We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful idyllic getaway!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neemrana's Arco Iris Noble Home

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Neemrana's Arco Iris Noble Home to your Saves list
Neemrana's Arco Iris Noble Home
House No 1384, Sinai Bagh, Goa, Curtorim 403709, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful idyllic getaway!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Writing this takes me back to a wonderful home-stay experience at Arco Iris made unique and memorable thanks to Beni, Gani, their sweet daughters T1 and T2- and the latest, very welcome addition to the family- F1 or Feni (a friendly lab) :)

My wife and I were looking for a small break from the madness and hustle of city life and it was a bit of a gamble going for a (first-time) homestay experience in a village far removed from the usual touristy beach-church-hippie market circuit. And this during the monsoon off-season when the beaches are essentially a no-go (even the shacks are closed!). The gamble really paid off in spades thanks to the Arco Iris family!

The location is beautiful, the hospitality warm and welcoming, the house restoration was evidently a labor of love with an incredible attention to detail and aesthetics. This is the kind of home most folk would aspire to making, in the kind of location they would love to settle down in- beautiful, green, quiet, idyllic but with convenient access to the city.

The rooms are spotless and beautifully furnished, with modern and well equipped attached baths, and lovely antique/local style fourposter (and very comfortable!) beds. The food was excellent and well-balanced between local Goan and continental cuisine, which just added to the comfort factor. Beni, Gani and family really went out of the way to make this the experience so memorable- from arranging and guiding us on local sight-seeing to producing a romantic midnight birthday celebration for my wife, complete with cake, flowers and candlelight out of nowhere on a single request. And I know they cooked for us when the regular cook took a day off!

I'm a bird-watcher and nature lover and I was blown away by the sheer variety of bird-life around the house- starting right from the house garden to its immediate neighborhood where I spotted hornbills, orioles, kingfishers, munias, tickell's blue flycatchers, orange-headed thrushes, rufous woodpeckers, lesser whistling ducks and several varieties of other waterbirds... all this during the monsoons, which is offseason for bird-spotting! I am sure (and I intend to try it out!) the setting is perfect for the winters as well!

Thanks, guys, for making this a wonderful getaway! :)

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room facing the rear courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
34
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

This was our second time in Arco Iris... and must admit that Beni and Ganesh are really developing thier place in a true goan style.

Go there and just relax.... every thing is perfect for a "take a break and relax" holiday. As located in South Goa it is an ideal place for people who like "less crowded" n "secluded" beaches than visiting goa's other popular and noisy beaches.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Arco Iris, Goa, is a dream come true. It is a 200 Year old Portuguese House, renovated to modern standards by Ganesh and Beni, a most charming pair of hosts, with their two lovely daughters Trusha (10) and Trikhaya (07). The house stands on an extensive property that Ganesh and Beni are developing further. It has a small number of rooms, each decorated with that delightful difference that makes it all the more charming. And so cosy, unlike a big Hotel. I think Westerners would particularly love this Home Stay Property. Breakfast is complementary, and what a breakfast that turns out to be. Beni would be happy to advise tourists on where to go and what to do, and there is plenty of that in Goa in any case, and arrange taxis! Goa has miles and miles of practically private Beaches, palm fringed, white sands, and almost everywhere with a Sand Bank to keep away dangerous predators, so that you can let children wander about in the sea without a care. A real tropical Paradise!! Panaji is a small town, with an old world charm, with a nostalgic touch of the now nearly vanishing whiff of Portuguese background. For those historically minded there are Forts (Don't miss Fort Aguada!!), Churches (Particularly the Basilica of Bom Jesus, which houses the relics of St Xavier). You will enjoy the Boat rides in the evening up the river Mandovi....Goans are probably the only Indians who know how to live it up!! I am sure an Arco Iris stay will be remembered for years!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We (family of 4) had the opportunity to stay for a few days at Arco Iris with Gani, Benni, Trusha, Trikaya, Bennis Parents, Fenni (the dog) in October. They are great hosts - felt more like a catch up with old friends. We had some great conversations, a few rounds of feni, some good reading, walks around very picturseque Goan countryside. The kids had a great time and at the end were reluctant to leave.
The house has been renovated so well, it's hard to desribe. The setting is fantastic and is very much the essence of Goan lifestyle. We are regular visitors to Goa and had also lived In Goa some 15 years ago. This stay remined us of what Goan villages were like a couple of decades ago!
There are some excellent restaurents nearby - Flame and Nostlagia in the 6-7 kms radius.
Fenni the dog was extremely welcoming and friendly - the whole hosting thing seems to run through the team at Arco Iris.
Great place and we hope it remains that way.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panaji, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

ArcoIris is a wonderfully restored and tastefully kept 200+ year old Goan bungalow, in the midst of a quaint village in South Goa. Our hosts Beni and Ganesh were loving, hospitable and although we had only just met, I felt at home instantly. I guess that’s what homestays are about. While it offers a perfect getaway in its serene campus, it also offers a quiet homeliness. WIth Beni and Ganesh treating their guests like family, sharing beers and happy conversation.

Our room was gorgeous. Comfortable, spacious and just so tastefully done up. ArcoIris is Portuguese for The Rainbow, and the house has 7 rooms, each named after a colour in the rainbow. Ours, the Yellow Room, overlooked the front lawns and the lake in the distance.

The food is homecooked, wholesome and delicious. Though basic, it fits in perfectly with the ambience and leaves you feeling much like you would in your own home.

ArcoIris is the perfect place to go if you want to experience real village Goa faraway from the din of the beaches and crowded touristy areas. A definite recommendation for those looking for a quiet weekend few days filled with reading, music, solitude and feeling one with nature. I spent the entire two days lying in bed, reading, waking up only to have cups of tea, watch the rain, walk around, and chat with our lovely hosts.

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and unique in their own way. But the Blue Room presented a special charm, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed there for a few days in September. It is located in a small village in the countryside. The house is beautifully decorated. It is a perfect place to just hang around and read, walk around the lake or visit nearby Chandor. Breakfast was delicous and Bennita and Ganesh were very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bennitaganesh, Owner at Neemrana's Arco Iris Noble Home, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Dear Ulrike, it was a pleasure hosting you and rustling up interesting vegetarian dishes !!!. Cheers.... Beni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quimperle, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

I went to Goa for a stay of one month, and I really enjoyed living in Arco Iris during this period.
Bennita and Ganesh are very good hosts and they did a great work to renovate the house : the result is a beautiful place, full of colours and Indian value.
There, we are very close to Nature and the landscape around is gorgeous.
The only damper I would say is that it is situated quite far from liveliness (bars and restaurants on the beach for example) and facilities.
But for people who are not looking for that type of stay, this is the perfect place.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bennitaganesh, Owner at Neemrana's Arco Iris Noble Home, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Thank you Sarah for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Neemrana's Arco Iris Noble Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neemrana's Arco Iris Noble Home

Address: House No 1384, Sinai Bagh, Goa, Curtorim 403709, India
Location: India > Goa > Curtorim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Curtorim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arco Iris means “Rainbow” in Portuguese, and was built on a sprawling, 1.5 acre terraced property which overlooks a seasonal lake. This supplements the water requirements of the surrounding paddy fields. The proximity to the lake and the Zuari, the abundant greenery in and around the property, ensure a picturesque Goan setting throughout the year. The house itself is styled along colonial Portuguese lines with a high plinth, imposing columns, high ceilings and offers excellent natural ventilation throughout the year. It has been restored, true to its heritage and without compromising the modern day amenities that have come to be associated with the changes in lifestyle since the early 19th century.During the restoration process, all efforts were made to preserve the original materials which had originally gone into the construction of the house by using them, at times, for alternate purposes. The end result is a house which reflects a judicious and tasteful blend of the modern and the traditional. With a built up area of around 7,000 sq feet, the house comprises an “entrada” (foyer), “sala” (living room), dining room, four guest bedrooms with attached bathrooms and a fully equipped modern kitchen. Three of the bedrooms open onto private balconies. It also has a “balcao” (balcony) in front and a courtyard at the rear. The “balcao”, is the most social part of the house where any daily activity, be it catching up with neighbours, reading morning newspapers, eating , or just plain lazing can be enjoyed. The “sala” or the high ceilinged living room is reserved for formally receiving and entertaining visitors. The dining room is dominated by the dining table which can comfortably seat 8. All bedrooms have been suitably modified to accommodate attached bathrooms with modern amenities. The bedroom colours have been chosen keeping in mind the colours of the rainbow.There is plenty of space to read in the lounges, the dining room, or outdoors in the verandah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Neemrana's Arco Iris Noble Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neemrana's Arco Iris Noble Home Goa, India

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neemrana's Arco Iris Noble Home, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.