We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bobber's-another good meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bobber's

Bobber's
Highway 17, Bruce Mines, Ontario, Canada
705-785-3485
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Canadian
Restaurant details
North Bay
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Bobber's-another good meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

We were travelling to the Soo and ALWAYS stop here. The place is small and it is ALWAYS busy. The staff have been there a long time and are really pleasant and efficient. The meals are always good, nutritious with plenty of food served. Their home made bread and desserts are to die for.
The premises are clean. Could use a bathroom upgrade but it is adequate. Nice scenery too if u have time.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    18
    1
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thessalon, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Bobber's is always a tastey place to go to for breakfast, lunch or supper. The servings are large and the price is excellent. Good to take the family there for an affordable meal. Home made bread and pie are on offer. I usually have the breakfast for lunch and love this option. A lot of the food is fried but delicious (calorie count will be big).

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“stopped for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This was down the road from our motel. Even though there were piles of snow everywhere, this restaurant is bright and sunny. The waitress was pleasant and kept the coffee coming. The breakfast special was reasonable priced and well cooked.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best meals anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Wish I lived closer so I could eat there every day! Best breakfast I've had in years! Super clean place, well-cared for and owners family have been in Bruce Mines since 1970's and you can see it in the pride they take in their business. Treat yourself and stop in for a meal. AAA+++

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Too greasy!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

While I like the atmosphere and small-town charm of this restaurant, there is serious room for improvement when it comes to the food quality. It's kinda hit and miss at this place. Once in a while you may receive a decent meal, but most of the time it's way too greasy. I went for breakfast a couple weeks ago and couldn't even eat the food. The potatoes were wet with grease and barely cooked, and the bacon was more fat than meat. Another time I went in for dinner...the fries were cold (and greasy!) and there was a piece of turkey in my side of mayo. (I had ordered the burger.) Gross.
Otherwise, if it's busy at Bobber's the service takes a nose-dive. I've seen the wait staff be cranky with each other, fight over tables and who's turn it is, and they never come by to check on you once they drop off the food. It's like they're too busy to care about doing a good job.
Do yourself a favor and don't bother stopping, or check out Stobie's instead! (just up the highway in Desbarats.) Better food & better service any day of the week.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bobber's also viewed

Bruce Mines, Northeastern Ontario
Thessalon, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Bobber's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bobber's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.