We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful wildlife in glorious isolation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abai Jungle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinabatangan District
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abai Jungle Lodge
Save
You added Abai Jungle Lodge to your Saves list
47 km from the river mouth of Kinabatangan River | Abai, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
“Wonderful wildlife in glorious isolation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights on our way downriver from Kinabatangan riverside lodge (sister to this one) to the jetty to take us on to Lankayan island.
The lodge was generally very quiet during our stay and in fact on one night we had the place to ourselves.
The Rooms are basic but clean, comfortable and mosi-proof.
The food is simple but is of good quality and seems to be locally sourced.
The staff are friendly and welcoming.
However, the reason you visit here is for the wildlife.... and Wow!.... In two days, we saw a mother orangutan with her baby (no more than 12 feet away), pigmy elephant with new calf, proboscis monkey, long teiled macaques, hornbills etc. etc. - all in wonderfull peaceful surroundings.
The star of the show at the lodge was a bearded pig who seems semi-tame although he comes and goes as he pleases.
My favourite moment - at the oxbow lake first thing in the morning - the perfect stillness and the haunting sound of gibbons calling will stay with me for a lifetime.
This is not a resort for 5-start luxury. However, if you want to see some wonderful wildlife in natural surroundings - this is hard to beat. For us, the fact that it is more remote, slightly pipped its sister lodge (Kinabatangan riverside lodge) for our favourite

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    51
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
76
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We enjoyed our overall 2 night experience here though found the room clean and simple but impossibly hot (we had a room big enough for two extra beds for the children) and the food very disappointing (especially breakfast). We didn't see any wildlife on the board walks but were very happy with our sightings along the river - especially as the guide took us further afield on our last trip as they had heard of sightings of pygmy elephants that day. When we got there we couldn't see them but could only hear them on the bank, but we waited til they eventually came to the water and we were rewarded with watching one swim the whole width of the river. We didn't have the same guide for the whole time as our guide moved on after one night to the sister lodge with other people who were spending on night at each.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

spent 2 nights at the lodge. the rooms are simple but clean with a ceiling fan. the food was good and a variety to suit everyone. The guides and boat man are wonderful and showed us lots of interesting animalsand plants. everyone couldnt do enough for you. we saw the resident pet wild boar and several orang utang very close to the lodge when walking on the broadwalks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I can't speak highly enough of this Lodge. We booked a 4 day trip with SI Tours that included 2 days here. SI Tours were really very good and one of the best tour companies I have used. The lodge is in a great setting and is very well run. The food was good, the rooms basic ((but as advertised) and there was so much wildlife - we saw Elephants, Orang-utans and plenty more. The guides were all excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Initially I was worried about spending 3 nights on the Kinabatangan River - two at Abai and one at it's sister Lodge - the Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge in Sukau. We were travelling as a family of five with three boys aged 16, 14 and 10 and I thought the boys might get bored. I need not have worried at all, it was a brilliant experience. The lodge is basic but clean and the food is surprisingly very good and plentiful. All the staff were very friendly and both our guide Jonathan and boatman "Eagle - eyed" Dai were excellent. We loved cruising up and down the river and spotting the wildlife and we saw absolutely loads. It was great having the boardwalks through the jungle and the boys spent time spotting animals including Rose the Orang Utan and junior the bearded pig!!. We went to Abai Village for lunch which again was excellent and each planted a tree. I would highly recommend this lodge to families.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon. It was definitely a highlight of our trip and we feel privileged to have been able to experience abai jungle lodge and all it has to offer. The chalets are basic (but what do you expect I'm the middle of a jungle?!) but clean, comfortable and spacious. The surroundings are so beautifully kept with stunning flowers which play home to some stunning butterflies. The boardwalk was wonderful and allowed us to safely explore the jungle. The watching towers were wonderful and we spent lots of time enjoying watching monkeys swing through the trees. We did a jungle night walk which opened our eyes to some fabulous insects and birds. The highlight of our stay here was probably the boat trips that we did. You can't beat seeing monkeys, snakes, crocodiles, orangutans, and much much more in an uncrowded boat on such a quiet and beautiful river. Our guide called Bryant was superb. Food was plentiful and good. Highly recommend!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My family and I have just returned from an amazing trip to Borneo, during which we spent two nights at the Abai Jungle Lodge. The accommodation at the lodge is basic, but clean and perfectly adequate, the food plentiful and tasty and all the staff were very welcoming and friendly.
The best thing about this lodge though is its position, the reason you stay here after all is to see wildlife along the river. On both of the days that we were here we saw so many animals - Elephants, Orangutans Crocodiles, Hornbils,Monkeys. On an evening walk we even saw a Civet, much to the delight of my son. A brilliant place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abai Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abai Jungle Lodge

Address: 47 km from the river mouth of Kinabatangan River | Abai, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Kinabatangan District
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Kinabatangan District
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Abai Jungle Hotel Sabah
Abai Jungle Lodge Kinabatangan District, Sabah, Malaysia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abai Jungle Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.