We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Journey of a lifetime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sukau Rainforest Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinabatangan District
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sukau Rainforest Lodge
Save
You added Sukau Rainforest Lodge to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Sukau, Lower Kinabatangan River | 2 1/2 hours from Sandakan by boat, Malaysia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WildAsia Award Promotion
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Journey of a lifetime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Excellent service, beautiful surroundings, delicious meals and cocktails, and fantastic wildlife viewing opportunities with very experienced tour guides. I have travelled through parts of Africa on safari's and i can quite confidently say that these were the best, most educational wildlife viewing tours I've ever been on. It's great to know that you're not causing too much of a negative impact on the environment whilst having such a good time in such a beautiful place.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Teo, Owner at Sukau Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
It was great to have you at our "little Paradise" Lauren. Humbling for us to know that the wildlife experience was equal to ones you've had in Africa. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    78
    24
    8
    1
See reviews for
64
130
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights as part of a University ecotourism study tour. Words cannot describe the experience staying at Sukau Rainforest Lodge, you really do need to experience it for yourself! The wildlife cruises are absolutely surreal, and the tour guides with their keen eye for spotting the wildlife will amaze you. Huge thanks to Dean Nexter and Haswan! If you don't do any other tour at Sukau I 100% recommend the night cruise, you get up so close to the wildlife and being out on the river with the stars out, cruising into the darkness is a magical feeling.

In terms of SRL for its accommodation, it is utter paradise. The attention to detail for all the furnishings and interior design adds to the overall enjoyment of the place. My room "Prince Henrik" featured a huge window looking out to the rainforest with a family of monkeys swinging through the trees just as I entered the room! Food is great, beds comfy, attentive and friendly staff..

I did not want to leave! Stay here at least once in your life you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Each room is named after an important person who stayed there...for a cool addition to your stay the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Værløse
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We travelled 2 adults and 2 children (age 5 & 6). We had a fantastic stay. Perfect rooms, lovely and friendly staff, delicious meals and fabulous river safaris.
If you want safari - you need to plan 2-3 days safari at Sukau- with river safaris. We saw a lot of animals e.g. elephants, orang-utans, king fishers, langurs, proboscis monkeys, loris, hornbills, snakes, lizards etc.
If you go to Borneo for safari you need to stay here. 3 nights were perfect. Absolutely a must!

Room Tip: I assume that all rooms are alike.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy_Teo, Owner at Sukau Rainforest Lodge, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Jdeglarsen, We are so blessed to have hosted you and your family during your time here in Borneo and we're so glad the whole experience was enriching and satisfying. Thank you and we do hope you and your family will return, perhaps one day. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I enjoyed my Sukau and Borneo experience. Great lodge with friendly and helpful staff. Good food and great dining room location (right on the river). Saw lots of wildlife but just hope the tourist pressure does not deter the wildlife from frequenting the river bank area.

Room Tip: All rooms are much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Even though the price to stay at Sukau is steep compared to the many other tour companies and lodges that offer similar services, I still chose to go with it specifically because it is eco-friendly.

The facilities and rooms were very nice, and it's award-winning status is definitely deserved, especially for being in the middle of the Kinabatangan River. The staff were very friendly, and the food, although more of a general "asian" style, was still good. They had deep-fried sweet potatoes/yams one day for the afternoon tea that were just amazing!

The main eating area is right by the river, which allows for great views and a nice environment (beware of mosquitos though!). One negative thing about the food was that there were a lot of flies/insects around the food, even inside the covered fruit plate, and some ants in the sugar.

The night cruise is a MUST DO (extra charge)!! Especially since it depends on the weather, make sure you go when you have the chance, and don't wait until your last night. We saw some of the same birds both nights, but you can never predict what you will see from night to night, and even from one boat to the next! I was most excited to see a Buffy Owl and to be within arms length of kingfishers.

The lodge and the cruise areas are great for animal sightings and we saw lots of orangutans, proboscis monkey, all kinds of birds. We were lucky to run into the pygmy elephants on our second day thanks to an earlier spottong by staff coming in to the lodge earlier in the day, and on the way out back to Sandakan saw some crocs, which was also exciting.

As an award-wining eco-lodge, i understand it is a bit difficult to merge the two seemingly conflicting concepts together -- to be eco-friendly yet luxurious -- but still, i feel there are many ways it could be even more environmentally friendly, while at the same time maintain a pleasant and comfortable experience....

Last but not least, providing guests with sarongs during their stay is really a nice touch -- I think more guests should really take advantage of it and wear them, it makes you feel so much more relaxed and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed at Sukau Rainforest Lodge for 4 days and the photographs do not do it justice!! This place has an amazing vibe to it. The staff are all warm and welcoming and ready to help you with anything! The wildlife tours are incredible. Dean Nexter and Haswan you both have incredible eyesight cannot thank you enough! The food was INCREDIBLE and the rooms are so comfortable. Highly recommend Sukau Rainforest Lodge to anyone who is traveling to Borneo. Beautiful place with so many happy memories made there.

Room Tip: Pick any room - all fantastic. You can even stay in "Sir David Attenborough's" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Sukau Rainforest Lodge is a fantastic place to stay if you want the complete Borneo wilderness and wildlife experience. The lodge feels like you are miles away from the rest of the world, and there is an abundance of wildlife in and around the lodge. We were extremely well looked after from beginning to end - all of the staff were wonderful. In particular, Jackie the Chef was great, aside from making truly delicious meals, he was always concerned to ensure my sister (who is gluten intolerant) was looked after at every meal. It was fantastic service, and over and above what we expected.

The rooms are great, well appointed and very comfortable, and exactly what you would hope for in a rather exotic jungle setting. There is no air conditioning in the rooms, which makes it rather hot, but that actually adds to the whole experience.

I would thoroughly recommend Sukau Rainforest Lodge without hesitation. Thanks so much to all the staff!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sukau Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sukau Rainforest Lodge

Address: Sukau, Lower Kinabatangan River | 2 1/2 hours from Sandakan by boat, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Kinabatangan District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Kinabatangan District
Hotel Class:3 star — Sukau Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Sukau Rainforest Lodge nestles on the banks of one of Borneo's most important waterways, the Kinabatangan River, home to many of Borneo's magnificent wildlife. Immerse yourself in the tranquility of the rainforest and the cacophany of its inhabitants, its majestic birds, all 7 species of Borneo Primates including Borneo's iconic Proboscis Monkey, Orangutans in their natural habitat as well as herds of Borneo Pygmy Elephants. Sukau Rainforest Lodge offers the rare comfort and luxury in the midst of the Borneo Rainforest whilst retaining an Eco-Lodge ethos, the delicate balance of true sustainability. We promise to give you and your family an experience you'll always remember and one you'll never regret. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sukau Rainforest Hotel Sabah
Sukau Rainforest Lodge Kinabatangan District, Sabah, Malaysia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sukau Rainforest Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.