We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two weeks in paradise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Misool Eco Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Raja Ampat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Misool Eco Resort
Save
You added Misool Eco Resort to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Misool, Raja Ampat 98483, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Two weeks in paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Extremely good location, friendly staff and relaxed ambience. Snorkelling on the house reef was worth every euro! The boat ride from Sorong to Misool was long and demanding for a family but I hear they have a more modern and safer boat now. It was absolutely worth it though. The management at Misool is nice, skilled and service minded.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    7
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
60
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The dive masters were very skilled, professional and fun. Andrew and Marit are two devoted managers who runs the place very succesfully. The local staff were friendly and keen on trying to understand and help. It is an amazing world under the surface that is waiting for you to see in Raja Ampat!
Our luxury villa were great! We saw thousands of fishes, reef sharks and turtles swimming by our house. My four year old son snorkeld with 15! baby black tip reef sharks.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I'm not sure I know where to start, so I'm going to break things into specific groups.

Getting Here:
Getting to MER is not for the faint of heart, or for those less traveled. It is quite a haul from the USA (5 planes and a boat from Dallas, TX). As long as you start the trip with the understanding that the travel is part of the adventure, then you'll be fine. There is a reason why MER is so hard to get to, and once you get there you will truly appreciate the remoteness of the location. If you have an overnight transfer in Jakarta, make sure you book a room at the Sheraton and require a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor (1st floor has some vicious mosquitos). The boat ride from Sorong to MER is not pleasant, but there is good news for future guests. Starting in September 2012 they are replacing the boat we were on with a newer in-board.

Accommodations:
First and foremost, you have to understand that you are going to the end of the earth. This is not, nor should you expect the Ritz or the Four Seasons. Things are not easy to obtain here, and MER has gone out of it's way to use reclaimed wood (let's see another resort take on this level of environment stewardship). While at MER we stayed in Water Cottage #5, which is at the very end. The bed is comfortable, but not plush. One very nice feature is the fan inside of the mosquito net. This allows you to get circulation, which having the mosquito net flapping around. The outdoor bathroom is very cool, and we found the shampoo/conditioner to be perfectly adequate. Each cottage has it's own garden that breaks down the waste, and returns clean water into the lagoon. The outdoor balcony is great for relaxing, with steps that let you go straight into the lagoon for snorkeling.

Food:
The food is good, and there is a decent variety. Meals are served community style, which was great for us. This is not 5 star dining, but then again we weren't expecting that. We expected good food with a good ambience, which is exactly what we got. We were rewarded with the added bonus of having great people (Becky, Calvin, & Andy) to enjoy our meals with. There are 5 meals throughout the day, so absolutely no excuse for being hungry. Some people have written reviews recommending that you bring snacks, but we found this completely unnecessary.

Diving:
The diving at MER during the time we were there, June, was focused on macro. This wasn't the time of the year for the big pelagics, but then again who cares. If you're only interested in seeing big fish, then you're missing 99% of the action. We saw big groupers, napoleons, barracuda, grey reef sharks, decent size blacktips, lots of turtles, and were rewarded with a big manta at Magic Mountain. HUGE schools of fish are the norm here, which is in large part due to the work done by Andy and MER. The macro life here is amazing and will take a few dives to get used to looking for. Macro at MER means pygmy seahorses the size of your pinky nail, nudis no bigger than a thumb name, ghost pipefish hiding in mushroom coral, translucent shrimp, and baby clown fish. We used the larger of the dive boats, Falaya, which was great. Alan, local dive guide, has eagle eyes and can't find anything you want to see or take a picture of.

Scenery:
Imagine what paradise should look like, and you have MER. Between the crystal clear water, the lush vegetation, the Jurassic Park like islands, and the baby blacktips swimming in the lagoon you will not be disappointed.

People:
I've saved the best for last. I will never forget the truly amazing people that we met. The people at MER are what made this a truly unforgettable experience for us. We were met at the airport in Sorong by Brum and Daddy who helped us with our luggage and got us to the dock quickly and safely. Once at the dock in Sorong we were met by Andy (owner), who would accompany us on our trip over to MER. The boat ride was something akin to the movie Perfect Storm, but Andy's strength inspired confidence. Once at the island we were met by Becky and Calvin, and whisked away to our cottage. It wasn't until the following morning that we truly got a chance to "meet" Becky and Calvin. Both Becky and Calvin are truly great people. They are kind and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we wanted. My wife is a new diver, and Becky took her under her wing and made her feel comfortable. Becky, Alan, Maliki, and Calvin were the best dive guides I could have asked for, and were always game for taking us out diving, even when the weather didn't want to cooperate. Even though we ate all meals together, it was at dinner when the conversations got really fun. Each night was spent doubled over in laughter and in great conversation. I would like to think that we took away not only great memories, but also great new friendships.

Summary:
If you want a little adventure in your life, then head to MER. You won't be disappointed, and will come away with a truly unforgettable experience. Say "hi" to Nelly for us, and keep an ear out for the geckos (crazy big sound from such a small animal).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We have recently returned from our belated honeymoon at Misool. The positives of our trip were impacted by a series of in some cases, severe safety and management failure and must be highlighted.

The location of the resort is spectacular, a real paradise in the middle of nowhere. The efforts of the owners with regards to the no take zone is great as is the commitment to the local community. The construction of the site using largely locally available materials is great and the finished product is nice. The staff on the whole are good including housekeeping, kitchen and restaurant staff, the spa team and the dive crew. The dive manager is perhaps too junior to relate adequately to the typical guest profile but he still attempts to help.

Now for the unfortunate truths about Misool. The resort procedures are at best 2 star for anyone who has traveled to decent properties. Given Misool rates are the same price or more than genuine 5 star hotels, do not hold you breath as you should not expect much for your money. The arrival at Sorong is chaotic. We were made to wait about 30 minutes in a very hot tin shed airport while the staff organized all the guests bags. We were offered at least some water but guests were sweating profusely and not ushered directly into the awaiting cars that were
air conditioned. We then got to the jetty and were again made to wait over 20 minutes in the sun while a highly disorganized approach of loading the weeks resorts supplies was carried out before we boarded the boats. This clearly should be done separate to getting the guests en route to the hotel.

Misool advertise a luxury air conditioned boat to transfer guests on the one way 4 hour journey (minimum 4 hours). We were put on one of two very old, non air conditioned, rusty boats. The smell of petrol fumes would be enough to asphyxiate a child! The real fun began when the boat broke down in the middle of nowhere. We were then offloaded onto another similarly decrepit boat and 30 minutes or so later were off again. This is simply not what you pay serious money for. Incidentally this happened again to other guests on the journey back to Sorong!

We thought that would be it in terms of failure, but it was not to be. We went on a two tank dive only for the boat to breakdown at the divesite furthest from the resort (magic mountain). Now the real failures stood out. The marine radio could not reach the resort jetty as it is line of sight and is blocked by another island. There were no flares or other simple safety equipment on board (satellite phone etc). Fortunately there was no swell, however we were basically stranded for 3 hours at sea. I am sure if this were in the USA, the hotel would have been sued out of business by now. When radio contact was finally made with another of the resorts boats they informed us no boats were available to pick us up! Finally they sent a boat after 3.5 hours of doing nothing. The same boat broke down again the following morning and other guests also had to miss dives. In this instance they could not even reach another boat in viewing distance because the crew did not bother to turn the marine radio on!

The safety is shocking. No, or poorly equiped first aid kits (none we could see on boats) and in the dive shop it was a challenge for the staff to find band aids. There were no safety procedures described (I.e. recall etc) and I suspect few if any of the team would know how to use the emergency oxygen. Overall this total lack of safety is a severe danger to guests. The only safety issue covers a warning to guests not to go into deco on dives because of the distance to the nearest chamber being so far away. No other safety issues are addressed.

The final comment would be that the resort is really not Eco. There is gas and petrol/diesel in use everywhere. No solar in place and no recycling underway. The lagoon unfortunately is littered with rubbish. I assumed this was partly drifting in from nearby local communities.

The manager on site was totally unable/uninterested in dealing with guests issues. He seemed more relaxed than most of the guests. After all the issues we faced we were offered a 15% discount off our next stay (repeat guests get 10%). This was expected I assume for us to go home silently and not be dissatisfied with all the failures. It did not work. Misool has a splendid location, pristine reefs to dive and good food and junior staff. For the price and service levels though it is the worst rip off we have come across in years of traveling around the world for business and leisure.

Absolutely a waste of your hard earned money even if like us you are avid divers with a passion for our oceans.

Room Tip: Go for one of the two villas to have some privacy. We were in Tabisusa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Misool Eco Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
I was truly sorry to hear of your unsatisfactory stay with us at the resort. I’d like to respond to some of your comments, to clarify why these things happened and where we have learned from and improved.

With regards to the speed-boat ride down, it was very unfortunate that the boat broke down on the way. We had been negotiating the purchase of a dedicated transfer boat for the last season however the deal fell through and we had to hire transfer boats locally. We recognize that it is much harder for us to control the standards (smell of fuel, servicing of engines) of a hired boat and so are now negotiating for a new purchase which will start operating at the beginning of our new season in September. The boat and engines are brand new, it is significantly bigger that the one you took seating comfortably 28 guests in air-conditioning and we have a well-trained crew to ensure the boat is maintained to the highest standards. We do not typically send any resort supplies with the guest boat as we have a dedicated cargo boat for this purpose, I was not at the resort at the time of your stay so cannot inform you of why this was not the case on your trip but I apologized for any inconvenience this caused.

With regards to the engine breaking down when you went out for your two-tank dive, once again I apologize, as this must have been a very stressful experience.

We take safety of our guests and staff very seriously at Misool Eco Resort. At the start of every season all the boat captains and dive guides are trained on radio procedures, first aid and CPR, oxygen usage, and search and rescue. An international skipper runs this course. In addition to this all our dive boats captains are trained as divers so they can better appreciate how currents and conditions may effect the surfacing of divers and what emergencies might occur.

We do have standard operating procedures for radios (SOP’s) in place for the safety of our guests on the dive boats. All boat destinations and departure times are written on a information board at the jetty. This is so the staff on duty at the jetty can monitor the position and estimated time of return for all the boats. Before boats leave the jetty the captain radios the jetty base station to confirm that the radio is working. Then when they arrive at the dive site, they radio in again that the divers are going down, once the divers surface they radio once more that they are on their way back to the resort. This is the normal procedure and if any of this was not followed when you were there then I apologize. After your incident the SOP’s were thoroughly reviewed. We will run the course for all the captains once again before the start of the new season.

All our boats have oxygen, first aid kits, radios, fire extinguishers and flares. All our boat staff and dive staff are trained in using all of these.

Back at the dive center we have an emergency evacuation procedure and large oxygen storage tanks. We have never had to evacuate one of our guests however we have assisted live boards on three occasions and successfully implemented our plan and evacuated them.

Now obviously something went very wrong on that day for you and your fellow guests to be left on the boat for a couple of hours before being rescued.

The dive site that you were at when the engine broke down is one of only a couple of our dive sites that is in a radio “shadow”. We normally send one of our other boats out to a half way point to act as a repeater so that the dive boat always has radio contact with the jetty. My dive managers tell me that on that day one boat was being serviced and all the other boats were being used for guests so no boat was sent out to relay the signal. This is obviously not an acceptable excuse and in order to make sure this can never happen again we have installed GPS trackers (SPOT trackers) on all the dive boats. These track the position on a google map in real time on a screen that is both in the security post on the jetty (which is manned 24 hours a day) and shown on another screen in the office. The GPS trackers can send a number of messages to tell the security if there are engine problem, or if the boat is delayed for any other reason. That way a rescue can be initiated immediately. In addition to this we have purchased and are installing a radio repeater to remove the radio shadows at those couple of dive sites.

Obviously this does not change your experience on that day however I hope be this response that you can see that we have taken the incident very seriously and have already implemented procedures and equipment to ensure that it cannot happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

The resort is stunning, the staff superb, the diving breathtaking, and the food delicious. Yes, it's a haul from the US, including a 5 hour boat ride to and from from Sorong, but well worth it once you settle in. Don't expect a western style 5 star resort, but if you have done any dive travel in this part of the world before, you will immediately recognize Misool as a very high end operation. The Dive Center, which also serves as sole connection to the outside world (there is NO TV or cell signal anywhere else in the resort) has internet which can be purchased reasonably per block of minutes, and houses a nice TV for viewing the day's images or movies. The camera room in the dive center is spacious and well-lit, with plenty of outlets for chargers. The dive boats are fairly comfy, especially since most of the dive sites are within a few minutes of the resort. The dive guides are savvy and safety-conscious, and if you have a friend or spouse along who's not a die-hard diver, the house lagoon is a perfect place for them to snorkel amongst the juvenile blacktip sharks and school of resident bumphead parrot fish. As a matter of fact, do yourself a favor and skip a dive, just so you can enjoy the quiet as you lounge on your veranda. Every meal was delightful, with some of the most delicious vegetarian cuisine I've had anywhere.
We signed up for an add-on boat trip to see the ancient cave paintings, which was very cool, but we were towing a smaller tinnie to be able to venture into the cave, and the drag from it slowed us down considerably. Had we known how long the trip to and from the cave was going to take (a long and bumpy ride), we might have reconsidered. Also, just a head's up that although the optional Sunset Cocktail Beach party is a blast, the cocktails are not included in the price. Do it anyway. The Misool Eco Resort is a special place on the planet, with a special experience to offer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed at Misool for a few days in the beginning of May, great resort, far away enough to keep the non adventurous folk away. We had a room on the other side with a private beach. Lots of bugs here at night, so keep the fan on in your room or the mozzie net down. Food is excellent, but make sure you eat at the designated times, or you may go hungry. Overall the place is great, but if you are staying on the other side of the island, make sure they pick you up in the water taxi, or its a 10min hike over the big hill that seperates the island. no big deal if you dont have things to carry. sometimes we ordered the taxi, and they never came to get us. also, there is no communication on the other side of the island, so..plan accordingly. Internet is confined to wifi around the main dive center..so if you have to work, you must do it there.

Room Tip: all food is near the main resort, the other side of the island is private and quiet with beach, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Two weeks of excellent diving. Great local dive-guides. Great location.
The idea of the No-Take-Zone and the Cooperation with the local community is remarkable.
However: the only "Eco" in this resort is, that it was mainly build of driftwood.
No solar power, no solar waterheating.Tons of cheap diesel-oil is shipped in every week to feed the generators. No solar-water-desalination. Half of the sweet water has to be shipped in from another island. Hot water is provided by liquid gas. Soft drinks in cans, no recycling of garbage. Garbage is flooding around in the lagoon. Except of some fruits, all the food is brought in by ship from Sorong.
The thirdworld speedboats that connect the resort with Sorong make a big carbon footprint using highpower engines. Besides that they have a very low security standard.
Security is also low is the resort itself in terms of fire, flooding and electricity.
Greenwashing where ever you look.
For what they promiss and for what you get, the price is much to high (maybe because of the lack of competition).
After having experienced the place myself, it is hard to understand, why Misool Resort gets so many positive reviews on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Misool Eco Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
I thought I should respond to this post as I felt that perhaps this guest did not appreciate the full extent of our efforts to be “eco”. To be fair I was not on this trip as my wife was having our first child at that time. Normally I am on the island and I always give a presentation regarding our conservation and eco efforts. I can only assume this was not given in my absence.

Obviously whether a resort is truly eco or is just “green washing” is in the end a matter of personal opinion, so I though I would explain briefly some of the reasons why I (personally) think we are an eco resort.

No take zone:

- In 2005 before one stone was laid in the resort we negotiated a 425 km2 no take zone with the local community. It bans all fishing, collecting marine invertebrates, shark finning and collecting turtles or their eggs.
- In 2010 we created a second no take zone with two other communities. The combined area and connecting corridor is over 1,220 km2. This is almost twice the size of Singapore.
- We patrol this area on a daily basis with our team of 10 rangers from the local community with 2 fast intercept patrol boats and 3 high efficiency small boats.
- We have built three ranger base stations at the periphery of the no take zone to ensure excellent coverage.
- Since this time we have captured and prosecuted, shark finning vessels, long liners, turtle collecting boats, boats collecting manta rays (gills for Chinese medicine) and many other fishing vessels. All this has been done together with the local community members to protect their resource for themselves, future generations and all of us that love diving in the oceans.
- The result of this has been a 95% reduction in fishing boats entering the area.
- It has also resulted in a dramatic increase in the fish and shark biomass inside our no take zone. This was quantified by a recent study by The Nature Conservancy (TNC) that showed a very significant increase in fish and shark biomass inside out no take zone while outside the zone sadly it was still decreasing. Incidentally this is only one of two places I know of in the whole of Indonesia where fish and shark populations are actually increasing as opposed to decreasing.

Shark and Manta ray sanctuary:
- In 2010 Misool Eco Resort, initiated and drove a petition calling the Raja Ampat government to ban shark and manta ray fishing in Raja Ampat.
- We received over 8,500 signatures including letters of support from the senator of Hawaii and both the Maldivian and Pulau governments.
- At the end of 2010, after many government meetings with MER, the regent of Raja Ampat declared the whole of the area a sanctuary for Sharks, Rays, Dugongs, Turtles and banned the aquarium fish trade.
- Seeing as Indonesia is the biggest fishery in the World for Sharks and Manta rays this was a significant win.
- As far as I know this was the first legislation in the country to protect Sharks and Rays.

Marine conservation projects:
- Misool manta project. Creating a database through identification and satellite tagging of the mantas in our area (together with our guests) in order to better support the protection of these magnificent creatures.
- Reef restoration. On local reefs we have used various methods to resort reefs previously damaged.

Building of the resort:
- Over 1000 tons of reclaimed and salvaged wood was used to build the resort. That represents a significant chunk of forest that was NOT cut down to build it.
- There are no suppliers of sustainable timber in Sorong, all the wood sold in the shops is unsustainably logged hard woods. This meant a very long and hard process, as we had to find for ourselves every single log.
- The salvaged timber on average worked out at double the cost of buying un-eco timber.
- We employed local labour to build the resort and used almost all local materials.
- The design of the rooms meant that they are very well insulated and energy efficient. This combined with all energy efficient appliances means that we use less than half the power of a comparable resort of our size.

Operation:
- All our waste-water is treated with a natural system using no chemicals (waste water gardens). This means no pollutants go into the sea.
- All soaps, shampoos, cleaning products, detergents, laundry soaps are natural and biodegradable
- Yes we do recycle all our rubbish (it is done “back of house” and so you may not see it). We compost all food scraps, paper, cardboard and all glass, metal, aluminum cans and tin cans are sorted and take back to the mainland for recycling.
- Almost all our staff come from the local community even though there is no pool of service industry staff there. All have been trained in their jobs and taught English by us.


Food:
- Unfortunately the communities around Misool are not farmers and so there is not a lot of local produce to be brought there. We do however buy as much as we can from them as well as all our fish, which is all sustainable, line-caught blue water fish.
- Our menu is designed to make the most of local produce as possible and minimalize imported goods. In fact the only item that is imported that I can think of is Olive oil. Everything else comes from Misool or the mainland. Except when kind Swiss guests bring us chocolate!
- To reduce our transport costs we have planted an orchard on the island and now grow; banana’s, papaya, mango (many varieties), star fruit, jack fruit, guava, rhambutan, oranges, lemons, pomeloes, sweet potatoes, cassava, chilies, pumpkins… and many more.

Community:
- Aside form marine conservation we also help with other community needs;
- We sponsor three local schools, pay the salaries of 5 local teachers, and we have built two small libraries and outfitted them with books.
- We have just built a Kindergarten in one of the local villages (the first in Misool) and have built a community market store and three fresh water wells in one other village.


To address your specific points:

Solar panels
- This is of course something that we are planning to install. The capital cost for a system for us would be $200,000. The yearly operational costs (not including set up costs) for our ranger patrol to protect the no take zone is around $120,000 per year. It would have actually been more immediately financially beneficial to the business to spent that money on the PV panels, as we would have immediately ended our generator fuel cost, however the protection of the area, which like the surrounding area was rapidly being degraded, was deemed more important.
- We do actually have a pilot panel and wind generator system on one of the villas where we are trialing the system so we can make a better informed choice for the system for the whole resort.
- As I mentioned before we invested a lot of time, effort and money to make the resort as energy efficient as we could resulting in a very low energy usage and hence fuel consumption.

Gas hot water heating
- Obviously it is much better to switch to solar heating and we are in the process of doing so right now. All new buildings have solar systems and we are retrofitting the older cottages.

Some things for the coming season:

Turtle hatchery
- Our rangers will be using hatcheries to prevent the predation of turtle eggs and increase the survival rates of the hatchlings. This will be an activity that guests will be able to get involved with.

Aquaponics
- To increase our fresh vegetables and decrease or transport “footprint” we will be starting a closed system aquaponics system on land using local fresh water fish, fresh water prawns and growing leafy greens.

Fish species base line survey
- To monitor key species in our area we will be conducting a base line survey, which will be followed up each year to track the increase in fish stocks.

Grouper spawning site
- We will be monitoring the monthly spawning and aggregations of a grouper-spawning site close to the resort to track the increase in numbers.

LED lighting
- To further reduce our power usage all new buildings are fitted with high quality, super low power LED lights. All ground lighting is being converted to LED and LEDs for all cottage lights will phased in over the next 12 months.

Now as I mentioned before whether a resort is “eco” or “green washing” is essentially a subjective choice. I list the above as some of the reasons why we feel happy to call ourselves an eco resort.

I hope this information allows others to decide whether we are a true eco resort or not.

Andy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Misool Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misool Eco Resort

Address: Misool, Raja Ampat 98483, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Papua > Raja Ampat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Raja Ampat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Misool Eco Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Misool Eco Resort is an exclusive dive resort and conservation center located in the southern part of Raja Ampat, Indonesia. Our private resort island is nestled deep in a vast archipelago of uninhabited islands, in the heart of marine biodiversity. Our island and our scuba dive sites are surrounded by our very own 1220 sq km No-Take Zone. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Misool Eco Hotel Raja Ampat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misool Eco Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.