We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge to your Saves list
D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   KM 53, Jalan Tinompok, Off Kinabalu Park, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The lodge is comfortable and clean with an amazing view form the balcony but bring insect repellent as there will be almost of insect at night as it is mountain area. It is located just 500m away form Kinabalu Park so easier for people who planned for climbing Mount Kinabalu. The food tasted good and reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    17
    20
    14
    5
See reviews for
5
24
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here only for one night, before we climbed Mt Kinabalu. Compaired with the other accommondations this one has a nice price, 120RM for a big room with double bed and privat bathroom. We didn't make a reservation and there were rooms enough. It is only a 15 minute walk to the National Park and they offer lugage storage. The staff should follow a course about hospitality because there where very grumpy. Don't forget to bring warm clothes as it can be very cold.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Simple and beautiful place. Very near to Mount Kinabalu National park. We stopped here for our lunch. The lunch tastes good and cheap. I was hoping for some hot chocolate drink but it was out of stock, anyway glass of MILO was good enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Positives: walking distance from the national park (not many alternatives that I could see except the extortionate Sutera sanctuary lodges lodges in the park). Communal areas and balcony really nice with views over the valley & staff mostly very nice. Cheap, very cheap compared to Sutera.

Negatives: has a serious problem with damp; rooms smell really musty as do the beds and woollen stuff they sell in the shop. The lonely planet description as cute and cosy is very inaccurate. Bathroom also very rustic. Right on the main road which isn't a problem for sleeping if you've lived in a city but a bit precarious for walking along. Also a pretty loud karaoke place across the road (bizarrely).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We went up to the Kinabalu Park before 10am and the room is not yet ready (check-out time is 11am). Staff is kind to keep some of our stuffs before we headed to Poring Hotspring for the day.
We came back in the evening and got our private room~ It was so nice with a balcony~ The view was so open and nice~ We didn't get hot water at around 5pm but it was available at night~
he dinner was ordinary and good~ We had some good chats with backpackers around. They got free wifi in the restaurant area and that's nice~
Our sleep was good despite the TV noise in the next room.
Morning view from the balcony was excellent!!! We had the breakfast served before we check-out for our walks in the Mount Kinabalu, which was just a 5 mins walk from the Lodge~
After all everything was just so great and we definitely will suggest this, remember to bring a coat as it was cool at night~
光是地點已經要超值了!!! 行到神山公園正門只要5分鐘!!! 我們要的是獨立房...有個小露台...景觀真是一流!!! 我們10時到達旅店房間還沒準備好...(check-out 時間為11:00) 店員還協助我們寄存一些行李...我們到過溫泉...黃昏才回來...下午5時還沒有熱水...晚上才有...晚餐選擇多而且味道很好~ 餐廳還有免費的wifi~ 晚上隔壁的電視聲浪有點大...還好能睡...第二天起來吃過早餐才到神山遊玩~ 會推介此旅店!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This hostel, is in a great location 500m from the Mount Kinabalu National Park. We stayed in a private room, which had a balcony and bathroom with hot running water, the beds where comfortable. Food is served from 6am until 9pm and lots to choose from. Staff not always attentive but overall they were very helpful. They will even do your laundry for you, the rates are good. My advice if you want cheap hostel accomdation in the area you could do far worse than this charming place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We were convinced to stay at this place by a positive review in LP. The reviewer used words like cute, cosy and charming. Frankly, I'd like to take some of the stuff he was on that day, as we wouldn't use any of those words to describe D'Villa. The rooms are spacious but spartan, the bathrooms can best be described as functional (although we didn't enjoy the experience of wading through the puddles to go the toilet for hours after the shower had been used - in spite of the thongs / flip flops that were provided). The bed was hard and we didn't sleep well with the traffic noise not helping that. The little verandah was nice and had a good view of the valley, and the dining room was a pleasant place to sit. I have read about the friendly service, and that is true for the two very nice girls who work here - Glenys and Nicole. However, as for the owner / manager, I'm being polite to say that she is unfriendly. Every smile from us was met with a scowl, instructions were barked and grunted, and requests for a change of breakfast from that described so often in other reviews, was grumpily denied. Admittedly, we had come from nice hotels in KK, and being older, we've lost touch somewhat with the standards of similar lodges, but in spite of it's excellent location near the park entrance, it's hard for us to recommend D'Villa, even though Lan did see some lovely new birds in the garden.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge

Address: KM 53, Jalan Tinompok, Off Kinabalu Park, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dvilla Rina Ria Hotel Kota Kinabalu
D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge Sabah, Malaysia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.