We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to KNP” 3 of 5 stars
Review of D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge to your Saves list
D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   KM 53, Jalan Tinompok, Off Kinabalu Park, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“close to KNP”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is one of the closest hotels to Kinabalu National Park. Very rustic with hot water. Only about a 15 minute walk to the park. I stayed in the cabin out by the road and although the traffic died down at night it started up early. Terrific staff. The food is passable but it is cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    17
    20
    14
    5
See reviews for
5
24
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hostel on the foot of mt Kinabalu is better then expected. The staff is very helpfull. They serve basic but good meals. You can leave your big bag in the hostel while you go up to mountain. I climbed the mountain at they en of september and it was really cold in the room. So prepare yourself for a cold night.

Room Tip: if you planning to climb mt KK. Def book this hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed at the D'villa for 5 nights while exploring the park. It is a cheap alternative to staying in the park, and that is the best part about it. No, I take that back, it is in a great location (15 mins from park entrance), and has great staff (very friendly), reasonable food (cheap), and great views from comfortable balconies, but with very very loud traffic noise. Not to mention the squirrels or whatever were in the walls that scratched around at night (my room only?). I mentioned this to the staff and they told the owner, who was getting right on this when I left, so may not be an issue any more.

The room was large with a big empty sitting room and bathroom on the road side and the bedroom on the valley side. Because there was no door between, the road noise was not really lessened by the distance. And it was loud. The bed was hard, but clean, and pillows a bit thick. The bathroom had good hot water, and was relatively clean compared with some others near by, but was more functional, than anything else. Breakfast was included with the room and consisted of 2 runny fried eggs, white toast (if the electricity was on), a half cooked hot dog and a scoop of canned baked beans. They would, however, scramble the eggs and leave off the hot dog and beans if you asked nicely a couple days in a row.

My favorite part about the room was the balcony overlooking the valley. The wind was blowing quite hard when I was there, but the balcony provided a lovely sheltered quiet spot to sit and recuperate from the daily excursions. (Can of beer 6 MR). One quirk of my room was that because the kitchen was directly next door, when they were making some spicy sauce, my room filled with garlic or chilli fumes. Sometimes the fumes were so strong I had to open both the front and balcony doors to let it air.

Room Tip: Room with balcony next to kitchen fills with kitchen smells (burning garlic, chillies, etc).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ommen, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed for 1 night. Very basic. We had bugs in our room, which was basically a corrugated iron shed. Toilet ran all night, fixed it myself at 5 am. Traffic on 10 m distance, and that includes heavy trucks going up hill. Basic but ok food. Friendly staff. And pretty cheap. Incredible views and just 10 minutes walk from the park, though there's nothing else there to do but the park. Unless you are on a tight budget and want to visit the park, I would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I really want to recommend this place--the view from our private room balcony was great, the staff was good to us, and it's only a 10-minute walk to the national park. But, like others have mentioned, there are a few issues.

We stayed for three nights in private room #1 (90RM/night w bathroom and breakfast). The room was quirkily decorated and very big--one of the many rule signs on the wall said the room is only for two people, but extra guests could stay in the room for 20RM/night/person. While the bathroom really needs to be updated, the toilet and hot water shower worked fine. The outlet next to the bed didn't seem to be working, but the outlet on the wall near the bathroom did.  We did have issues during the night with mice/squirrels scraping the walls--it prevented us from getting a good night sleep, so we told the staff about it before we left and they said they would look into it. I guess this is what happens in mountain lodges! 

Breakfast for our first two mornings consisted of tea/black coffee, three pieces of white bread, butter & jam, fried egg, baked beans, and a hot dog and, because we booked three nights with them, our third day of breakfast was a choice of either fried rice or noodles. We ate at the D'villa restaurant once for dinner, but we liked the food at the restaurant across the street from the national park better--it was a tad cheaper at that place as well--about 6-8RM/meal. Laundry is pricey at 10RM/kilo, so I would only get laundry done here if necessary. (There were plenty of places to hang clothes to dry in/outside our room, so hand washing is an option.) There's also no wi-fi, but there's a desktop available for use for a charge. (Free wi-fi  is available just inside the national park lodge next to 'transportation services'.)

Overall, D'villa wasn't that bad a deal and we would stay there again. If you are taking a white mini-van to the national park from Kota Kinabalu (labeled KK-Ranau)--20RM/person-- tell the driver you're headed to D'villa--our driver dropped us off right there, which was nice. If you're looking for transport back to KK before 11am, it's best to walk to the national park and catch a shared ride/mini-van from there--(We paid 25RM/person on the way back to KK.)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We were on a group of 12 person. The lodge was very basic. They're 3 bedroom room or 2 bedroom room. A very decent place for hikers to relax before climbing up the Mount Kinabalu the next day.

The lodge situated near the Kinabalu Park. We found it really easy to access the Park. They also sell used gears for climbers/hikers.. & cheap indeed... basic shoes, rainbreaker etc2..

If you wish to climb mount kinabalu. This might be a good place for you. A cheap accomodation but very basic. The lodge dont have good insulation or heater. So i've to sleep inside my sleeping bag to avoid cold temperature.

Pro's :
Cheap lodge. The nearest lodge near kinabalu park.
Great view from the dining areas. You can buy stuff (climb gears) second hand..

Con's :
Very basic. Non-insulated rooms. Need to wear nearly full gear to sleep.
Non recommended for family with kids..
Water heater unstable sometimes.

Room Tip: Ask room with own toilet & working heaters..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

This is a basic place to stay outside the park that is 1km away. If you are on a budget this is great and the views from our room amazing. The bathrooms are awful and had bed bugs in my bed, other than that if you are just wanting a place to sleep this is great for 50 MYR a night per person.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge

Address: KM 53, Jalan Tinompok, Off Kinabalu Park, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu District
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dvilla Rina Ria Hotel Kota Kinabalu
D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge Sabah, Malaysia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.