associated with Round Hill. This doesn't happen often in our world today. I was happy to see many young couples enjoying their stay more so than in the past. David and Delano around the pool and bar were great to talk with as was Stewart around the beach bar. Jackie and Lois in the dining room and bars were fabulous and remembered things we liked and were delightful to chat with. Our last morning a few of the staff found us to say, "Good bye" and hope we would be coming back soon. Junior was great taking us back to the airport and wishing us "good bye and safe travels" and looked forward to our return. Perfect relaxing long weekend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Valued Past Guest,

Thanks for continuing to return to Round Hill. This year, we celebrate our 60th anniversary and this could not be possible without our loyal returning guests who keep coming back year after year. While we must make improvements to stay fresh, we keep focused on what makes Round Hill special - the friendliness of our staff and the old world charm and feel of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for many more return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    76
    27
    15
    12
See reviews for
247
313
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

If you are looking for a "Spring Break" experience this is not for you; but if a quiet, scenic, relaxing vacation is what you are looking for - you will be more than satisfied. As others have mentioned, the grounds are lovely and the service outstanding. I would describe the hotel section as small, joined bungalows, all with views of the Caribbean and the rooms are nice. We enjoyed a private villa with its own pool and breakfast made to order on the patio. If you want romantic and secluded - this is for you. Keep in mind there are no TVs in the rooms and only a few of the owners have them in their villas. There is a large screen TV in the Pineapple room that is available to all, anytime of the day. And they have complimentary Wi-Fi - if you have a laptop or tablet - you can always watch on that. There is only one restaurant on the property and while we thought the food was excellent there were a few nights we weren't satisfied with the options available and wished there was another restaurant or resort close by. As I mentioned before, this is not the place to stay if you are looking for late night action. The restaurant closes by 10:30pm and there is no other bar on the property. If taking a private moonlit walk on the beach before retiring for the night sounds like your thing then this would be a good choice for you. Speaking of the beach the snorkeling was great - we saw many different kinds of fish, stingrays, turtles, etc all right off the pier. May and June are the rainy months though and it rained every afternoon while we were there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your wonderful comments on your recent stay. We pride ourselves on providing a relaxing vacation in a tranquil environment. Despite the rain, we are happy to hear that your enjoyed your vacation and look forward to many more return trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

we just returned from round hill resort and had a fabulous time. we were looking for a boutique resort, that was kid friendly, which was very hard to find. round hill exceeded our expectations. the property was beautiful, and our entire family had a great time. the kids club, and nanny services made it so easy to enjoy great dinners and pool time as well. i would definitely recommend staying at round hill to others!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing Round Hill for your family vacation. We are delighted to know that the entire family enjoyed themselves and we exceeded your expectations. We cater to everyone's needs, so the young and young at heart will definitely find their own pleasures. All of us look forward to welcoming you back for another great family vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Round Hill and I cannot wait to go back. The grounds are gorgeous. The staff is superb and the hotel is perfectly simple and elegant. I will encourage everyone to experience this hotel.

Room Tip: The cottages are the way to go!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing Round Hill for your second honeymoon. The property is romantic and ideal for two people in love. We are happy that we were able to create wonderful memories on your special occasion and look forward to your return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I were scheduled to arrive on a Saturday and stay till Thursday, but our flight had mechanical problems and we missed our connection to Jamaica. We had to stay the night in Miami and fly out early the next morning.
Round Hill's staff and Expedia's staff worked together to rearrange our departure date from Thursday to Friday, and rescheduled our airport pickup. The staff even knew exactly who we were and what our situation was without us having to say a word! The general manager even met us at dinner that night and immediately knew our names and the ordeal we'd been through to get there! How awesome is that?

Every single person we encountered during our trip was exceptionally polite and accommodating. Evadne (I hope I'm spelling that right!) was at our villa every morning to prepare our breakfast, coffee and tea. We'll miss her when we get back home!

The beach, while small, was gorgeous and the water was perfect. The snorkeling was a blast, and my wife and I will never forget it (it was our first time).

Room service was prompt and delicious. Everything arrived hot and fresh. I thought the caesar salad was delicious, and the burgers are excellent. The restaurant serves wonderful, genuinely good food. The dishes aren't overly seasoned or fussy. The dining room itself isn't pretentious or overly formal, and the open kitchen is beautiful and a treat to watch.

The only let downs of the trip were:

A. The cottage being torn down across the way (jackhammers and rock blasting? Really?!)

B. The spa. We were expecting something a bit more full service- with a locker room, showers, a sauna, maybe some hot tubs to soak in after the massage. Seems to me it was no more than a hallway connecting the treatment rooms and a workout facility. If there was more, it was not pointed out to us. We changed together in a bathroom, were led to our treatment rooms, and shown the door afterwards. Plus, there was an A/C unit in the hallway outside my massage room that was buzzing very loudly, and the therapist seemed surprised when I asked her to turn it off (it wasn't even hot, as it was pouring rain outside) - as if the jackhammers and dynamite by our room weren't enough, right?

Neither of those two things came even close to ruining the trip for us, which says a lot considering the circumstances. Our stay, overall, was fantastic!

We're going to miss this place, and look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Shoot for cottage 3, room 38 if you're staying in a villa. The bookshelf is stocked with a fanta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your wonderful comments about your recent stay. We are happy to know that we surpassed your expectations in many ways. We must apologize for the noise from the renovations of one of our cottages. Am sure that when it is completed, our guests will enjoy the wonderful improvements. The upgrade to the spa/fitness centre is being explored and when done, should offer the amenities/facilities mentioned. We thank you for your understanding and your patience and we invite you back to experience all the wonderful things that make Round Hill special. All of us look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I'm being fair by rating this place 2 stars. I stayed in a villa with a shared pool, 3-4 villas shared the same pool (aka "semi private"). I agree with SarahXS's review, the resort was completely overrated.

The food was not what they advertised. Most were not kept at proper temperatures or handled properly. The food was NOT good and tasted like it came out of a 3 star all inclusive hotel like the holiday inn. What made matters worse was the service! Everything took forever. One night my A/C broke (it was HOT) and it took them over 6 hours to get to my room, no exaggeration. If I asked for anything extra like mosquito coils- they would never arrive. My iphone also got stolen.

The only good food comes out of the beach grill, the chef has pride in the food he is serving-- unlike the other staff here who reluctantly do their job. Also expect to tip like your jay z on top of the automatic 15% or whatever it is. I also had a few good breakfasts in my room but there was a few that arrived weird- for example the oatmeal tasted like fish sauce was in it.

For the money I spent (about 10,000 for 2) I would have stayed somewhere else. I wasted my time and money here. Yes it's beautiful but for the money there is so much better out there. Why pay 5 star prices for 1 star service??

the exception: The spa was amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Stacey212,

We are very sorry that you were disappointed with your recent stay. Our culinary program is a sustainable one that focuses on using the freshest, tastiest and most nutritious ingredients from our on property organic vegetable garden and sourced from local farmers and fishermen. Our executive chef and his team take great pride in combining these ingredients to create gastronomic experiences for our valued guests, therefore we truly regret that the food service and quality of food did not live up to your expectation.

Our rates attract a 15% service charge therefore any additional tipping is at the discretion of our guests.

Thank you for sharing your comments and allowing us to take the appropriate action where necessary to ensure that all our guests experience the warm and impeccable service that is synonymous with Round Hill. We wish you all the best in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I carefully chose Round Hill as a surprise birthday destination birthday trip. Really, I just about wore TripAdvisor out! Round Hill pulled through with a great, great experience. Our goals were romance, quiet, scenery, spa, beach and cuisine. Our room was very nice. The service was absolutely perfect. Our dining experiences were terrific, especially the in-suite breakfasts. The beach is so sweet and the spa (while overly expensive) is really wonderful. There's also the panache of the rich and famous: Hollywood history, the JFK visits and the current neighbor Ralph Lauren whom we saw every day. Go!!! It's easy to get there!!! The fellow guests are terribly interesting as well.

Room Tip: They are very wiling to show you empty units in case you want to move. There's quite a differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for the wonderful feedback on your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you had a great vacation. We look forward to welcoming you back to Round Hill for many more visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Round Hill Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica
Round Hill Hotel & Villas Jamaica/Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Round Hill Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.