We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable n nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wan Loong Hotel

Wan Loong Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wan Loong Hotel to your Saves list
Wan Loong Hotel
28 Jalan Delima 2, | Pusat Perdagangan Pontian, 82000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Affordable n nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there for 1 nite n took 1 standard n 1 superior room. Clean n affordable. Breakfast served in d room but should provide more choices instead of 4 options. Value for money. Hotel located opposite d bus terminal. McD just around d corner n its open 24hrs.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
Couples
0
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My wife, 4-year old daughter and I stayed there for one night. Checked in on 25 December 2011 and checked out on the next day. It was easily spotted as the hotel was painted in pink. Parked at a public place before checking in and did not need to pay as it was a public holiday. We arrived quite late in the afternoon but no problem with that since we had made payment earlier. Staffs were friendly enough but nobody offered to carry our bags. There were no elevators and we carried our bags ourselves.

POSITIVE:
# clean room
# nice decor
# no hassle late check in
# clean shower & toilet

NEGATIVE;
# bathroom and bed were small
# no elevators
# hot drinking water from outside of room

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I have stayed one night at Wan Loong hotel for convenient travelling to Tanjung Piai (the Southern Most Tip of Mainland Asia & mangrove sanctuary) and Kukup (for seafood).

Location: Excellent, as it is right opposite to bus station. It is approximately 200m-300m away to seaside park (great for sunset viewing). There are also a supermarket (Giant), banks (Maybank/ CIMB), Guardian (pharmacy), McDonald's & other amenities within walking distance.

Hotel: Wifi-service available. It has a private roof top garden with a number of potted plants for guests' enjoyment. Water dispenser (hot & cold water) are located on every floor near the exit. The only set-back is there is no lift within the building (not elderly and disabled friendly).

Room: We got a room with windows (with premium pricing). Comfortable beds with clean linen. Bathroom is simple, complete with toiletries. Good selection of TV channels. One thing different from other budget hotels is Wan Loong has mini fridge in the room for use.

Overall, it's a good hotel for a stop-over.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hotel located just next to bus station and town, with plenty of restaurants around. Hotel room cozy, well designed, comfy bed, good service, kind and helpful staff but horrible toilet. The management needs to advise worker to clean the toilet for every check out.. The toilet not clean for more than a year.... Basin, wc, shower area, window... Hope the management will improve this in the future....

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pontian District hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed here to attend a wedding in Pontian. At first we were quite skeptical on the Hotel but there were no hotel available nearby. With the price we paid, we get a comfortable and clean room, with LCD TV and it is very spacious. There is fridge or hot drink facilities but they provide hot drink facilities at every floor. Food is not a problem as there are many local stalls and restaurants nearby. The room is including breakfast, and they will send your breakfast an your preferred time.

The only drawback is they don't have lift and not all rooms have window. We changed our room, just to get the room with window.

Overall, it was pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Before reserving your room, just ask if the room is with or without window as it can be quite stuffy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012 via mobile

I am business traveller and go to Pontian regularly. I have not been to Wan Loong about 5 months period. My last visit to Wan Loong I was impressed by the rooms and the service decided to book the hotel for my business associates.
However my latest visit truly disappointed me. Service was awful had to wait for 30 mins for front desk guy to man his front desk. Security guy was lazying in front couch never attempted to get help. Front desk guy can't locate my booking. Rude. The last straw was when I regulated for an iron the answer was they ran out of iron and can't help me. First for me to get this answer for an iron.

My advice avoid this hotel. The breakfast is awful too.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I stayed for one night (Dec. 26). Tried to book online but was fully booked. Probably due to Christmas and Holiday season in Malaysia.
However, when I made a booking via phone call, it was available. Very easy to book without even asking for any Credit Card details etc.
The price was about RM 158 and breakfast for 3 people. The room is not that spacious but with 1 Queen Bed and 1 Single Bed. The bathroom did not lock properly and there is no window outside. Actually the hotel is just in front of the bus station.
Parked my car overnight and in the morning the hotel kindly place a parking for RM 0.60.
Breakfast was sent to the room at exactly the time requested (about 8.00am).
Paid the hotel via Master Card (they did not accept Amex) during checked-in. Thus, checking out is very smooth the next day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wan Loong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wan Loong Hotel

Address: 28 Jalan Delima 2, | Pusat Perdagangan Pontian, 82000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Johor > Pontian District
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pontian District
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Wan Loong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wan Loong Hotel Malaysia/Pontian District, Johor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wan Loong Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.