We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the Top...again...still...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Round Hill Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th Night Free Winter
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Augusta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Over the Top...again...still...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

If you spend any time reviewing Round Hill on Trip Advisor you will notice a pattern of
HIGHLY pleased guests who return again & again. It is indeed an oasis from the bustle of the world unlike any other. A welcome back at Round Hill will make you feel like you've returned home to family after a long work assignment , the stress just melts away. From the welcome back of Kingsley & all the front office staff to the daily attentive inquiries of Omar it was indeed a wonderful return visit. The food keeps getting better and better. The new dinning space overlooking the bay was just exquisite. The staff in their drive for excellence is what sets Round Hill apart, they have indeed embraced what
incredible customer service is all about and they make every day there so pleasant. We long to return again soon, it was a great setting to enjoy our 25th anniversary.

Room Tip: Keisha was exceptional in making our arrangements
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    76
    27
    15
    12
See reviews for
247
314
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester County, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

My dream is to live here... I've always been hesitant to write a review but, seems RoundHill is no longer a best kept secret. Honestly, we haven't been there since March of 2009. That year was our 5th year in a row. Had to do the obligatory WDW vaca. w/ the kiddos. Anyways... Every positive thing you read is true. The staff is the BEST thing about RH. Location is 2nd best. It is private & serene w/ understated elegance. You either get it or you don't. The beach is small but lovely, calm & warm. The food is wonderful and has improved tremendously over the years. With respect to other comments regarding the prices - I personally find RH to be very reasonable w/ their food & beverage costs - comparing w/ other 5 star properties throughout the Caribbean. The 18% gratuity is pooled and divided equally among the staff - they greatly appreciate any additional $ you leave as this goes directly into their pocket. I can not wait to return! P.S. Be sure never to miss the afternoon tea.

Room Tip: cottage 8 is spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Attended a wedding and spent 4 days at Round Hill-We were 5 people sharing Villa 15. The Best of the Best-Service, food, weather, staff, beach etc.

Every morning 2 housekeepers cooked us breakfast (leaving a menu the night before). Spent most of the day in our private pool and just experienced how the "other half lives"

Room Tip: Not one bad villa, not one bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was our second trip to Round Hill.
We were greeted with cries of "Welcome home" and the children were scooped up and hugged tightly by all the same familiar faces that had made us so welcome the previous year. We spent 2 weeks relaxing completely, making amazing new friends in Round Hill's club atmosphere and, most importantly, regrouping as a family. We didn't miss swimming in the sunset-lit sea one single evening...
We will be back again soon.
Thank you to Joseph and his inimitable team of staff.
xxx

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

I had not been to Jamaica for more than 10 years and was hesitant to return after hearing many negative comments. At Round Hill, it was still as lovely and relaxing as I remembered it. Round Hill is a special resort that retains the feeling of an unspoiled Caribbean island. Rooms and cottages are tastefully decorated with understated elegence. The beach and infinity pool are great places to swim, work on a tan and take in the beautiful views of the hillside property. Service is amazing and the staff knows your name early in your stay. The tennis is great and golf courses are nearby. The food was fresh and delicious and wonderfully prepared. Dining on a lovely outdoor terrace by the sea makes it a perfect dining experience. Round Hill is great for couples and families alike. My friend and I cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: rooms on 1st lvl of Pineapple House have terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Round Hill is a beautiful property. The staff is friendly, welcoming, hospitable, and they truly will remember you if you go back! The food is amazing as well. Everything about this place is outstanding, and it really is my favorite place in the world.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011 via mobile

Quick trip from the airport. The grounds are beautiful, the staff is friendly (but slow), the beach is average, the food is above average (but way over-priced). I would actually return if not for the loud reggae music that blared from across the bay every night until 3 in the morning. I understand that this is not the fault of the hotel, but we had to resort to wearing headphones/closing the windows to fall asleep at night.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoundHillTA, Manager at Round Hill Hotel & Villas, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and we're pleased to hear that you would be looking to return. With regards to the music that you heard, that is a very unusual occurrence as Round Hill is always a very quiet place at night. We believe it might have been associated with the national Jamaican Labor Day holiday and celebrations in the local community; please know that we have been in touch with local authorities to advise them of your experience and to ensure that this is better managed in the local community in the future. We all hope to see you again at Round Hill soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Round Hill Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Round Hill Hotel & Villas

Address: John Pringle Drive, Hopewell, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay > Hopewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hopewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Round Hill Hotel & Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Round Hill Hotel and Villas is situated on a lush 110-acre peninsula just west of Montego Bay, Jamaica. Boasting a guest list of world leaders, cultural icons and Hollywood A-listers, this classic resort continues to attract a jet-set from around the world who enjoy timeless glamour and understated luxury along with pristine natural beaches and the inimitable Caribbean waters. Accommodations include 36 Ralph Lauren-designed oceanfront guest rooms, 90 luxurious villa rooms and suites or a selection of 27 private 2 - 6 bedroom Villas – most with private pools. Other highlights include open-air terrace dining and The Grill at Round Hill, award-winning family programs, an infinity pool, tennis courts, and an Elemis spa located in a beautifully-restored 18th century plantation house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Round Hill Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Round Hill Hotel And Villas
Round Hill Resort
Round Hill Jamaica
Round Hill Hotel & Villas Jamaica/Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Round Hill Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.