We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding getaway near Montego Bay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Round Hill Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Your Summer Escape
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Wausau, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Outstanding getaway near Montego Bay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week at Round Hill with our two young children. We had a wonderful and relaxing vacation and hope to return. We are a little self-conscious traveling with young kids, but found Round Hill to be very welcoming and accommodating for families.

The pros:

- Stayed in a villa, which was fantastic. Take your time to choose a villa that meets your needs, as they do vary considerably in size and layout. No AC except in the bedrooms -- not a big issue for us, but good to know.

- Outstanding service. Staff across the resort knew us by name within a day of our arrival. We had several special requests (stuff in fridge for kids, cribs, etc) -- it seemed like nothing was too much trouble. The staff at our villa were wonderful.

- Excellent location. Beautiful grounds, fabulous views of the sea, 20 minutes from MBJ airport.

- Excellent food. Very pleased with the restaurants. The room service menu is somewhat limited.

- Great beach. This place does not suffer from the problem of having only a few desirable beach chairs occupied only by bottles of sunblock all day long.

- Booked our stay with a great promotion (buy 4 nights, get 3 free), making our stay an unusually good value.

Cons:

- None, really. Dinner at 7:30 is a bit late for our kids, who are generally in bed by then. I doubt this is a problem for many other guests. Workarounds include room service (dinner available at 6:30) and child care, which is readily available.

Round Hill is different than many Caribbean resorts. It is elegant without being stuffy, classic without feeling old. Honeymooners and families would both be happy here, which is a little unusual. Overall, we had a wonderful stay and hope to return. Round Hill is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks for choosing Round Hill for your family vacation. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for your suggestion regarding an early family dinner, which we can always facilitate. Please let us know when you would like to return to our island paradise for another great family vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    84
    31
    16
    12
See reviews for
265
337
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This was my second trip to Round Hill and it is truly one of the nicest Caribbean resorts that I have been to. The service is outstanding, and that makes such a huge difference - you can order a car and it actually comes at the appointed time! The cooked breakfasts in the cottages are such a nice way to start the day. Could not have been a nicer escape.

Room Tip: The cottages are amazing - such fabulous views and amenities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks for returning to Round Hill for a second visit. It was indeed our pleasure to cater to your needs and be able to deliver quality customer service in a timely manner. We look forward to many more return trips in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

By far the most amazing all inclusive resort we have ever been at. Came with my family, 3 small children included. Service was outstanding. Food was best we've had. Could not have asked for more. Small grounds make for an intimate experience in the most positive way

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks for choosing Round Hill for your family vacation. We are the ideal option for everyone and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having your family visit with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Roundhill is magic: a wonderful, friendly place to enjoy time with loved ones and make new friends. Can't wait to go back. The location is dreamy, the beach delightful, staff are a team who make your stay memorable. We had children age 6 and 3, a tired husband and wife and left completely refreshed with very happy memories.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks for choosing Round Hill for your family vacation. It is great to know that you were able to relax and felt refreshed upon departure. We look forward to continue to create more exceptional memories for your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the Round Hill in April 2012. We had read the reviews on TripAdvisor and had heard great things from friends of friends, so we decided to book 5 nights at the hotel. The grounds are stunning, with beautiful variety of plants and flowers. I loved how there was an area for adults only with beds and hammocks looking at the ocean.

I do not know why there are any negative reviews on the food, but the food is outstanding, very fresh. We did not choose the meal plan, but probably should have because we ate every meal but one at the Round Hill. We had friends who had ventured out for the evening to what was supposed to be one of the best restaurants in Jamaica, but they told us that the meal at the hotel was tastier and fresher. Also, the resort is quite far from the main part of Montego Bay, so a cab ride is about $40/each way. So going out to dinner in town is expensive considering it will cost at least $80 for dinner - and that doesn't even include food!

We really did not want to leave the resort, but we decided to go on a river water fall tour in the middle of the country, and we are glad we did. It was nice to see the countryside and see how the locals live. We also learned a lot about the different plant and animal life. The hotel arranged for the tour and made a great recommendation.

The rooms are very clean and fresh, but the rooms do not have TVs (had a bit of TV withdrawal, but I ended up reading 4 books in 5 days as a result!) and the wifi is spotty at best. Our vacation was exactly what we were looking for - 5 days of relaxation and a respite from our busy life back home. Although we do not have children, the resort seemed very family-friendly.

Overall, I would highly recommend the Round Hill for a luxurious and relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thanks for sharing your wonderful feedback on your trip to Round hill last year. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your vacation experience with us - from the rooms, to the food to the property. We are glad to know that Round Hill provided that respite from your busy life and so, we look forward to many return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Our family has been visiting Round Hill for over 28 years and like fine wine, it has only improved with age, as we've savored the many trips there together. From the moment one arrives and until they leave, they are warmly greeted by the staff and treated like extended family. The food is wonderfully fresh and the newly added fresh herbs and organic garden proceed to obviously enhance all of the dish's served. We thoroughly enjoyed daily doses of the Vegetable/Jerk Chicken Spring Rolls and thin crusted pizza's. The Arugula is the best and richest we have ever tasted. The evenings remain special with numerous nightly activities and a live piano bar. We also enjoyed afternoon games of gin during High Tea and sandwiches'. The peaceful views of the far mountain tops and soaring gulls above can only bring peace and happiness to any a traveler. As they say, "One Love", is clearly at Round Hill!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thanks for continuing to be loyal and supportive guests of Round Hill over the past 28 years. As past guests, we value your feedback. It means so much to us as you have seen the many improvements over the years. One of which has been our organic garden, which provides our culinary team with a daily supply of herbs and spices. We look forward to having you again for many more years. One love from all of us at Round Hill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent just one night at Round Hill Resort on our way back from Negril and Treasure beach and wish we’d spent more time here. We enjoyed a room in the Pineapple house and it exceeded our expectations in every way! Though not the “authentic Jamaica” experience, if you are seeking a luxurious place to get away from it all and enjoy time with family and friends it’s here. The classic timeless decor was stunning, staff exceptionally friendly and environment gorgeous. The jogging/walking trail within the gated property was safe and beautiful and something hard to come by in other places we stayed in Jamaica. We’ll be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omar R, General Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thanks for your overnight visit to Round Hill and your wonderful feedback. We are happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations and would like to have you back in the future for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Round Hill Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica
Round Hill Hotel & Villas Jamaica/Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Round Hill Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.