We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Klotok trip to Tanjung Puting and Camp leakey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camp Leakey

Camp Leakey
Indonesia
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Klotok trip to Tanjung Puting and Camp leakey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Much has been said about this trip and we have to add our bit. Yes it is really very very good. In fact better than we expected. Camp Leakey a joy thank goodness for the people who have worked and still work so hard to save the forests and animals.The boat was wonderful, comfortable, clean and was well set up with several sleeping and sitting options. The food was excellent. We had the boat to ourselves, 2 people and slept on deck under a mosquito net, it was magic with the forrest sounds and fireflies.
Travelling up the river was so nice and serene the river is beautiful. It was easy to spot various animals, especially Proboscis monkeys, birds and Orangutans. The walking into the forrest at the stops was easy, more like a stroll and the forrest was diverse. Our guide Fardi was very knowledgeable and friendly, he seems to get a lot of good reports and they are well deserved. Fardi can arrange a complete trip his email -fardibornean@yahoo.com.
At no time during the trip did we see any person or guide try to feed or touch the orangutans. Anything we had anticipated as being of concern such as mosquitos, leeches, rain or heat was not an issue, there was nothing to worry about.
Getting there via internal flights adds to the cost, but considering that you would be paying to stay and eat somewhere, the cost of the trip was very reasonable. We paid $650 AU for 3 nights 4 days, which included transferes from the airport and a tour thro Kumai and Pangkalan Bun.
Domestic air fares were easy to book using 'Mau ke mana' 'Indonesianmatters'. Thanks Chris.
Most important message we have about this place is do it. You will love it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“you can see and meet wild orangutans and also feeding/milky time of them”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I love the environment and also the nature.
But I hate to people who sometimes throw away the garbages.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Haven for Orangutans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

It is hard to believe that 40 years ago, the world knew very little about orang-utans – “people of the forest”. Today our knowledge is primarily due to the extensive research and observations undertaken by Dr Birute Galdikas, a scientist and primatologist who arrived at Tanjung Puting National Park back in 1971 and along with her husband Mr Rod Brindamour established Camp Leakey. From this base they ventured out into the swamp forest sometimes in waist high water to follow and learn more about these incredible animals who share 97% of our DNA. Whilst research still continues today from Camp Leakey, visitors are also welcome to visit and experience the daily afternoon feeding.

The only way to visit Camp Leakey is by klotok - a double storey boat that looks like it is straight out of the movie “African Queen”. These vessel’s depart from Kumai and travel up the Sekonyer River into the Tanjung Puting National Park and you can either chose to overnight on the deck of the klotok or stay at the only accommodation on the river, Rimba Lodge. The journey up the Sekonyer River also allows you the opportunity to relax to the sounds and smells of the rainforest and spot both bird and animal life and if you are lucky possibly wild orang-utans. Included in the price of your klotok is a National Park fee which covers your entry into Tanjung Puting National Park however all the facilities that you see at both Camp Leakey and Pondok Tanggui (Camp 2) including the feeding platforms, food, staff, uniforms etc. is funded by the non-Government Organisation, the Orangutan Foundation International (OFI) who makes your experience possible. Please if you have the opportunity to visit this orang-utan haven make a contribution to this foundation which operates solely on 100% donations and does not receive any financial support from your visit unless you make a donation. This organisation is not only fighting to protect the Orang-utan’s and also their habitat which is home to numerous other mammals, insects, birds and plant life. It is truly a magical place and one that we hope to revisit in the coming years. It is a place where you should only leave your footprints and take with you precious memories and photographs.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Orangutans saved as babies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

A highly fulfilling trip. The orangutans are raised until age 8 at which time they are released into the jungle. The babies are saved when unfortunately the mothers have been killed for meat and/or palm tree plantations. This is the 3rd Camp Leakey and extremely enlightening on many levels. I had the good fortune to have shared the same ship travelling from Singapore to Borneo as Dr. Galdikas and had the opportunity to hear her lectures before disembarking as well as at the park. I would recommend this to any who admire these wonderful, very gentle creatures with whom we have more in common than any other primate - our blood matches 99% - gives one pause......the name orang utan is Indonesian for man of the jungle - very fitting. Much of the tour money goes to their survival.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Orangutans at Camp Leakey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is where orangutan conservation has been organized in Tanjung Puting National Park since the 70s, led by Dr. Birute Galdikas. Stopping there to observe the primates at the feeding station is an awesome experience. These are wild and rescued animals who live in the park and take advantage of ranger-provided food to augment their natural diet.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camp Leakey also viewed

East Kalimantan, Borneo
 
Pulau Kakaban, East Kalimantan
Derawan Islands, East Kalimantan
 

Been to Camp Leakey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camp Leakey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.