We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and peaceful location!Wonderful people!Excellent breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Op de Horsten

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zuiderwoude
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Op de Horsten
Zeedijk 9, Zuiderwoude, Monnickendam 1153, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
CORDOBA,ARGENTINA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful and peaceful location!Wonderful people!Excellent breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Rinske and Ids could not fix the bad weather but I am sure they tried!!!It is a dreamed place for those who enjoy nature and nice people.All has been said by previous reviews.I endorse them.
Just one more thing, I will stay there again!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We stay in the room that looks to the back part looking to the lake.Excellent view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eureka Springs, Arkansas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed 11 days at Op de Horsten and had a wonderful time. The couple who run it are fun to be with and very helpful. I didn’t bring a warm enough jacket for the weather so they insisted I use theirs which I really appreciated. They kept everything in tip top shape. The microwave broke and they had a new one there the very next day. The view from our window was breathtaking and their gardens were beautiful. Ducks, geese, horses, cows, sheep, everywhere. A regular garden of Eden. We enjoyed our stay very much and if we ever go back to Holland we will stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was in the front and we had a great view of the ocean. Great sun rises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallanden, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very friendly couple with a nice and quite room on the countryside, for 3 adults. It only took us 25 min. to drive to a P+R close to Amsterdam. EUR 8.- for car parking and metro to Amesterdam for all of us. We can really recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a great experience at Op de Horsten. We arrived in rain/cold/wind, so were unable to take advantage of the biking, but had a wonderful time anyway. The hosts were very welcoming and happy to answer any questions (we especially liked the tour of the solar-electricity installation on the barn roof - thank you!), the rooms clean and nicely furnished, the breakfasts were very nice. In all, we cannot identify a single weakness of this B&B. The weather was terrible while we were there, but it was an uncommon bad spell across N. Europe at the time and obviously not their fault. We took the bus to/from Amsterdam Centraal/Op de Horste, which was very convenient, quick and inexpensive. Having no car was not a problem, even without the bikes (rain), as the bus stop is very near the B&B and it is easy to bus to nearby Edam/Vollendam/etc. It was also an easy walk to Monnikendam...and all of the nearby towns are worthwhile visiting. So, this is not a very 'balanced' review, because it is a really nice place to stay. Thank you to our hosts!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmiel, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We visited the Netherlands last year, and we were happy to find Op De Horsten that hosts on a B & B base, only 15 minutes from Amsterdam . Our hosts Rinske and Ids were great , they hosted us warmly in their home, the place is very clean and very pleasant, very good breakfasts, Rinske and Ids helped us in everything we needed, the kids really enjoyed them . We planned to sleep there 9 nights and we added 3 more nights. One day we had to leave early in the morning, they packed us a great breakfast with full of surprises for children . I warmly recomend Op De Horsten :-)

Room Tip: all the rooms are clean and very nice as much as i saw. we visited Op De Horsten at september 2011...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Lovely location away from the "rush" of Amsterdam yet only a few kilometres away and an easy bus ride. However, having spent several breaks in Amsterdam we chose to visit Volendam Edam etc and had a really wonderful time, enhanced by the comfortable home we stayed in.
A car though perhaps not strictly essential, we would recommend you have one to get the best of a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Op de Horsten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Op de Horsten

Address: Zeedijk 9, Zuiderwoude, Monnickendam 1153, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Monnickendam > Zuiderwoude
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Zuiderwoude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Op de Horsten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Op de Horsten to your Saves list