We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and Coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Tap Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ware
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tap Bar
Save
You added The Tap Bar to your Saves list
83 High Street, Ware SG12 9AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Ware B&B and Inns
Enfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food and Coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We visited here on Easter Monday and the food and service were brilliant.

The choice of food was good. Unfortunately it was too cold to sit outside, but when it's warmer it would be lovely to sit outside.

The interior is well decorated and clean, and offers a very warm welcome.

It was also good value for money.

I would highly recommend this bar to anyone in the area, or walkers / cyclists passing through.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    6
    4
    10
See reviews for
10
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Went with my sister and daughter at half term, service was good but my food was terrible. My mozzarella, tomato and pesto panni was served tepid, and when I asked for it to be heated up , it came back totally floppy as it had been microwaved! My daughters chocolate milkshake tasted of nothing at all. A fish finger sandwich came on the cheapest white plastic bread. Will not be returning!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ware hotels

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We went to The Tap Bar for a meal on New Year's Day. There was 6 of us and they were very accommodating. Food was very tasty and service was prompt. They have a courtyard area which is always nice in the summer. We will be returning again very soon.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Food was nice but three of us waited over 45 minutes for three salads. There were only a couple of tables in there as well. The waitress was nice but seemed as if she needed a helping hand at pulling a pint and open a J2O.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Staff very welcoming. Food was nice. A nice place considering its in Ware. Good selection of Ales and Food. It was quiet considering it was a Friday lunchtime in the Summer holidays, maybe because of the Olympics. I will return again once school holidays are over.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Just visited The Tap Bar for lunch and what a disaster. Our order was pretty basic (chicken salad baguette with onion, chicken stripper wrap, side of chips, a coke and a coffee) Our food arrived before we got our drinks and the food that did arrive was wrong - received a sausage baguette and some chicken strippers without a wrap, so we sent it back. We then had to wait for more drinks to arrive as the original coffee had gone cold. The 2nd time the food arrived the chicken salad baguette was still wrong - just chicken and onion in a baguette!!! But we had lost the will to live by this stage and decided to just eat it. We were charged FULL price for our lunch, with only a half hearted apology from the manager - who happened to be eating her lunch whilst processing the bill. We would normally go to The Vine for lunch, but thought it would be nice to go somewhere else for a change - won't be making that mistake again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

We stayed at the Tap Bar for one night when we were attending a wedding party at the adjoining Priory.

There is adequate parking next door (Pay and Display) which is free after 6:30PM and on Sunday.

The welcome was very warm and we were shown to our room when we were ready (we had to be dragged away from the scrummy cakes on sale)

The room was adequate: clean, enough space and well equipped. I would describe the decor as a bit jaded and in need of a bit of a brush up, but all in all the room was good value.
One aspect that seems to be rare is that it had thick curtains. So many hotel rooms seem to have transparent curtains these days!

For me, the bed was too soft, but my wife thought it was fine. One other point: the lighting was too subdued for my wife to do her makeup. Luckily it was still light outside when we were getting ready.

Though not included in the price, the Tap Bar serves a very good breakfast and excellent coffee.

We would definitely choose the Tap Bar if we visited again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tap Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tap Bar

Address: 83 High Street, Ware SG12 9AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Ware
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Ware
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Tap Bar Ware, UK - England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tap Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.