We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will make you cry” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aquario Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Aquario Hostel to your Saves list
Aquario Hostel
Praia da Julia, Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Will make you cry”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

We made the mistake of not looking this place up on tripadvisor before going (1st mistake). It was recommended by a friend who stay 5 years ago. What a massive disappointment. The location is beautiful but the place is in serious need of a clean and some investment. We were made to pay for the room (double) up front (6 nights). If you do stay make sure you inspect the room before handing over the money (2nd mistake). The room could only be described as a mouldy sardine can. It had a double bed jammed in between a bunk bed and a air-conditioning unit that didn’t work (so barely any room to move let alone put your bags). The sheets were dirty and thin, the bed was so old and so used that it was seriously sunken in the middle (so much so that you roll into the middle and the sheets slide off, i got a sore back) and there was mould on the walls. The bathroom wasn’t much better. a depressing room to say the least. The room smelt of mould and you felt dirty when getting out of the shower. Basically the room made us so depressed that we considered leaving the island on the next available ferry and it made my girlfriend cry.
Following the first night of non sleep we told them that we will be checking out early (couldn’t find accommodation the second night so had to stay another night). We were told we would be given a refund. To be fair they did make an effort to have us stay by offering us a nicer room. They even came into our room and removed the bunk beds and replaced the mattress with a not so sunken one which we appreciated but it was to little to late. After the efforts they made to keep us the woman that runs the place was quiet angry when we left the next day. We didn’t get a full refund (3/4 nights refund) but we didn’t want to hang around to argue the point as we were so happy to be leaving. As we were leaving the young guy behind the counter apologised and even admitted that our room was terrible and that the rooms on the ground floor are nicer. Fair enough.
All in all not much positive to say about the place. Its a real shame as it has such potential with the great location. The place needs attention and they could start by removing all the mold and replacing the horrible beds.
We moved into a much nicer place which immediately lifted our spirits.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    13
    4
    15
See reviews for
Families
0
26
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

When you arrive and see the location it is amazing. However, that is all this place has to offer, the dorm rooms aren't that good and the place seems run down, for sure a a party place and yes we noticed the owner also trying to pull his guests. If you want cheap so so accommodation and party this is the place for you. They have BBQ once a week with a good band.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

Lovely location
Owner who tries to pull all the girls..hence.....
...Parties and bands most nights, but cheesy English and American music. Noisy if you want to sleep.
Damp rooms with the odd cockroach,
Quite a cheap bar.
Not far from the ferry.
I would only recommend it to certain people!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

75 Reais for a double and I think it was 30 Reais for a dorm - good breakfast (bread, watermelon, cake and coffee) - natural sea water swimming pool - free internet (based in Che Largarto next door but only two computers and when I was there only one worked) - towels provided - ok size rooms - amazing views across the bay of Abraao - helpful and friendly staff

The rooms weren´t particularly clean, and the sheets were similar. The bathroom was pretty horrible though as the sink was blocked with various muck. But if you can live with it the hostel is pretty reasonable in cost, and the location is great.

Do check out the posades though along the beach. Obviously the furthur back along the beach you go, the cheaper the price.

Food
All you can eat burger and salad thing at hostel = 15 Reais (they also offered all you can eat barbeque for 25 Reais on other nights)

Activities
Hostel offered trips and other activites as well as equipment hire

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

So the rooms are soaking with mildew. At least my room had it all over the walls and the blankets. It smelled bad. It bothered me too much so I moved. I found other pousadas twice as nice for half the price!

On the other hand, the staff were great, the breakfast was great, and, its the place to go if you want to party and meet people. Its a lot of fun, but not the ideal sleeping environment. It really all depends what type of experience you are looking for!
oh, and the internet didnt work the whole time I was there, but apparently, they have it....

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

Loved the place. Right on the seafront. with its own seawater pool at the front. Plenty of hammocks to chill. Great atmosphere in the bar at night. BBQ with great meat. Well worth it. Great good value tours. Make sure you go to Lopez Mendez, one of the best beaches I've ever been to.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

It seems there's has been a drastic turn to worse in this place. I didn't regocnize the place Macblethers describes in his/her review, but that other review in spanish seems familiar indeed. From this place we will remember moldy rooms and moldy/dirty sheets (especially the pillows), poor breakfast, noisy nights, constant powercuts (the hostel didn't have a back-up generator like most of the places on the island) and most of all the older lady in charge, her constant hoarse shouting, her bad-temperedness when asked for service, and her constant questions to us "Are you leaving today?". We also wonder who were all those strange people hangin around the hostel, her relatives and friends maybe?

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aquario Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquario Hostel

Address: Praia da Julia, Vila do Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande > Vila do Abraao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Vila do Abraao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Aquario Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquario Hostel Ilha Grande/Vila Do Abraao

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aquario Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.