We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Spin Me Right Round Baby, Right Round!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Round Hill Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free Winter
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
San Diego, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“You Spin Me Right Round Baby, Right Round!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We visited Round Hill in July 2012 for 5 nights and had a lovely time.

First the positives.....the property and grounds are beautiful and well maintained. The staff, especially the villa staff, was absolutely wonderful. Two women cooked us up scrumptious breakfasts every morning. They were so sweet and a delight to get to know. Our gardener was laid back, took care of us ;-) and we enjoyed his company as well. The villa pool and the RH pool were nice. I was especially pleased that we never had to battle for pool chairs or wait for towels.

The negatives.....it's pricey and sometimes I questioned whether we truly got our moneys worth. The villa we stayed in was dated and on the worn side. There were dirty socks left behind by a previous vacationer, that housekeeping must have missed. The food at the restaurant was not great. We did the meal plan and then regretted it. We're from CA and were surprised that the men had to wear dress slacks to the restaurant. When we talked to the restaurant manager, he was unwilling to budge on this issue so we were forced to go out and buy slacks for my husband. I thought, especially since it was off season, this was a little extreme. We both got massages at the spa that were excellent!

Next time, and there will be a next time since the positives definitely outweighed the negative, we won't rent a car, we will not do the meal plan, we will stock our kitchen with more red stripe to avoid paying the exorbitant amount RH charges and we'll bring dress pants!

If you have a chance, check out The Houseboat Grill in Montego Bay, which is about a 15 minute drive from RH. It was excellent!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us at Round Hill. Rest assured that we are all committed to providing all our guests with the most memorable vacation experience. We have noted your comments and will review with the respective department heads so that we can make the necessary corrective action where appropriate. We are happy to hear that the positives with your stay definitely outweighed the negatives and as such, you plan to return. All of us look forward to welcoming you back .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    76
    27
    15
    12
See reviews for
247
314
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

grounds are beautiful, setting wonderful, food divine, but none of this would matter if the staff wasn't as incredible as they are. Front desk, maid service, beach service, restaurant staff,gift shop women.....just the nicest people!

Room Tip: very small hotel . all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for your wonderful comments about your recent stay. Also, thanks for the kudos about the friendliness of the staff...they are truly our stars that make us shine. We look forward to welcoming you back with our warm smiles and our lovely Jamaican hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

we went to Round Hill for lunch as we had a stop over for about 7 days. we had a wonderful breakfast and then a wonderful lunch at the hotel. The views were amazing. The staff were very helpful and the menu was great. It looked like you could stay there for a week and eat at the same place without getting bored. The wine menu was also great with reasonable price range. However, if you are planning to go to Jamaica with Virgin Atlantic in Premium Economy or Upper Class, DO NOT.

We checked-in online and printed our boarding passes for this flight. At the airport we proceeded directly to departures, arriving at the gate more than an hour before the delayed departure, but within an hour of the scheduled departure. Arriving at the gate before boarding had commenced, I was told we had been bumped off the flight; lost our seats. At this point I was reminded of the text on the printed boarding pass informing passengers that they should report to the gate 45 minutes before scheduled departure. Interestingly, this sentence is not in bold, whereas 3 other paragraphs are, including one promoting Virgin currency services. However, when I checked-in online a mere 24 hours beforehand, I was informed via confirmation email: If you don't have any luggage to check in you can head straight to departures. Please make sure you check your flight details below, and bring your passport, e-ticket receipt or paper ticket and other travel documents to the airport with you.

We HAD DONE ALL OF THAT CORRECTLY and have done it before many times, including even travelling to Havana with Virgin Atlantic. We had paid for our ticket. Check-in is only allowed 24 hours beforehand, so it’s not as though we would forget our international flight!

On the day the flight was delayed and the gate was clearly busy, so we stayed in the Club Mobay lounge a little longer. Eventually we arrive at the gate ‘late’, but over an hour before notified delayed departure and before any boarding had commenced.
We lost our Premium Economy seats for the long overnight flight, and eventually flew economy. DO NOT FLY WITH VIRGIN TO JAMAICA, IT SEEMS THE DESK AT THE AIRPORT RESELLS TICKETS WITHOUT ANY EXCUSE. THE AIRLINE STAFF SAID THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO AS THE HAD OVERSOLD THE FLIGHT.

Room Tip: We are going back and staying at the Pineapple House. It is nice for couples and quiet private. I am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for staying with us at Round Hill. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation and was very impressed with the staff, food and property. Sorry about the problems experienced with Virgin Airways, which was a very unfortunate situation. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We returned last week totally relaxed from one of the most stress free holidays we have ever had. Having both travelled extensively in the Carribbean, this is a true gem. Every member of staff was friendly and any requests were more than happily and promptly dealt with.
Pineapple House offers a comfortable and stylish environment with fabulous views from the upper rooms. The pool and beach are heavenly and we will certainly be returning as the 14 days we spent here simply flew.
Special thanks to Jackie, our house maid, David the lifeguard and the ever smiling Shane and Larry at their respective bars. Omar thank you for all your advice concerning our 2014 holiday.

Room Tip: If you are looking for spectacular views across the bay and easy reach to the infinity pool and beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for choosing Round Hill for your vacation. We are delighted that you were able to experience our little gem had a wonderful stay. All of us definitely look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I have been vacationing at Round Hill for many years, both with our children and on our own. Each time we visit we seem to love the place even more. The resort has timeless elegance that is unmatched. We always stay in the Pineapple House and find the Ralph Lauren decorated rooms there to be beautiful and quite comfortable. Only negative is there almost no place to put your clothes away but we've just learned not to bring too much. Most of the rooms on the lower level have private patios and with some you can can walk out directly to the stunning infinity pool from your room which is a plus. The lower level rooms are not quite as private as the upstairs rooms but it's a trade off. The upstairs rooms have beautiful high ceilings and are very light and airy.
The pool and the beach areas are lovely and well maintained. The intimate, adult only, Spa is heavenly. Often we spend the better part of the day there relaxing, exercising and enjoying a delicious Spa lunch prepared by the caring and attentive staff.
This small resort, less then 1/2 hour from the Montego Bay airport, is perfect in almost every way. If you are you are in search of pure relaxation, excellent and friendly service, well prepared, locally sourced food and peace and quiet there is no place better then Round Hill.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Valued Past Guest,

Thanks for your wonderful comments and for continuing to choose Round Hill as your preferred destination spot. We are happy to hear that you continue to fall more in love with the resort on each visit. We continue to make improvements to the property so that we can continue to please all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to experience our island hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The Round Hill simply is perfect! Magnificent location, most friendly staff, best food ...
The pool and the beach are fantastic. There is a high level entertainment programm on most evenings. We will surely come back.

Room Tip: Oceanview, upper floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for the wonderful comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return visits in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We love Round Hill. This was our 11th visit; our family of 4 has stayed in many different villas and enjoyed the entire property each time. Our private villa with pool, the staff of each villa, tennis, the fitness centre and the beach are all standouts. Our children have vacationed here since they were infants, and as they grow, they have different activities that fit their needs/wants. They are so happy to be there, and are independant while on this safe and for them, familiar property. The watersports team is outstanding, and have opened up the sea to our boys and us, in a safe and nurturing manner.
We don't leave the resort, it has all we want and need for a perfect warm weather vacation1

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Valued Past Guests,

Thanks for your wonderful comments. It is such a pleasure to receive these glowing reviews especially when they are given by our many times repeat guests. We truly value these comments and will share with the staff who have been here over the years especially while the children were growing up. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back for a 12th visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Round Hill Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica
Round Hill Hotel & Villas Jamaica/Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Round Hill Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.