We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fanhams Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Fanhams Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fanhams Hall Hotel
Fanhams Hall Road, Ware SG12 7PZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Ware
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I spent 2 days at this hotel which is set in lovely surroundings in the countryside, but not too far from civilisation. The meals were very good, the staff polite and helpful. The grounds are well kept.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    65
    29
    15
    14
See reviews for
61
83
4
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here for a Saturday night for a local party, not my 1st choice, but the roebuck was fully booked. we paid £125 for a small double which isn't cheap but this a country style hotel.
The room, breakfast and staff are what you would expect from a quality hotel but unless you are attending a function at the hotel I would keep well away and even then I would try somewhere else, we were facing the courtyard and the Karaoke club, yes the Karaoke club, when this closed all hell broke loose, this continued to the corridors and rooms and sleeping was almost impossible, even with my earplugs in.
The hotel has at least two function rooms for weddings etc and the fall out from this effects guests who are not part of it.
I know you can get noise at any hotel but I will be avoiding this one and others like it with venues attached. But Ware has only two hotels so not much choice.
PS tried to leave feedback via form sent by hotel but it doesn't work!!!

Room Tip: Avoid the courtyard that faces the venue
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We got married at Fanhams on Sunday 18th August 2013 and it was absolutely incredible. If you are looking for a wedding venue then STOP! You have found it! The team are so professional and everything ran smoothly. Bex, our events coordinator on the day, was so calm, collected, organised and knew exactly what to do and when. The events team prior to the wedding were also fantastic.

All our guests commented on how amazing the food was, which was really important to us. The lamb main course was perfectly cooked. The venue itself just seemed to get more stunning as the day went on. Everybody had a great time and there were plenty of rooms for people to stay. Breakfast the next day was also fabulous.

We are forever grateful to the staff. They really were fantastic. They even organised a photo card from them of our wedding cake and some other lovely surprises in our room for our wedding night. They really do think of everything. I only wish we had gone up to our room earlier as the bridal suite is incredible, We didn't want to leave!

Thank you Fanhams Hall, we look forward to seeing you if we can get booked in for our first year anniversary!

Room Tip: I stayed in the hotel the night before the wedding in the main building and it was beautiful with be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Luckily at short notice, booked this hotel for wedding ceremony / reception. The food, ceremony & reception rooms,bar & grounds were all excellent.The staff were very friendly & helpful yet unobtrusive. Overall the experience was faultless.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here for a friends wedding which was wonderful. The rooms were immaculately clean, the only choice left was a small double which was small but I guess they did tell me. The breakfast was delicious, lots of variety and well cooked and presented too! The grounds are beautiful, this place is a real treasure!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a superb venue for a wedding and the sun even shone on the day, enabling us to use the gardens for the reception. The food at the wedding breakfast was excellent (as had been the Sunday lunch on a previous visit some months ago). The staff were very helpful, especially on reception for a couple of queries - the room only had one set of towels upon arrival and this was swiftly corrected once identified.

The serving and clearing of the meal was performed like clockwork and all the tables (over 100 guests) were served each course within an acceptable period of time. We liked the mix of old and new in the buildings and rooms. We had a superior room in the old part of the building, which was spacious and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Have been to Fanhams Hall a few times now and recently decided to hold a surprise afternoon tea for my mother's 60th Birthday. The staff couldn't have done enough for us and the drawing room was the perfect venue for an intimate gathering - everybody thoroughly enjoyed themselves and said how beautiful the hotel was. The grounds too are stunning and it would definitely be top of my list to use again! Thank you so much!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fanhams Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fanhams Hall Hotel

Also Known As:
Fanhams Hall Ware
Fanhams Hall
Fanhams Hall Hotel Ware
Fanhams Hall Hotel Ware, UK - England
Address: Fanhams Hall Road, Ware SG12 7PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Ware
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Ware
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional combination where old tradition meets the 21st century, Fanhams Hall Hotel is a Jacobean Manor House. Set in 27 acres of stunning Grade I listed grounds it boasts many features including a Grade II listed Japanese Tea House and formal gardens. The hotel's Hertfordshire location is just a short distance from all the major routes into London, Stansted, M1, M25 or simply the A10 just around the corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Fanhams Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fanhams Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.